We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yak it up”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Yak
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“Yak it up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Yak, had a friendly chill vibe. It wasn't crazy loud, there was fun and laughter on certain nights. I stayed in the 6 bedroom dorm and it was really good. I would bump into one or two other people while in the room, which is kind of cool- bc you get your space/private time.

It was good, if you want to chat it up, there is someone around but if you want to go into your world, they have kitchens to sit in, upstairs livingroom or rooftop, hammocks downstairs for you to find it.

Lights in the bathrooms -suck bc they were dim but .. hey.. it's a hostel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    131
    32
    11
    20
See reviews for
5
74
203
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

So clean, so happy, kind people, nice location, everything you can ask for... It's the best experience in playa... Take care all of you... Very recommended. And the price?? I think It was cheap, I don't remember pretty well... But I'd pay whatever for stay once again... :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuelhesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Myself and two other friends stayed in a private room for 3 nights. No complaints. It was a good value. Nice people. Great location. They gave me a spot to park our car. I would recommend it. I was staying at the royal for 2 nights. I think I actually preferred the yak for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

My stay at the Yak Hostel was everything you could want from a hostel. I stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm with a bathroom in the room. There are also bathrooms outside the rooms so you never really have to wait and they keep them clean. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. I was able to rent a towel for 10 pesos. There seems to be a full kitchen on each floor with everything you need to cook. They had free wifi that worked most of the time. The staff were all very cool and helpful, no bad attitudes here. Everyday there is some sort of activity to take part in, weather it is argentine bar bq, mojito mixing class, or sea turtle snorkeling. So that is always good for the solo traveler. The common area also serves as the bar area after 8-9pm and makes for good times. Overall I'd say check this place out if you're in Playa.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiggaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I loved Yak hostel! Very well located, near to the best bars, restaurants, nightclubs and really close to the beach! I recommend you to enjoy Mojitos night and also go to their tours, considering snorkling and cenotes near to the Playa! The crew is very friendly and really can give you the best tips about how enjoy day and night at Playa!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Milamafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

One of the best Hostels I have stayed at. The staff are all young, friendly and welcoming. They speak both English and Spanish fluently. The facilities are tidy and the hostel offers daily activities at low prices for the budget travellers. Moreover, the hostel has a friendly atmosphere and a great area where travellers are invited to sit, enjoy a drink and get to know one another.
I would not hesitate to stay at this hostel again.

Room Tip: Dorms are very spacious however if you prefer something more private the private rooms come at minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great hostel in a good location, close to everything Playa Del Carmen has to offer. The amenities at the hostel are really good, the rooms are clean and there is a very cool little social spot that helps everyone get around each other and have some fun in the company of other travelers.
The staff are some of the best I've ever dealt with. They're all young, friendly and fun. They are awesome at what they do! I hope to be back in the near future

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#36 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 200 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#8 of 200 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yak

Property: The Yak
Address: Calle 10 Norte Bis, Entere Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Lote #146, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yak 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"There are no strangers here, only friends we haven't met." That's the vibe you can expect when entering the perfectly shaded, outdoor courtyard at The Yak. With a combination of the best location, great accommodations, a friendly staff, and lots of awesome things to do-you can't miss out on The Yak. Located right in the center of Playa, The Yak is close to everything: 5th Avenue (known for its restaurants and shops), grocery stores like Wal-Mart, 12th Street with all of the bars and nightclubs, and, of course, the beach-but many people pass the day in the hostel lying in the hammocks or chilling on the rooftop terrace. In The Yak's courtyard, you will find a 24-hour reception with lots of staff members who are always available to answer your questions, a cool bar with cheap prices, and a café where you can order paninis and coffee. The Yak was created for travelers, by travelers-so it's more than just a place to sleep, we try to keep it fun! We have different activities everyday including movie nights, tours to Cenotes, our famous Mojito Lesson, and many more! For those looking to explore the Mayan ruins, we can reserve additional excursions. The Yak has two communal kitchens, bright/airy dorms, and private rooms with kitchenettes, so there is an option to suit every budget. Many people plan to stay for a few days and end up staying for weeks. You're guaranteed to leave The Yak with new friends and fond memories, so come be a part of The Yak Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Yak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yak Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing