We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Surprise!”

Cheester Playa del Carmen
Ranked #109 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Este restaurante tiene sucursal en Cancun
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Surprise!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Visited Cheesters for the first time and will be a customer again & again!
From selection, portion size, fresh smoothies, flavor & vibe ... amazing experience :) The manager came out to see how our evening was, plus you gotta write your name on the wall.
The price is reasonable but we ordered 2 meals and split amongst 4 adults!!! 120 pesos or $10 is the average cost, if your hungry this is the place for you. No alcohol served.
Too many choices to ever be boring.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KnowWhatILike11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    122
    37
    4
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I didnt visit this resto in person. I had take-out food from here. The portions were huge (1 dish was enough for 2 adults) and the pasta was delicious!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank collli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sucked for us. YMMV”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We usually go to Util for pasta but our trendy friends were discussing trying a different place. Three of us went to Cheesters on 40th and 2nd. She ordered Spaghetti Bolognese and our friend and I got one of the specials, Chicken Cheesters.
After quite a wait the waiter took our drink orders. The choice of beer was Sol. It came partially flat and lukewarm in a greasy glass. Very similar to having been poured out of a 40! When our food finally arrived the "Special" turned out to be a frozen, partially microwave petrified, chicken cordon blu like from Sam's Club flopped on top of some soggy, overcooked, sticky spaghetti coated with white sauce. One bite of the chicken convinced me that my eyes were right and we had a bunch of the exact same, plastic bagged chicken in our freezer back home. Twirling my fork was like digging into pla-doh. I called the waiter.
His response when I complained about frozen chicken and pasta paste was to point to our friend and say "He ate it." Later he discribed his meal as "Pretty bad." But he didn't feel it was polite to complain.
She said her Spaghetti Bolonese was "Alright, but a little overdone." The portions are huge and you will be charged for your doggy bag container.
Anybody can have a bad night. Lots of our friends go there regularly and enjoy it. But the combination of bad food, luke warm beer, a surly waiter and high prices has sent us to one of the thousands of other restaurants in Playa, our winter home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WafisGak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Cheester offers a lot of good choices and huge portions. The atmosphere is unique and very relaxed, the service is always excellent as the employees are very kind, you should just not expect it to be quick

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rivieramaya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Food off 5th Ave.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Cheester is worth the few blocks walk! It is a fun place with LOTS of choices and HUGE portions! Carlos and his crew offer excellent food at a great value. The fresh baked rolls are worth the trip by themselves! The portions easily feed two or more! EVERYTHING my family has tried there is Excellent! For a group, order a few dishes and share. Closed Wednesdays.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheester Playa del Carmen also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cheester Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing