We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best option in downtown for breakfast and dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Current Restaurant - CLOSED

Current Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian, Mexican, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Current Restaurant is located in Downtown Playa del Carmen, just 3 minutes away from most nighty attraction, bars and clubs and 1 minute from 5th Avenue. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
San Miguel de Allende
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best option in downtown for breakfast and dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

i should say that this place is the best option in downtown Playa! we always stay at La Tortuga Hotel and we are really happy that Current is here! breakfast is very rich, you have an extended selection of eggs (you should try the benedictine, the sauce is so tasty!) also a selection of artesanal italian pastries (try the strudel!) but the best is the dinner, completely different pure mediterranean style, so good we had a special beef tartar, a white tuna carpaccio, a couple of fresh pasta really taste like made to order, and finally, the PANNA COTTA! the best dessert in playa! the ambient is very cozy, a little bit too quiet but we had dinner very late so we was alone with two more table. highly reccomended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetraveller79g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at La Tortuga early March. We ate breakfast at Current every morning and also enjoyed a couple of lunches. Santiago was our stand out server..he brought me my coffee every morning by the pool while I sat and read before breakfast. Amazing!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 125Ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You have to try this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were a group of 7 and had a nice table outside in the back of the restaurant. All of the staff were very friendly and attentive Alex was our waiter he was great. The waiter brought us each a small piece of a vegetable turine to try which was very tasty. They brought fresh bread & breadsticks with olive oil & balsamic vinegar to dip. yummy! For dinner there was a variety of orders, I had the filet cooked med. with a delicious reduction sauce, mashed sweet potatoes which was delicious. Other dishes at the table were Risotto with shrimp, Tuna steak, pasta with sea food, 2 of the men had the chicken breast dinner and they both said it was the best chicken they ever had, anywhere! We did not have room for dessert but it sounded like a nice selection. I highly recommend this restaurant and it is away from all the hustle & bustle of 5th ave.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chungo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley
Level Contributor
136 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't miss out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Last year this restaurant was La Bistro and we loved their margaritas so we wanted to see the new restaurant. It was recommended by a waiter at Cuomo Cuomo which we also like.
There were two couples for dinner and were we suprised with everything being excellen-food, service and ambiance.
Started with a bottle of wine of Montulpuciano for $290 pessos followed by a Malbec which was a little bit more. I couldn't resist trying the soup of the day and sharing with the table. It had lots of mussels and clams and a little great tasting tomatoe based broth with two pieces of bread for dippingig. All thought it was excellent.
My wife has the scallops with lentil soup.I didn't taste it but she said it was yummy. My friends wife had the breast of chicken which she raved about. My friend had the spagetti with calamari, clams and shrimp and I had the steak. The best steak I've had in the 6 years we've been coming to Playa del Carmen. It was medium, pink but not rare with a lovely sauce. It came with mashed sweet potatoes, a nice change of pace.
The waiters were attentive, answered all our questions and made suggestions which were accepted. The restaurant was very open without everyone sitting on top of each other. I would highly recommend Current

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronlandau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have vacationed in Playa for the last 8 years, and CURRENT is now at the top of our list for restaurants in PdC. On our recent trip, we ate dinner several times at Current. This is truly one of the new gems in PdC for 2013. The restaurant has new ownership and chef, and they have definitely raised the bar.
The pasta was excellent, freshly made daily. This was some of the best pasta that we have ever had. They have a very good wine selection, especially for Playa. The fish dishes are also very very good.
They have a front sitting area that is good for groups or families, and a back sitting area around the pool and gardens that is quiet and candle lit. The best of both worlds.
Do not miss this new gem in PdC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yurcisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Current Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing