We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Quinta Avenida
from $59.00
More Info
from $108.99
More Info
Reviews (21,161)
Filter reviews
5,068 results
Traveler rating
2,099
1,576
973
259
161
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,099
1,576
973
259
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fifth avenue great shopping lots of shops street vendors shop owners long street no gracias high end stores buy something t shirts souvenirs stroll tourists sellers resort barter mexico
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 5,068 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Good thing my wife and I are Asian and can pretend we don’t speak English. I think a lot of vendors avoided yelling out to us as much as others because they weren’t sure if we’d understand :)

Thank Terry_in_Kirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

If you are around Playa del Carmen you must visit the Quinta Avenida. Is not my cup of tea, since I prefer local places and this place is all except local. However is nice to see it and most probably the best place to have a drink or do some shopping in Playa del Carmen.

Thank Barreiro-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Playa Del Carmen is just the bomb! Great little town 45 minutes south of Cancun that offers a more laid back vibe. Quinta Avenida is several blocks of shops, eateries, street performers and outdoor vendors offering anything and everything. Bartering with the vendors is most of the fun! Stopping for an icy cold cerveza after a hard day of shopping is easy with all of the outdoor dining options. At the end of the Avenida you can catch the ferry to Cozumel. Quinta Avenida is a small stretch of street offering a big bang!

Thank HotIguanaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

A lot of characters looking for $ to take photos, a lot of guys out hustling to get make money. But felt safe the whole time.

Thank marksN7627YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

If you go to Mayan Riviera; at least you should spend half a day looking around Quinta avenida in Playa del carmen. So much to see by day. A lot of places where you can find mexican stuffm jewelry, souvenirs, artcraft, handcraft and tourist information according to the mayan culture and amusement.

Thank Juantomas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Definitely do some shopping here. Cheaper prices than hotels or malls. Great ambiance for dinner/drinks.

Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

All shops selling the same tourist items at inflated prices. Shop keepers will try and sell at the highest price and then give you "bargain prices" when you show no interest. Shop keepers are very persistent in trying to get you into their shop.

Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Lovely market ambience and enjoyed walking down this peppy street. The malls are nice and open vs the closed ones back home and I was glad to find a starbucks!

Thank Divya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Halloween was a crazy good time. 1000’s of people on 5th and many in costume. Bars and restaurants were packed

Thank kimlG2968FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We have traveled to Riviera Maya 6 times and always try to stay within walking distance to Playa Del Carmen's 5th Ave (Quinta Avenida). We sometimes walk in everyday just for a walk and something to do. It is safe and very entertaining, never have had any trouble, the vendors can be aggressive but are always polite, just say no thanks and be nice back to them and they will leave you alone. In the smaller stores negotiate when they give you a price go to 50% and your probably doing OK, but if you pay a bit too much just remember the average wage is $5 to $7 dollars a day so I never get upset the local Mexican people are very nice.
There are lots of quaint smaller restaurants great to stop for a beer and chill out and watch the fun. I have eaten at one of the nicer restaurants on the strip and have gotten sick for a day, my wife ate the same thing and was fine, so you never know. I have eaten in the old town in Puerto Vallarta and Los Cabos and many resorts and have never gotten sick so maybe it was just a one off situation, just be careful.
I would say visit now as I see many of the small stores getting remodeled and going higher end and now there is a second mega mall there, so in 5 years the charm will be gone and the glitz will replace it.
In my opinion 5 Ave. is a must see and more than once.

Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews