We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started out well..”

La Parilla de Manolo
Ranked #386 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Started out well..”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited La Parilla de manolo whilst on an excursion to Playa del Carmen. It looked authentic and the food sounded tasty! We ordered chicken Fajitas which were very tasty, however we both had tummy upsets the next day which was a bit sad as we really enjoyed the food! We were conned into having our photo taken with sombrero's on "for the restaurant" when we didn't want one. The photographer was very persuasive and due to our enjoyment we agreed! 15 minutes later we were presented with a photo and frame to offer us to buy it. The photographer told us he gets a small commission from the photo's he sells, which made us feel bad so we bought the photo only! This is quite naughty! We also got harassed by mariachi wanting to sing to us when we wanted a quiet meal! We gave the waiter who was very efficient a very generous tip, and he didn't even say thank you, very rude! All in all we enjoyed it but won't be rerurning when we come back to Mexico!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimirainbowdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good chicken tacos”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ate dinner around 11 pm on a Saturday night. We got seated immediately. A loud drunk party was sitting next to us - annoying, but not completely unexpected. Good chips, guac, and pico de gallo. I had the chicken tacos and they were great. The meat was flavorful and tender. I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting to have good Mexican food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Popular but always reliable”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the best places in Playa with somewhat reasonable prices and excellent food from the grill. Been coming here for 6 years and have never been disappointed. Last visit I had the Arrachera steak which was perfect ... tender and tasty. The Margaritas are some of the best in the area and actually have Tequila in them!!!
Yes, it is a bit touristy, but that includes everyplace on 5th Avenue in Playa.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had the surf and turf tacos. My love had the steak fajitas. Both were very good. The salsa was very spicy. The staff was friendly and our service wa excellent. The drinks were good. We would definitely eat hear again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjcarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food for reasonable money”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed the food although the portions were not as big as in typical Argentinian restaurants. Prices are very reasonable. Waiters mostly can hardly understand English, what caused some issues, such as only one meal was ordered, instead we asked 2 different, 1 for each. When we informed waiter that there is another meal which was order, he was pretty aggressive, not even apologizing, but trying to prove that he was right. That was quite disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parilla de Manolo also viewed

Ciudad del Carmen, Campeche
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Ciudad del Carmen, Campeche
Ciudad del Carmen, Campeche
 

Been to La Parilla de Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing