We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hacienda del Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Ranked #135 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel is right by fifth avenue which has tons of silver to buy, currency exchanges, and restaurants. It is the tourist section of downtown. This hotel is decent for the money with friendly staff. However, you have to be a traveler that is ok with some must and a little dirt to feel somewhat at home. The location is wonderful because it is a block and a half to the beach and one block from the ADO bus station.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Go g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    103
    58
    22
    19
See reviews for
47
112
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

At the beginning i wasn't too sure about reserving this hotel but because of its location i decided to stay there, its 2 blocks away from the beach, one fron the ADO station and 3 from the pick up place for my tours.

I liked the design, and the services are ok, but unfortunately the lobby was under maintenance and it got a little noisy at some times. besides the small pool was in front of the workers so, it wasn't too comfortable to get in it!

The price was ok, not too expensive, but not cheap, and as they don't have restaurant, you can ask for a pass to the beach club that is 5 minutes away.

I would recomend this hotel if you are planning a short stay in Playa and are not planning to be long hours at the Hotel...

Room Tip: ask for second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgardmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is OK for a last minute reservation. By this I mean, as long as you are absolutely sure that you do not have to cancel or if you need a place to stay for a night or two this is convenient to the local bus terminals in Playa del Carmen and 5th Avenue. The accommodation is adequate though a bit noisy.
The biggest problems I have had has been with the management nickeling and diming you to death. If you need to cancel, BEWARE! It took me over four months to get “some” of the money back that I paid up front to confirm a room. They assured me upon booking that I could cancel if necessary. I cancelled five months prior to my booking. I never did get all the money back that I had paid to Encanto Resorts. In order to get what I did back, it took daily emails / phone calls for weeks on end. I have currently given up trying to get the rest of my money back; a lesson learned and one that I will share with Trip Advisor and other travelers.
Happy Travelling!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlovebelizeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was our second stay and after the first in May 2010 we posted a very positive review. Still wonderful this time around and we were on the third floor street side with a small balcony which had a view if the Caribbean and Cozumel. We had a spacious colorfully decorated room with a large bath. The staff and service was outstanding and the off season rate was MX $600 (about $55 USD). Be aware this 34 room hotel fills up even in off season and you should know that we met a couple who booked thru a third party sevice and the hotel had no record of that. So book on the hotel's site www.haciendadelcaribe.com to be sure. The breakfast bar was not open during this visit. One delightful feature in our third floor room was a ceiling cupola with stained glass and a rustic chandelier. Also, note that there is no lift and that you should not confuse this property with the Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Last year we fell in love with Hacienda del Caribe, so when we started talking about another trip to Playa del Carmen, we knew we were going to stay here again. Although Hacienda del Caribe is not directly on the beach, it is only a one block walk to the clear, warm, gentle waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Since summer is pretty much off season, our room was only $50 USD, the same price we paid last year. We had a very spacious room with a king size bed and a balcony. The whole hotel is kept spotless. The staff is very friendly and even said they were happy to listen to my pitiful attempts at Spanish. The courtyard with the small pool is a perfect spot to relax after a day on the beach. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but it is on 2nd Street a few steps back from Avenida Cinco where you will find lots of restaurants and bars. If you should happen to be on a tight budget like we were, just wander away from Avenida Cinco to 10th Ave. or 15th Ave. and you will find a variety of good restaurants where you can eat for $5 or $6 per person. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crawley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I enjoyed the Hotel Hacienda del Caribe. The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is about 1 block from the main street 5th Ave - on 2nd Street Norte. It is 1 block away from the ADO bus station ($11.00 to airport) and 4 blocks to the Cozumel ferry($15 to Cozumel). There is a small reception desk with friendly staff. They have free wifi in the main lobby and courtyard - but it is not strong enough for rooms wifi. I got a room on the 2nd floor and did not have any problem with noise. The air conditioner worked well.
It had the basics and a small pool - but I did not use the pool. I spent most of my time at the beach - and also out at restaurants and cafes out on 5th Ave.
Parking can be an issue in the area since it is by the ferry to Cozumel, and is a very busy area, but there are parking lots with 1 block.
If you want a cheap option that is clean and comfortable and on a budget you will be happy. It is simple and a budget hotel that I would recommend to solo or couple travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We may have just been unlucky, but had no hot water for 2 days. We were told if we wanted a hot shower we could walk 5 blocks to their sister hotel!!! Pool could do with a clean, sheets and towels had some interesting stains on them (we tried not to think too much about why...) and despite paying the hotel DIRECTLY at the time of check-in, they insisted they couldn't provide a receipt because we had (only) reserved the room via this site. Not sure if they get what a receipt actually is. Good location though (upside?).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisOz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#112 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#137 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#61 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#111 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#127 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#124 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda del Caribe

Property: Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Address: Calle 2 Norte 141 | Entre 5ta Avenida y Avenida 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda del Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel characterized by a Mexican style created to meet the needs of the traveler who appreciates the best quality, privacy and personalized service in a world full of details with flavored Mexico. Hacienda del Caribe is a small hotel so that each of our 34 rooms have charm and personality. We invite you to discover Hacienda del Caribe where serving you is a privilege! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hacienda del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Caribe Hotel
Hacienda Del Caribe Playa Carmen
Hotel Hacienda Del Caribe Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing