We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
117
154
69
28
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
154
69
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool ado bus station mexican hacienda night shift budget accommodation calle norte working ac hot water ceiling fan hotel is in a great location clean rooms ferry to cozumel longer stay room safe sister hotel first floor sized bed
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 391 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2015

We just got back from our stay here and we loved it . If you are looking for a nice small hotel that is close to everything this is it . You are 2 blocks from the beach and a block away from ADO bus. You are right off 5th ave but not once did we hear anything. We went with our 9 year old daughter and she loved the pool it was just the right size for a quick dip to cool down. When we where there we stayed in a suite that was perfect for the week . They did seem to listen to other reviews on here by replacing the old towels with new ones . We enjoyed our stay !!

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jolene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali g, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Hacienda del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Hello Ms. Jolene
In HACIENDA DEL CARIBE your comments are very important we take them seriously and that is the way to improve.

We hope we can be part of your next vacations and pamper you again.

Serving you its a privilege. Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2015

The hotel is located in a very good area, near to the beach and the main street, the building is pretty with Mexican decoration and it´s got a lot of potential... But they have serious management and staff issues. Bed Linen and towels need an urgent replacement- they´re old, stained and ragged- not to mention the pillows, they´re so old they´re falling apart -super lumpy- pretty disgusting. They only give you two towels per room and that´s it, they take them every morning to wash them and only return them in the afternoon, so you can´t use the pool or take a shower during the day. Staff is very rude. I´ve stayed in backpackers way better than this "3 star hotel"

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank DianaDuranA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali g, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Hacienda del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

Thank you so much for your comments , for us are very important, comments help us to improve our services, we hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again and let us pamper you, the linen situation is taken very carefully and according the highest standards, in behalf HACIENDA DEL CARIBE thank you so much and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015

First i will start with the good things about the hoteI, it is on a good location right next to the beach, the building is actually pretty nice with a beautiful mexican style and the pool is tiny but clean, so this hotel could be a pretty cozy boutique hotel.

On the other hand, we had a very bad experience staying there. Checked in on wednesday for a three night stay and the troubles started right away when we first entered the room. Dirty room, stained bedspread, old and lumpy pillows (disgusting actually), the tv never worked, no hand towels in the bathroom and the body towels were stained, old and ragged, they even had holes in them (so you could never know if they were clean). Also, but not as important, the room had no minibar or phone to call the front desk and the hotel doesn´t have an elevator so you have to use the stairs every time you want to ask for something.

On Thursday we tried to use the pool around 10am so I asked the front desk for pool towels, the lady told me they didn´t have any, so I decided to go to the beach for a swim and then come back to the room to have a shower, but when I arrived the cleaning lady had already cleaned my room and surprisingly she took the two towels we had and didn´t leave any. So i asked the person at front desk for towels and she told me they did not have any towels, that they had taken the towels in my bedroom to clean them and they didn´t have any more towels, so we had to wait for the towels to arrive for us to be able to take a shower. The towels were supposed to arrive in one hour but they did not arrive until 5pm. When i confronted the clerk at front desk she told me in a very rude way that not all hotels give towels to their guests.

There is another problem, you can hear pretty much everything that happens outside as if it was inside your room and it became a bigger issue because they have a construction site nearby and they work ALL NIGHT!! So the noise, on top of the horrible pillows made it almost imposible to have a good rest.

The next day i decided to cut my stay short one day and go to another hotel. This hotel should not be rated as it is right now, for me this is on the same level as a hostel, and it´s mainly because of the bad customer service they have and the lack of investment in basic things as bed linen, towels and pillows... Because one thing is having a basic hotel, and you understand it for the price but another one is having a dirty one.

Room Tip: Dont Stay Here
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank JuanEscano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali g, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Hacienda del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

Thank you so much for your comments , for us are very important, comments help us to improve our services, we hope you can gives the opportunity to host you again and let us pamper you , in behalf HACIENDA DEL CARIBE thank you so much and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

After spending a week in Playa I will be writing several reviews over the next few weeks. However I wanted to be sure the first review I wrote was for the Hotel I stayed at. First, do not get this place confused with Hotel Hacendia del real Caribe, which is located next to a very loud nightclub. This place is located on Calle 2 and is so close to everything you need to get out and do some exploring, for those who chose to plan your own excursions. You are 2 blocks from the ferry to Cozumel, a block a way from the ADO bus stop which you can take to and from the airport in cancun for about $10 a person and to hit the collectivos, just head up Calle 2 to find the collectivo stop, you can use the collectivos to go anywhere from playa to Tulum for about $3 per person/US , thats right, Tulum Ruins, Akamal, Grand Cenote etc all for $3 each is just a step away from your hotel. For dining you can head up 5th AVe and find endless high end places to eat, or do like us and head up Calle 2, 4 or 6 and find local favorites where you can find better authentic Mexican food for much cheaper prices , usually a lunch or breakfast in these places will run you abut $10 for two people, compared to the overpriced places on 5th. Now onto the Hotel itself. I honestly dont think I have ever enjoyed a staff at Hotel as much as I did here. The front desk receptionists were so friendly and helpful in helping me find my way around town, where to buy tequila at the best prices, how many Pesos I should pay for the souvenirs I was looking for and how to pronounce words in Spanish correctly as my Spanish is very bad, limited to about 20 words which I usually dont even pronounce correctly. The Hotel itself is clean , beautiful and while it is not full of luxurious amenities it gives you the feel of where you are , which is MEXICO!!!! I found the AC to be adequate, the bed was comfortable enough for me, the water wasnt piping hot but hot enough, to address some complaints I heard from other reviewers, yes there is a trash can next to your toilet for your paper, but it is this way everywhere in Mexico, even at Starbucks and Walmart, oh BTW Walmart is a close walk to here as well, Also I saw a few people complain about not having enough towels or washcloths, Just Ask! The staff here will do anything to accommodate you. I also cant end my review with out giving a shout out to the night watchman, I really enjoyed talking to him every night when we returned from our journeys and at about 5am every morning as I set out for my coffee as another reviewer said, he doesn't speak a lick of English and I don't speak hardly any Spanish but we seemed to engage in pleasant conversation everery day. He might be the nicest guy you will ever meet and if you need something do like I did get on your wifi use google translator and find the way to tell him what you need. I must admit it was sad when we checked out of our rooms, because it was like leaving behind family, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to explore Playa, However if you are the type who needs to be pampered by an all inclusive hotel and cant be bothered with simple things such as planning a place to go eat, my only recommendation to you would be to rethink everything, we spent under $450 for 8 nights here., ate at awesome place nearby and explored the nooks and crannies of Mexico. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank waldinbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali g, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Hacienda del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Thank you so much for your comments, in Hacienda del Caribe the most important is YOU, we hope you come back and again we will like to be part of your vacations, we look forward to host you, have a nice day , your familia Hacienda del Caribe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

This reminds me of a Mexican national hotel, along the lines of Holiday Inn and Best Western. Yes, right off the main street and near the ferry- but quiet. Yes, towel situation could be better- but I asked for a few more and received them. Yes, hot water was dependent on when you got to it- nothing to say here other then it was never cold.. Yeah, the pool is a bit small- but full of fun loving people.
Room was comfortable and a good size. No bed bugs.
Wonderfully, whenever I spoke to staff, they dealt with my request. And upon hearing I needed to leave about 5:30 a.m. to the airport, the night guard offered to wake me, which he did with a knock on my door, helped with luggage, loading and a nice farewell. All this by his own offering- I never asked. You have to appreciate that. This place will be on my radar next time I visit PDC, and if the price hits again, I'm there with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigwavejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali g, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Hacienda del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Thank you so much for your comments, in Hacienda del Caribe the most important person is you, this kind of comments make us to better the services and to keep our personal motivated, we look forward to host you for the next vacations in Riviera Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews