We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just add the vowels...”

Cheester Playa del Carmen
Ranked #131 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Este restaurante tiene sucursal en Cancun
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just add the vowels...”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The sign said Chstr's, we almost missed our evening out. An excellent out of the way Italian place for locals that has been discovered by tourists. Way up on 40th away from the 5th ave. crowds. The menu is written on a very large blackboard, which has such a variety that it takes a while to make decisions. We went with the chipotle ravioli and a tai chicken salad. Both portions were very large and delicious. There is good value here for the money. The place is not fancy, the chairs none too comfortable, but the service, food and the bosses table side chats are worth every penny, sorry, every peso. Well done Carlos. They have another place in Cancun, which we are saving for next year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thérèse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    124
    37
    4
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One word: Josh”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Josh is the only name I remember of the pasta dish I had the last time at Cheester's. Such fluffy little cheese stuffed ravioli pillows with a sauce that includes chicken, cheese, crema and spices to die for. It's listed as spicy, so I almost didn't order it since spicy in Mexico can be "muy caliente"! It had exactly the right bite; just a little on the lips and tongue, not all the way to the back of the throat and on to the ears haha. I always get the Ferrero Rocher smoothie (just in case the meal is "muy caliente"). Yum. This place is going great due to word of mouth. Once you eat there, you want to take someone else, and then they have to take someone else. Nothing to disappoint after our fourth visit. I also had Josh left over for breakfast. Still yummy. Service excellent on each of our visits.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60LOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Love the casual vibe here, menu is on the wall and portions are massive. Ended up sharing one pasta dish between two - and yet still struggled to finish a shared tiramisu (which was also yum).

Sufficiently far away from the main strip to get away from the main tourist hub, but not far to walk from central.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank y1n9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unique...very good!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's a bit of a walk, but well worth it and the "news" must be out because the place was packed with gringos! The Italian food is excellent and plentiful! The menu is extensive, all in Spanish and the scant descriptions make choosing a little challenging...but the food is well worth the effort! Just be careful not to over order...the helpings are huge! It's "family style Italian", so one salad feeds an army! Can't remember the name of the appetizer, but the large deep fried "egg roll" filled with four kinds of cheese was unbelievable! Certainly not a 5th Ave. rip off!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for sharing”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

One of the best things about Cheesters are the sizes of the portions. One order of pasta is easily enough for two people to share comfortably which is good because it's not the cheapest place to eat although definitely not the most expensive by a long shot! The service can be a bit hit and miss at times but the food is far too good for this is even be an issue!

Definitely one of my favourite places to eat and as I write this I'm thinking it may be time for a return visit very soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeccaMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheester Playa del Carmen also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cheester Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing