We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at home!!”
Review of Java

Java
Ranked #700 of 1,311 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have visited Java in Nov 2012 and again in Jan 2013. Both times the owner made us feel right at home. We had a full breakfast in Nov and you cannot get a better meal for the price. Java isn't fancy, but clean and welcoming with good food. In Jan I had toast & juice as my tummy was not the best, and the owner, although he serves various meals, recommended a place to get "the best" chicken soup in Playa. Always friendly, knowledgeable and a terrific smile from Jez.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HillbillyDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexMiata, Owner at Java, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Sharing information about Playa is fun. I am always pleased to pick up tips on restaurants myself, so sharing my recommended places is a good way to start. Hope to see you back in Playa soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I spent my only morning in Playa at Java with the owner. Just had a coffee and breakfast sandwich, but the owner is so nice and adorable that he really made my day! When I left he gave me the best hug (which I kind of needed) and sent me on my way, with the hopes that I would return someday. He is just a nice guy and I wish him the best. Go to Java and you will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martham2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexMiata, Owner at Java, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and the hug? The pleasure was all mine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good value for quality and flavor. The Hangover Special is a favorite. Chat with the locals and relax.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Xcalacoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexMiata, Owner at Java, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks guys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were staying at a smaller hotel around 5th and 10 th. One night I spotted this place anf figured I 'd try it in the morning for breakfast.The owner is an englishman so there is not translation problems and his staff are just great. I have the basic egg , toast and sausage breakfast and good coffee for only 65 pesos . My friend had an omeltte and coffee for about 60 pesos . Great food , service and value.We're coming back .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank canadianclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexMiata, Owner at Java, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thanks amigos! So glad you enjoyed your breakfasts with us, and we hope to see you again here in sunny Playa del Carmen soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing