We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Cheester Playa del Carmen
Ranked #109 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Este restaurante tiene sucursal en Cancun
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Love the casual vibe here, menu is on the wall and portions are massive. Ended up sharing one pasta dish between two - and yet still struggled to finish a shared tiramisu (which was also yum).

Sufficiently far away from the main strip to get away from the main tourist hub, but not far to walk from central.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank y1n9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    122
    37
    4
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unique...very good!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's a bit of a walk, but well worth it and the "news" must be out because the place was packed with gringos! The Italian food is excellent and plentiful! The menu is extensive, all in Spanish and the scant descriptions make choosing a little challenging...but the food is well worth the effort! Just be careful not to over order...the helpings are huge! It's "family style Italian", so one salad feeds an army! Can't remember the name of the appetizer, but the large deep fried "egg roll" filled with four kinds of cheese was unbelievable! Certainly not a 5th Ave. rip off!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for sharing”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

One of the best things about Cheesters are the sizes of the portions. One order of pasta is easily enough for two people to share comfortably which is good because it's not the cheapest place to eat although definitely not the most expensive by a long shot! The service can be a bit hit and miss at times but the food is far too good for this is even be an issue!

Definitely one of my favourite places to eat and as I write this I'm thinking it may be time for a return visit very soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeccaMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great option off the tourist strip”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A frequent Playa visitor at our condo recommended this place, and one night we hiked all the way from North Playa down 5th Avenue and over to 40th to eat here...only to find they are closed on Tuesday! If we had looked more carefully at their website we would have known this.

The next night was a lazy night at the condo and rather than get gussied up to walk down 5th to find a restaurant, we decided to order delivery from Cheester. God bless Nestor, the patient guy at the other end of the phone, who listened to my rusty Spanish and waited while I found a street address to give him. After 40 minutes, the delivery man appeared with our delicious meals. We had the Pasthai and the Mamma Mia (cilantro pesto with grilled chicken). This fed four hungry gals with leftovers.

The place looked cute and I hope to eat in the restaurant next time I visit Playa. It was delicious and economical and seems more authentic than the places on 5th. Nice to get away from the hubbub. Take a taxi if walking the somewhat dark side streets is intimidating to you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Teacher10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific food and value.”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Cheesters is a very popular restaurant with us and a number of friends who winter in PDC. We go there at least one a month. They have a large selection of pasta/sauce combinations that are reasonably priced.
The portions are large - go there hungry or be prepared to take home leftovers. My husband and I usually share an order and still take home a doggy bag! Our favourites? PasThai and Al Capone. Give them a try! (We try to avoid Sunday nights though - often very busy with local people on their only day off.)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheester Playa del Carmen also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cheester Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing