We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sasta Closed?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Sasta - CLOSED

Cafe Sasta
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sasta Closed?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've just come on to leave a review for Cafe Sasta as we've been there many times and could well be back in Playa very soon. Can anyone confirm for sure that it is closed?
That's terrible if it is, it's just the sort of Cafe that any main street needs. We don't care if we stay at the AI hotels, we always visit for their Sasta Baguls on a couple of occasions, it's part of our holiday!
Sorely missed if this is true. If it isn't then you must go there people, ignore the Big Boys and support these great independent's!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyB11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place is closed I cant believe it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visited Mexico and Playa del Carmen before, and I loved this cafe place. Amazing tastes, great vibe! This time I found that possibly the big chain which is one corner away killed this small lovely place... It is a shame...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ideal breakfasts, awesome moments...delicious coffee and cakes!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Charming atmosphere, delicious cakes, intense and tasty coffee!
Definetely my fav place for my daily breakfast no matter what I was feeling like. Choose it for any sweet or savoury moment during the day, if you like real coffee this is also your place.
Service is really slow but very nice, do not go there if you are in a rush.... and actually you shouldnt be, you're on holidays :)
No credit cards, better pay only in pesos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“real coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

this place so far has our favorite tasting beans. I am not a fan of starbuck , it is convinient because they are all over. this one Sasta wins. very nice staff as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town, right on 5th avenue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Perfect spot to sit down, sip some great mexican coffee and watch people walk by on 5th avenue. Great place to meet up with other friends and people also. They have great desserts also! and if you like their coffee, which you will, you can buy it right there by pound to take home. Only thing is that they do not accept credit cards so have pesos with you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zendejasben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sasta also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing