We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in playa del carmen!!!”
Review of The Yak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

the hostel is very clean, everything is new, the bed prefect.
there are young people from all over the world! the hostel is one minute from the cocobongo and 5 min from the beach and from wallmart.
there are kitches with all you need to cook, the stuff is amazing the doing free tours around and there is everyday activities.
the hostel is secured and 24/7 someone in the reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom123332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for The Yak
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 568 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Yak hostel was a first place where we stayed in Mexico and actually also the place where we stayed the major part of our trip. The hostel was founded just a year ago but it is already very frequently visited and the owners are improving rooms and the place in total all the time. We stayed in 4 bed room and one night in room for 2, both with private bathroom, kitchen and A/C. Hostel prepares a lot of activities for the guests - free tours to Acumal to snorkle with turtles, Mojito classes, movie nights...also the bar is open all tne time so you can just relax with your beer in one of the hammocks. It has very good location close to main avenida and the beach.
I could write few pages review and everything would be in superlatives.
I dare to say this is the best hostel in Playa Del Carmen, guys you're doing a great job, thanx for everything!;-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werunka_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I have been there in a private room for a couple of days. The rooms are nice and clean as expected. Private rooms and dorms have A/C. There is a big garden with chairs and tables to meet people. It's possible to buy drinks from the reception but you are also allowed to bring your own stuff. A simple breakfast is included.
The Hostel organizes daily activities like
- Movie night
- Go to local cinema
- Cenote
- Cook together and share Dinner
- etc.
The guide Angelo takes care that you will never be bored ;-). Have fun.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bconcono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I first "discovered" The Yak through a friend whom I visited there last year while she was travelling in Mexico. I instantly liked the relaxed, warm, hacienda feel of the place itself, so I sought out contact with the management. I kept in touch via email and returned this year as a guest. It sits right in the heart of town, no more than 6 minutes walk to either the beach, the bus station [direct to airport], the famous Avenida 12e for night clubbing, Avenida 5a for cafés, bars, shopping and the main grocery stores for food.

The big custom made bunks offer a comfortable nights sleep in the clean, spacious dorm rooms and the fully equipped private apartments/rooms make it very easy to feel at home away from home.

The atmosphere is super welcoming. The staff is very friendly and helpful in anything you want to know about the surrounding area. They organise weekly dinners and movie nights plus other activities and events that makes it fun and easy to meet other people in the already laid back, youthful, international crowd. Overall, it's a great place to stay and hard to leave.

From the delicious welcome cocktails to all the vacation conveniences, as far as hostels go, this spot is definitely the place to be when visiting Playa Del Carmen. Thanks a mill Yak, for a fantastic stay, I'll surely be back!

PS--Hayley (Australia) loved the hammocks in the courtyard!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtneyForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hostel is in a great location in Playa, right in the middle of everything. The rooms are comfortable (good mattresses and pillows) and clean with all the ammenities you could need (air con, free wifi, kitchen etc). The staff are very friendly and helpful and organise fun trips and activities regularly. The atmosphere is really relaxed and friendly with great nightlife. Very good value for money, couldn't ask any more from a hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepperPotts26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the yak in Playa del Carmen and I have had a great time.
The staff really invests its time in making the guests have a good time - almost every night there is some kind of activity - a movie, party, dinner. These kind of things really bring people together.

In addition, the hostel has 2 kitchens that are both very clean and fully equipped.
The mattresses are very comfortable, not like the ones you find in cheap hostels.

Overall, highly recommended , especially if you travel solo

Room Tip: 10 people room are kind of crowded.. try to avoid them
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiorZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

More or less this place ticks all the boxes for a great travellers and/or party hostel. The staff are helpful, well-informed and friendly, the dorms have air con, the beds are comfy, the toilets are well-equipped and clean, the internet (WiFi) is free and quite fast, and the breakfast is free although a little basic.

You make friends very easily here by simply hanging around in the central outdoor patio/bar. It is extremely refreshing and consumer-friendly to be allowed to drink your own alcohol in that area even when the bar was serving drinks.

The hostel offers several free activities, such as a movie night, and several extremely low cost tours (actually you pay nothing to the hostel and they take the budget options in terms of expenses to the lodgers) to locations you probably otherwise would not discover on your own. The staff are also very well informed about these areas making these trips a fantastic deal.

I made friends with people who also stayed in the private rooms which are located just outside the main complex, they had their own kitchen and en suite facilities and seemed to be extremely happy with the overall experience at the hostel.

Rather incidentally the large majority of hostel guests during my stay were from one specific country (it's unimportant where exactly), and as far as I could tell that situation is quite common for this place. At first I found this a little cliquey and some of the other guests I got to know actually changed hostel purely because of it. However, after a couple of days it became a non-issue for me.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with the room you get, just talk to reception. The staff will be more than...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasonedLuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#4 of 218 in Playa del Carmen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yak

Address: Calle 10 Norte Bis, Entere Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Lote #146, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $19 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yak 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"There are no strangers here, only friends we haven't met." That's the vibe you can expect when entering the perfectly shaded, outdoor courtyard at The Yak. With a combination of the best location, great accommodations, a friendly staff, and lots of awesome things to do-you can't miss out on The Yak. Located right in the center of Playa, The Yak is close to everything: 5th Avenue (known for its restaurants and shops), grocery stores like Wal-Mart, 12th Street with all of the bars and nightclubs, and, of course, the beach-but many people pass the day in the hostel lying in the hammocks or chilling on the rooftop terrace. In The Yak's courtyard, you will find a 24-hour reception with lots of staff members who are always available to answer your questions, a cool bar with cheap prices, and a café where you can order paninis and coffee. The Yak was created for travelers, by travelers-so it's more than just a place to sleep, we try to keep it fun! We have different activities everyday including movie nights, tours to Cenotes, our famous Mojito Lesson, and many more! For those looking to explore the Mayan ruins, we can reserve additional excursions. The Yak has two communal kitchens, bright/airy dorms, and private rooms with kitchenettes, so there is an option to suit every budget. Many people plan to stay for a few days and end up staying for weeks. You're guaranteed to leave The Yak with new friends and fond memories, so come be a part of The Yak Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Yak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yak Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing