We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real coffee”
Review of Cafe Sasta - CLOSED

Cafe Sasta
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“real coffee”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

this place so far has our favorite tasting beans. I am not a fan of starbuck , it is convinient because they are all over. this one Sasta wins. very nice staff as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town, right on 5th avenue!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Perfect spot to sit down, sip some great mexican coffee and watch people walk by on 5th avenue. Great place to meet up with other friends and people also. They have great desserts also! and if you like their coffee, which you will, you can buy it right there by pound to take home. Only thing is that they do not accept credit cards so have pesos with you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zendejasben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
779 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
“Great to do some "people-watching" - and actually very good coffee!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in Playa for a few days. We had Starbucks quite a bunch of times and looked for another option for coffee.

We saw this place a few times already from walking by. It's right on Quinta Avenida. It's pretty small with a bunch of indoor and outdoor tables.
Of course we chose a table outside. It's nice to sit here in the sun and warmth and see the world (and the people) passing by.
We had a Coffee, a cold Chocolate and some Croissants. They also serve b'fast and brunch options here.
The Chocolate was very good, rich and heavy. The Coffee was really good....strong and good flavored. Good quality stuff! The Croissants were decent...a good match for both the coffee and the chocolate.
If you wanna enjoy some good coffee on Playas main drag....then this is a very good option.

Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile (where you'll also find more info about my travels).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BEST Coffee!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stumbled onto this coffee shoppe 2 years ago and loved it. So on our return trip to Playa this year, not surprisingly, we enjoyed breakfast at Cafe Sasta every morning...and often sat at their outside tables in the evening just to relax and people watch, or listen to the live music across the street.

They have nice pastry and fruit...but their coffee is the star. Try the Americano con panna (with whipped cream). For us it's better than anything in the states. When my wife looks at me and says, "I wish we could walk over to the Cafe Sasta and get a coffee" it always brings a reflective smile

It's an ideal combo: pleasant memories and a perfect cup (or literally a tall glass mug) of coffee!

P.S. you will fall in love with the waitresses...they are so sweet and polite...treat them right and tip them well, especially if you linger at your table like we did...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoZou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sasta also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing