We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“clean, comfy, and great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hacienda del Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Ranked #135 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“clean, comfy, and great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

i just spent two nights in playa del carmen. i decided to book a room that was close to everything i needed. this hotel fit the bill nicely. it is a short walk from the ferry and is right behind the ADO bus station so getting to and from either cozumel (via a $12 ferry ride) or cancun (via an $11 bus ride) is very easy and convenient. the hotel was reasonably priced and was very comfortable with a/c, ceiling fan, tv, and plenty of hot water. there is a restaurant onsite but as it was not open early enough for me,i had to eat elsewhere for brkfst. the beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. the bathroom was small and a bit run down but was not an issue. i probably would not stay here for an extended period of time but if you want a place right off 5th ave and close to transportation, this is it. i would stay here again. i stayed on the second floor and had zero issues with any bad smells as some other reviews have stated about the ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick00001967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    103
    58
    22
    19
See reviews for
47
112
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We didn't book this hotel. We get an upgrate from another one. But is was not really an UP grade. We had room 101 next to the pool, ground floor. The room didn't look clean and once in the shower a frog, a snail and a cockroach make its appearence. It was smelly to! Like sleeping in a cenote. Not a healty place to stay. We were glad that is was only for 2 nights..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m0na2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was staying 14 days in Hotel Hacienda Del Caribe in April 2011. The room was a one bedroom apartment, with two huge double bed, bathroom, table, sofa, balcony, well worth. Cleanliness was on high level, I have no comment. The staff is very friendly. Once the air conditioning broke down, they repaired it very quickly. Really very helpful staff. I will forever remember mister at reception, because he was so nice and compliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo_ical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have been to Playa del Carmen before and prefer the small hotel experience over the big resort/all inclusive experience.

This hotel is in a great location next to 5th ave and the beach, but not close enough to the bar district to be kept up at night by noise.

The pool looks small in the pics but we didn't find it too small and it was never crowded.

The design and the colors of this hotel really set the mood, and we loved our stay. We made many new friends and spent a lot of the hot mid-day sun hours in the hotel pool as there is easy access to shade and, of course the bar.

Our first room was a bit musty and had 2 double beds ( we had booked a king) so we asked for a second room. The hotel staff were very helpful and eager to assist and the second room was great.

Some of the rooms could use some minor maintenance (fresh paint, etc. , however the staff keep the rooms clean - fresh sheets every day and even under the bed was spotless.

Room Tip: We found rooms on the west wall bottom floor ( on the right when you first walk in) to be a bit must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_in_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel is in a great spot, a very short walk from the main shopping area and the beach. Plus the ADO station is just round the corner, which is great for buses to/from other cities or from Cancun airport.

The building is very nice and it's pleasant being down by the pool. The pool itself is small, but it's still good enough for a quick dip if you're hot. The water is, however, rather cold.

We got one of the cheap rooms online, and as was perhaps to be expected, it certainly wasn't the best room in the place. Being on the ground floor, it had no natural light, so was rather dingy. I imagine the rooms on other floors would be brighter at least, though I think they cost more. The toilet seat was missing when we arrived, but a workman replaced it.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but one thing they weren't able to help with was the internet. Wifi was available on the first night, but went down the next morning and didn't return for the duration of our stay. It was very frustrating, for we had things to organise online and therefore had to go to an internet cafe. Before the internet went down we had to to outside to use it, despite our room being off the courtyard.

If you get a good deal for this hotel online it's worth staying here, but don't expect the Hilton, or a stable internet connection.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel is right by fifth avenue which has tons of silver to buy, currency exchanges, and restaurants. It is the tourist section of downtown. This hotel is decent for the money with friendly staff. However, you have to be a traveler that is ok with some must and a little dirt to feel somewhat at home. The location is wonderful because it is a block and a half to the beach and one block from the ADO bus station.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Go g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

At the beginning i wasn't too sure about reserving this hotel but because of its location i decided to stay there, its 2 blocks away from the beach, one fron the ADO station and 3 from the pick up place for my tours.

I liked the design, and the services are ok, but unfortunately the lobby was under maintenance and it got a little noisy at some times. besides the small pool was in front of the workers so, it wasn't too comfortable to get in it!

The price was ok, not too expensive, but not cheap, and as they don't have restaurant, you can ask for a pass to the beach club that is 5 minutes away.

I would recomend this hotel if you are planning a short stay in Playa and are not planning to be long hours at the Hotel...

Room Tip: ask for second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgardmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#112 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#137 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#61 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#111 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#127 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#124 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda del Caribe

Property: Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Address: Calle 2 Norte 141 | Entre 5ta Avenida y Avenida 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda del Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel characterized by a Mexican style created to meet the needs of the traveler who appreciates the best quality, privacy and personalized service in a world full of details with flavored Mexico. Hacienda del Caribe is a small hotel so that each of our 34 rooms have charm and personality. We invite you to discover Hacienda del Caribe where serving you is a privilege! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Hacienda del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Caribe Hotel
Hacienda Del Caribe Playa Carmen
Hotel Hacienda Del Caribe Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing