We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Romantic, quiet, wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar

The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar
Ranked #425 of 1,154 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $90 - $210
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar in Playa del Carmen is a popular spot for those who want to try traditional Mediterranean dishes with a hint of Italian influence. They serve a great variety of seafood such as calamari, prawns and delicious lobster with pasta. The freshly prepared homemade pastas, pizzas and salads are a must whilst dining here and it is highly recommended to taste a wine from the extensive wine list. The owners are Italian themselves so they definitely make sure to use authentic recipes from back home.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic, quiet, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great little place tucked away off the beaten path. Had the pizza. Was excellent. Service was top notch. Reasonably priced. Look forward to returning this trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Casabelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go Go Go! Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This retaurant was recently bought by a cute young italian couple, who now orchestra it personally. Beyond their great service, the pasta dish i orderd was made exactly as should, a surprising statement to make about a place in Playa. I recommend visitng this place for a great experience that flatters the good food. Dont miss the bruschetta for starters!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmel274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out for excellent pasta and salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The colors are what first attracted us: cream and violet, something different, something soothing. The creative menu and the warmth of the staff kept us. And the food will bring us back. The owners explained that they "escaped" from Italy (Sicily and Puglia), and I hope that diners find them, they are creating some fine dishes. The lounge salad was sooo delicious: avocado slices, romaine, corn, carrot, and goat cheese with a honey dressing. We also enjoyed the penne with gorgonzola and pecans. Everything fast and fresh and definitely tastier (and cheaper) than the always-packed 5th avenue Italian restaurants. Good Italian wines too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank timmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VIOLET CAFé in Playa del Carmen..FABULOUS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I read about Violet Café in Playa del Carmen and I definetely recommend to all people looking for nice cocktails, delicious cooking and amazing atmosphere!! Nice place, informal chic, cool people and good prices (little drunk at the end ;) .. at only 50mt from the wellknown traveller s 5th avenue, you can find very nice, cosy and cheaper locals..many different delicious specialities to do not definetely miss!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 935Nadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We were going to the Coffee Shop, but it was closed. Violet Cafe was close and open, so we went there. I am so glad we did. We ordered lemonade, cappuccinos, a croissant with Nutella for the kids and shared a focaccia sandwich, on recommendation of our server. Amazing! The service was great, and fast. I look forward to returning for supper.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D_Suk605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing