We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anatolia”
Review of Anatolia

Anatolia
Ranked #745 of 1,579 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Turkish
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Anatolia has great food and such a wonderful change for Playa. It's nice to have some variety to choose from and the food is very good.

Date of visit: August 2014
Thank Mariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 7 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

This restaurant definitely reminded me Turkey.

The first time I went to this restaurant I wanted to test it. In my opinion, the best way to know if you're sitting in a good turkish restaurant it's by eating döner in its simplest way. So I tried just a bread filled with döner and it was reaaally good, they managed to find the perfect balance between the lamb and the beef. They offered me a garlic sauce that was very tasty as well, but I don't like adding that amazing sauce to the amazing döner because I think that it overshadows the meat's taste. I also tried hummus and it was with this super smooth consistency and a great flavor. So I decided that I was gonna turn back one day, and so I did!

So the second time I visited this restaurant I ordered Iskender. This is a dish that I looove (probably my favorite turkish dish) and I was not disappointed, it was very very good. I do have to warn people that Iskender it's quite heavy, it has bread covered with a tomato and butter sauce and over it, döner's meat with this smoky flavor and yogurt on the side, so some people can find it too soggy, but that's kinda the thing that I like about the dish. And for dessert I ordered sütlaç (I'm kinda shy to say this, but I ate TWO -what can I do?! it was very good!), that's it's the turkish version of rice with milk (arroz con leche) but baked in the oven and no cinnamon added to the preparation (just at the top for decoration) and it's served in a clay plate that gives this i-don't-know-what super tasty flavor. And at the end the chef offered me and my friend turkish tea (just like Turkey!!) and it was a very nice detail and a very nice tea.

The third time I went I asked for durum, that was also good.

Overall this restaurant it's very good, the chef is so charming and kind, and the staff it's very willing to please and solve your discomforts (if there are any). It's not as cheap as I would like, but definitely not expensive, there is turkish music playing, everything it's very clean (very important for me cuz I'm quite picky =P) and it's Turkey's real flavor.

I do recommend this place and for sure I will turn back.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Finally, a good Turkish restaurant in Playa. For appetizers share different plates and as a main course, I recommend the dish with all types of meat, quite tasty.
Unfortunately, when we went they had yet to offer a selection of wines, but they said that this was coming shortly.
The service was attentive and very good.
I will definitively go back.

Date of visit: November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Guy-Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anatolia also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Anatolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing