We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good meal ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gautama - CLOSED

Gautama
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: "DE FACIL EJECUCION SON LAS COSAS NOCIVAS Y DAÑINAS. LO BUENO Y BENEFICIOSO ES VERDADERAMENTE DIFICIL DE HACER"BUDDHA.Esta gran sabiduria la utilizamos para crear este nuevo gran concepto en Playa del Carmen llamado......GAUTAMA
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good meal ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Just had a great meal and beers well priced no hassle and peaceful and 80s tunes good place tp go in yhe square near the mayan pole dancing

Helpful?
Thank richard3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap beer, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived at the ferry dock to go back to Coz after a great day on the beaches of Akumal to find we had to wait 1 hr 50 min for the next ferry. I spotted the sign that read 4 beers for $hr8.00! This was half the price if a drink at Senor frogs.... We also tried the Tuna tostados and they were
great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hammond84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good vegan and gluten-free options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Don't miss the hibiscus tortillas. Lots of nice options. This place is right in the touristy area, south at the end of the tourist area of 5th Ave, slightly to the left at the plaza, but the menu is unique and the food is quite tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
“Excellent food! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was the best meal we had on vacation. The staff and owner were very friendly - great service all around.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprising find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After several days of Italian! steak and seafood we were in the mood for some asian food. The green curry was pretty good. although it was a little soupy, the flavor was excellent. The rice was a little crunchy but Not bad. The thai soup was outstanding, as were the Spring rolls. These were the high point of the meal and as good as I have ahead at any Thai restaurant. The menu is an interesting mix of asian fusion, and there is actually a Mexican portion of the me u which we did not try. I would not recommend the fried rice as it is too slaty, but overall this restaurant is quite good, and the waiter, who is originally from Mexico City was superb.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iand14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gautama also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing