We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, big portions, healthy choices that taste great.”
Review of Fruta Madre - CLOSED

Fruta Madre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: AREA INFANTIL / EVENTOS PARA FAMILIAS...Descrizione*** Lo sano,natural y lo orgánico son conceptos que cada ves están mas de moda y que día a día mas gente ha comenzado a incorporar a su vida y rutina.*** Una selección de entretenidos, innovadores platillos en la base de comida cruda, donde podrás disfrutar de un rico desayuno, un rico almuerzo o descubrir pequeñas delicias gourmet para darle un toque natural a tu vida (OMELETTE,HUEVOS REVUELTOS ,ENSALADAS,PANINIS , famoso sono tambien los nuestros RAVIOLI, hechos con mucho amor aqui en Playa del Carmen de nuestro amigo ROBERTO MURER.*** NUESTRA ESPECIALIDAD ES EL FRUSHI : preparado con un platillo a base de ricas frutas queso crema PHILADELPHIA y arroz dulce con sus variadas salsas dulces,es una vista donde combinamos lo sano con lo rico.TODAS NUESTRA SALSAS Y ADEREZOS SON CASERAS.*** En nuestro restaurante ningún producto es por azar, fueron cuidadosamente elegidos ya que fueron degustados en camino a realizar un menú conforme a lo que nosotros queríamos , manjares caseros como las vinagretas de nuestras ensaladas y salsas de nuestro frushi sabores combinados a frutas cebollas dulces ,manzanas . y mas .....*** disfrutareis de un trato agradable y familiar , contamos con area para niños , 2 monitores 42´´,full hall, hd 3d para ver (toy story,up,moster and co, era de hielo = somos amigos de tus mascotas puedes venir con ellos no hay problema ........°°° lo que buscamos es los platos que están desapareciendo en otros restaurantes y una sonrisa propia después de comer...lo que nos caracteriza es la frescura de los ingredientes con toques originales,aromas y colores realizados con amor...nuestros productos son 100% mexicanos te esperemos por siempre FrutaMadre® no es un bar, FrutaMadre® no es un restauranteFrutaMadre® es naturalmente FrutaMadre®SI NO NOS IMPORTARAS DE DARIAMOS PAPAS FRITAS Y MANZANITA........TE ESPERAMOS, llamanos para reservaciones.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, big portions, healthy choices that taste great.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Four of us had lunch here today. This was my second visit. But the first with a larger group with everyone ordering food. All four of us were very happy with our food. The left overs came home in a box. The service was excellent. And it was nice to sit outside at a nice table in the shade.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    17
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Vegan restaurant in Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Found this sympathetic little restaurant by accident! It's located outside the main tourist area, but it's worth the detour, especially if you're into healthy organic food or need a break from "resort meals". The food and drinks there are fresh, tasty and invigorating, plus the service is excellent. A must stop!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enrico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vegan Options in Playa del Carmen!!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found this place completely by fluke .. we walked around, decided we were tired, sat on the a raised sidewalk .. looked back and saw that we were sitting next to a really cute colourful restaurant and decided to check it out. Funny enough, we discovered it was a super healthy, organic, veggie friendly restaurant and given that both me and my boyfriend are vegan, we were really excited to try it! It is hard to find vegan food in Mexico as they love their meat and cheese, but this place had a few options and all delicious! My boyfriend had a grilled vegetable sandwich and I had this wonderful chickpea burger wrapped in rice paper. Yummy healthy drinks, too! I would definitely recommend it for something different, something that's not authentic Mexican OR Subway, McDonalds, etc. Amazing service too, the owner was really friendly and sat and talked to us for quite a bit and was really patient with all our dietary restrictions (ie, no cheese, eggs, etc.).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ralbusel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioCeoFrutamadre, Owner at Fruta Madre, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
thanks very much guys, it was really nice to know you, and hope to see u soon, maybe in Canada, why not!!
Fabione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Honestly, after staying on a resort for 7 days you get incredibly sick of the buffet menu. I was elated after finding Fruta Madre while in town. The portions were huge, the food & drinks were so fresh, and so tasty. I wish we had one in Canada because I would be a regular for sure!

During our stay in Playa we went back to Fruta Madra many times. We had many great conversations with the owner Fabio, who is super friendly, knowledgable & hands on.

Suggestions:

Try the Frushi
Quinoa & Feta salad was the best salad i've ever had
and the burgers/sandwiches are to die for.

I can't say enough about this place, you'll have to experience it for yourself.

Bonus: Free WIFI for customers too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vajana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“very healthy food- Organic”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is all the way at the end of 10th before entering Playacar but really great food.
The decor inside is great as well.
Kid friendly
Healthy drinks and plates
The portions i had were quite big.
Everything was fresh
Veggie burgers
Prices quite higher than other locations but

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namaste24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fruta Madre also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing