We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIDE MOUNT CAVE DIVING AT ITS BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Life Diving

Blue Life Diving
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Life is a dive company offering personalized dive packages and courses in the Riviera Maya. We are a team of highly-trained and professional instructors committed to providing our guests with a unforgettable diving or snorkeling experience during their stay in the beautiful Riviera Maya. We have something for everyone, from those wanting to snorkel or discover scuba diving for the first time, to more challenging dive sites and courses for the seasoned diver looking for a new adventure. We dive the reefs of Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, and Akumal, as well as the Yucatan's famous cenotes. We offer the full spectrum of PADI and SDI Recreational courses, as well as TDI Cave, Technical & Trimix Dive training, scheduled to your convenience. At Blue Life, you set your own itinerary so you can enjoy your stay at a relaxed Caribbean pace. We look forward to diving with you!
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SIDE MOUNT CAVE DIVING AT ITS BEST”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Let me tell you all who are thinking of taking some instruction in side mount cave diving that you will be with one of the best instructors in the area.... Frank is professional, patient, confident and reliable...He picks you up every day at your hotel and returns you with a big smile.I took my side mount cave diving course one year ago, and this is my third time here in less than a year.... Once you try it, there is no way back...you want more!!!
He took me to places that I never imagined....this is "a la carte diving":and.....technical dives, small places, huge galleries, long dives with stages, elusive and hidden rooms deep in the cave with astonishing cave formations, all you can dream of.!....In fact, you will be diving places off the beaten track!!
One thing is for sure, he knows what he is teaching and he does it pretty well...!
I have no doubt in recommending his diving operation to everyone..he also took care of my friends´ cavern dives and arranged everything for them.:..pick up, rented gear, and fantastic dives..

We all ended up diving with Toro sharks near Playa...Great experience before coming back home..

Happy New Year guys and congratulations for your new spot in Playa...

Best of the lucks!!!

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank ray q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at Blue Life Diving, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Google Translation
Hola Ramon! Que bueno que te gustaron los buceos. Que gusto me va a dar verte en marzo!

See you soon,

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exercise in Humility”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The first thing one would notice, is that all the reviews are Excellent. The reason, is that the service, training and professional attitude are all "Excellent".

Two months ago, Frank was not part of the names that I associated with the diving community. Through a mutual FB friend, I saw that Frank was offering a Cave course during the same time period that I was going to be in Mexico. Confirming with Andy Philips, I was told that I would not be in better hands for any level of training. The first part of my trip was to take the Side Mount Instructors course and 5 days later my training in Humility started. All in a positive way.

I am a PADI instructor, I have certified many students from beginner to Instructor level. I also have over 3000 dives. Did I know how to dive, I thought I did? I can hover, do tank drills, swim, and stay stationary in one spot. Yes I can. The problem started when Frank asked me to do it all, at the same time, without thinking about it. This became my training in Humility. I had to overcome my inherent confidence that I thought I was doing everything right. Anyone that has trained with Frank, knows Frank's "look". But it is OK, despite his "LOOK" Frank is patient, all so patient. With his calm demeanor, he helps you sort out your problems, lets you have your temper tantrums, but he will not let you quit.
Am I a better diver? You bet I am. It is all because Frank is great instructor, he ranks up there with the best. Along with being a top notch instructor, Frank provides top level service. I was staying in a hotel located in Playa del Carmen, without question, Frank picked me up every day at my hotel and returned me safe and sound. Never was there a complaint about the distance that he drove every day.

Would I go back to Mexico and train with Blue life and Frank? In a heart beat. Every day, I dream and relive my experiences while taking Cave training. After I completed the Intro to Cave, Frank let me tag along and do some full Cave training. It is only that I ran out of time that I had to postpone the completion of Full Cave.

Any one looking for a compressive, detailed, competent and Excellent Training, look no further. Things a person needs to know about an instructor: is the instructor competent, is that person respected by the industry, does that person practice his trade, does that person dive for fun? With respect to Frank, I can answer Yes, to all of the above.

Frank, thank-you and I look forward to completing my training.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunbearOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at Blue Life Diving, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
in my defense, the look was well deserved. It was a a great experience teaching you and watching you learn and try a completely new way of diving. You did a great job and I really hope that you see how far you came in the few days we were together during your Intro to Cave Course

See you soon for Full Cave

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing diving experience for the whole family!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My family had a fantastic experience diving with Blue Life. The operation is professional, highly personalized and fun to dive with.

I came upon Frank’s name on Scubaboard.com while searching for a full cave instructor. Frank is highly respected in the diving community and is one of a few (if not the only one!) full cave local instructors who is also an active explorer. I’ve completed the TDI Full Cave course with Frank, and couldn’t have been be a happier customer! Frank constantly challenged me to push my limits without ever intimidating me. I learned above and beyond the course requirements because Frank is very passionate about cave diving and eagerly shares his experience and knowledge. This was the most challenging and rewording course in my 10+ years of diving (I am a tec diver).

Once you complete the course, please do yourself a favor of scheduling as many fun dives as possible. While the full cave course is incredibly intense, subsequent fun dives allow you to realize the benefits of the training and fully enjoy the caves.

Blue Life was also great accommodating my family’s complicated logistics, ensuring that rented equipment fitted well and providing some local tips. The icing on the cake was cenote dives with my family and friends, including 13 and 15 year-old boys. It was a very beautiful and surreal experience. The Pit and the Pet Cemetery were our favorites.

I cannot recommend Blue Life highly enough. We will certainly be back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at Blue Life Diving, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
we are very happy that you had a good time during your course and fun dives. We hope to dive with you again soon!

Frank and Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was my first cave dive and I can truly say that I enjoyed every minute of it. We dove in Cenote Dos Ojos, a true piece of heaven! Our instructor, Pete was pprofessional, fun and very accommodating. (patient would be a better word lol) He has more than 10 years of diving experience, all over the world, which made me feel very safe and allowed me to fully enjoy the sights. The equipment we used was in great condition and the complimentary lunch, delicious. All in all, I'm happy that I chose Blue life and warmly recommend it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_D_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at Blue Life Diving, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi! Pete is one of our best guides and people love him!

we are really happy that you enjoyed Dos Ojos as it is a great site.

Please come back and visit us soon!

Frank and Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time with Blue Life”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I did my first cave dive with Blue Life in Tulum and had an amazing time! Frank was very professional in organizing my dive, making sure everything went smoothly and following up about my experience. My guide Pete was very experienced and made me feel very comfortable and safe. I had a great time and would definitely recommend Blue Life to my friends who visit Mexico!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kperusquia, Manager at Blue Life Diving, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Merci Etienne. We hope we get to dive with you again when you are back in Mexico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Life Diving also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Blue Life Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing