We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Pinatas

Las Pinatas
Ranked #977 of 1,242 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went to this restaurant because it was right on the beach and had a nice view. It was very expensive. All we ordered was 2 margaritas, one beer, 1 order of taco chips with pico de gallo, and one order of tostadas. This cost us 75US. This food was ok but 75 dollars for snacks is highway robbery!! Stay clear.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coldwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    5
    18
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were staying in Cozumel last week and decided to take the ferry over to Playa del Carmen for the day. This was our first stop. We just wanted a couple drinks and to use the restroom. The drinks were very overpriced and the bathroom was disgusting. The view is amazing though, so I can't give it a 1! Given the LOADS of other restaurants/bars in the area, I would recommend skipping this one and giving another a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I don't understand these bad reviews?!? Beautiful location amazing authentic food modelo's corona and cocktails always on happy hour (seemed to be all night) staff were fantastic and always polite and friendly despite the fact they didn't speak much English yes did manager did try to sell me a tequila with our picture on we declined as don't like tequila this wasn't a problem he was extremely polite. Overall fantastic experience will return to 5th ave just for this restaurant!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chloex2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Do It!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was the worst food, service, and prices in all of Mexico. We stopped for a snack and drinks over looking the beach. After the grumpy waitress seated us the Cheesy owner took our picture and try selling us tequila with our picture on it for 400 pesos, we told him no thanks and everything got worse after that.We ordered nachos which were drenched in pumped out processed cheese and the calamari were frozen then deep fried. We also had 2 beer and 1 margarita, when the grumpy waitress came with a bill totalling 948 pesos or 94 bucks! What can you do at that point, gave grumpy pants 1000 pesos and never seen her again, wouldn't bring my change. It was HORRAFUL! That's horrible and awful!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YukonRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Worst!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

A real tourist trap. Worst food, service and prices during our holiday. Also cheesy guy tried to sell us a picture of ourselves on a cheap tequila bottle. Left bad taste in our mouth for PDC.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Pinatas also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Las Pinatas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing