We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a Second Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Escape Hotel
Ranked #194 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like a Second Home”
Reviewed December 27, 2008

I stayed here earlier this year and loved it. From the cenote below the main building, the beautiful entrance and the proximity to the beach and 5th avenue.

The staff was amazing and along with the owner were great to talk with. All came armed with great suggestions and really made you feel comfortable at all times.

Loved my room and while at first I missed the TV, after about two days, I realized I was there to sit on the beach, not in my room. And in many ways it was nice to get away from the talking box.

My one note while staying here (about 10 days) is that only one night was there a club nearby where the noise bothered me...but I had no problems any other nights.t.

  • Liked — Staff Friendliness and Proximity
  • Disliked — One nights of noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    8
    7
    11
See reviews for
12
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

What a wonderful time I had at your "home" - that's what it felt like. I have raved about how well we were taken care of to all my friends and they are all jealous. I know you sometimes get e-mail from those who have a few minor problems, but I wanted you and your staff to know that I enjoyed every minute I spent with you. My needs were attended to almost before I knew I needed anything - seven days of heaven.

I read the earlier reviews before I left and brought a pair of soft earplugs - problem solved and I am a light sleeper!!

If you are a scuba diver, there is no better place to stay than at this hotel. If only one partner dives, there is plenty to keep the non-diver busy because it is close to the center of the Playa with many beautiful shops.

  • Liked — The staff and being so close to whatever services I needed.
  • Disliked — Bands at night , but ear plugs made it a non-issue
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

My sister in law and i just returned from a girls getaway in Playa and Tulum. We spent 4 wonderful nights at Hotel Tropical Casa Blanca.Our first night was the Mexican Independence Day Celebration and the hotel could have been noisy, but we found none of the noise to be disturbing to our sleep. The staff is most charming. I really like the small pool at Tropcal CB. It is just big enough to get wet and cool off. The beach is a short stroll across the street. This hotel is the best location for shopping 5th ave. All the great eating spots are close by and easy to walk to. Java Joe's is just around the corner for your early coffee and roll. We had a rent car and on the celebration night I had to find a safer place to park than on the street in front of the hotel, I could not believe it when I found a parking garage in Playa! Overnight parking was only $11 USD. The rest of the time I parked on the street with no problems.
Our room was charming with 2 double beds that were VERY soft and made up with lovely linens and a throw blanket. The bath was very clean and offered ample towels, face cloths, and a bath robe. They also provided small soap bottles of shampoo and conditioners. Each day the maid left us a towel design that was charming and always with a flower nearby. Our maid was actually a man, he has worked at Tropical CB for years.

We took a tour of the house that Tropical has for special weekly parties. Our last trip here, the house had not been remodeled, so we were excited to get to see what Nicola had created. We were not disapointed. The house is the perfect place for a large group of guests. The kitchen was fabulous. What a party someone could have there. It has 6 lovely bedrooms. 6 private baths. Amazing place. All with Airconditioning.

This hotel is small and personable. You feel like you have visited a dear friend when you leave. The conversation around the front lobby is always stimulating and on a level deeper than you would ever imagine. You can come here and get relaxed and enjoy the shopping and the beach, plus eat great seafood. Do not pass up this little slice of heaven.

  • Liked — Location to 5th Ave and Beach. Plus friendliness of staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazybeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I have stayed at the Tropical Casablanca several times and will continue to stay there. The staff is very helpful and friendly, offering extra amenities not normally given such as coffee and snacks in the morning and a nice glass of wine in the evening. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is superb, as it is right in the middle of everything and the best Playa del Carmen has to offer is comfortably in walking distance. It is perfect for singles or couples to stay, and by the time you leave, you are already planning your next visit. Do yourself a favor while in Playa and stay at the Tropical Casablanca !

  • Liked — Friendly staff, cleanliness, and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FirefoxHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I have stayed at lots of hotels in Playa Del Carmen in the 6 years I have been traveling to the Yucatan. This has been my hotel of choice for my last three visits. The hotel has redone rooms over the course of the last few years to give them a modern trendy feel which is warm, inviting and with good air conditioning. The beds are new with good mattresses and the staff is very detail oriented with regard to cleanliness and security. I feel very safe leaving my stuff at the hotel. The hotel management speaks both English and Spanish and goes out of their way to help out with airport transfers, activity planning and restaurant reviews. The hotel is on 1st Street directly across from the beach with a great dive shop right next door with great instructors whether you are a seasoned diver or a newbie. They also have a nice pool with lounge chairs for cooling off after a day in the sun or a late afternoon siesta. They have a barbecue at the hotel one night a week which is really good and really inexpensive for those watching their pennies. Hotel is one block off of the main street , 5th and close to everything so walking isn't a problem.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff and nice clean rooms.
  • Disliked — If you get a rental car - parking in the area is hard to find.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddyb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2008

From the moment we walked into the open air reception and saw the fresh baked goods and inviting couches we were hooked. We were greeted by very friendly staff who were very helpful and bent over backwards to make my kids feel right at home including a personal tour of the cenote and the turtles right under the hotel. A huge highlight for the kids who had a great time tracking down the turtles.
The location of the hotel is nicely centrally located. A few steps away from shopping on 5th avenue, and steps away from the beach at Playa which is one of the better in the area. Having the dive shop next to and part of the hotel was a huge bonus as it saved us any legwork looking for someplace to take us snorkeling. The new martini bar is a nice touch especially enjoyed by my wife.
What I liked about the hotel especially is you actually feel as if your in Mexico as opposed to some of the bigger resorts that can tend to isolate you from the culture if you never leave the grounds. Sitting around the poolside and the reception area was extremely relaxing and we have great memories of just watching the world go by while we put our feet up. Rooms were comfortable and for the price was a great deal. The house that has room for multiple families is well appointed and all being well we hope to use for our Christmas holiday this year.
The staff were also extremely helpful in recommending travel excursions of things to see and do which helps to relieve a lot of anxiety when your unsure of what you should spend your budget and time on.
We didn't find any problem with noise as one of the previous reviewers wrote and we all slept very well without disturbances. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Liked — clean, extremely friendly and helpful staff at hotel and dive shop. Kids loved the fish and turtles.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaze13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

I stayed 6 nights in 2 different rooms at TCB. The hotel slogan is “The feel good hotel”. A place to relax and get away from chaos. I am afraid that the hotel mission statement cannot be accomplished as it is located literally next door to Playa Del Carmen clubbing epicentre. We are talking many huge open air bars and clubs. The main intersection of where everybody goes to drink, dance and party till 4-5 in the morning. I would strongly advise NOT to stay in room 15, 14 and 13 since they are overlooking the streets of that intersection. They also have a Martini club right underneath them (it was under construction when I was there). At night, in room 15, you can almost feel the base pounding in your chest at time. So my two first night did not made me “feel good” but made me want to kill those DJ’s! I got moved to room 12 after mentioning the loud noises and the problem was solved. I could still hear a bit of music but nothing like the other room and I could easily fall asleep at anytime.

The hotel front desk entrance with its big coffee table and 3 sofas under a big palapa roof is very welcoming and beautiful. The staff wear smiles and are very friendly. The hotel is all white and is surrounding a very luscious exotic garden. A nice little paradise that is very peaceful (before the clubs open). The rooms are also all white and very clean. I had one double bed, a small wood table with 2 chairs and a small fridge that was very convenient for water and fruits. The bed smelled nice and was comfortable. I enjoyed the nice chenille throw that was on top of it and the bathrobe too. The bathroom was clean and pleasant. I would recommend bringing your own shampoo and conditioner as those offered have essential oil in them that leave a greasy residue on the hair.

I was disappointed that there was no TV, no telephone, no hairdryer and no safe in the rooms. I went to Wall Mart and got a hairdryer for 15$ but really was not happy about the extra spending since I already have one at home and it’s so cheap that most hotel offer one it the room knowing people don’t want to pack their luggage with these kinds of essential items. The hotel owner was very helpful and went out of her way to lend me her DVD player and she and one of the front desk employee lend me DVD. I really appreciated it. I traveled alone so I needed some entertainment at certain time of day like when returning from my afternoon at the beach or when I return after a late dinner in the evening.

Coffee is offered at the front desk each morning and on Saturdays they arrange a very good buffet with chicken, fish, salad and pasta next to the pool for only 10$. I wish they would have done this every night because it was very pleasant. This is not a beach front property but it is only a few step away from it. It has a big pool where scuba diving lessons are giving in the morning by the diving company that is associated with the hotel and located right next to it.

If I go back to Playa I would stay at this hotel only if I had a friend with me and as my second choice after Mimi Del Mar that offered for the same price (100$/night) beach front, beach chairs/bar/restaurant, TV, phone, safe, kitchenette and hairdryer.

  • Liked — The decor, the garden, the room clealiness
  • Disliked — The clubs next to it, no TV, no phone, no hairdryer.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alexxxita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerTCB, Owner at Tropical Escape Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2008
We appreciate the difficulties that our guests have been having with the excessive noise in our hotel. It is upsetting us more than it is upsetting our guests and we would again like to apologize for this unreasonable annoyance that we are working very hard to correct.

The current political situation in Playa Del Carmen has left not only our hotel but over 100 hotels in a difficult situation whereby local authorities are not issuing fines or closing local bars for illegal noise levels. Legal noise levels are 65 decibels and for reasons that we can not explain, these levels are being abused by local bars and we can not stop it. We understand that the noise does not leave visitors with a positive experience and we daily go to city hall to complain and attempt a stop to this illegal situation. What is unfortunate is that the local hotels who do not participate in noise bearing activities, are blamed for the unacceptable circumstances.

What we do at Hotel Tropical Casablanca is to try and make each guests vacation a positive one. Our security guards and staff continue to work together to try and convince city officials that noise is not a positive experience for anyone and that ultimately it could deter people from visiting this beautiful area.

On Monday April 14, 2008 there is a new Mayor in Playa Del Carmen who has stated that local bar noise is unacceptable. As business owners in Mexico, we will continue to work with the new President, and Departments at City Hall to ensure a pleasant and comfortable experience for all guests whether they stay at our hotel or others. Our goal is to have all visitors to Playa Del Carmen happy, relaxed and encouraged to return to our piece of paradise. The addition of our new Martini Bar is to prove that quiet relaxed bars can assist in building a beautiful atmosphere and add to the pleasure of a vacation, not take away from it. It is our attempt to show other bar owners that quiet is better, and visited more than loud discos where no one can converse or enjoy each others company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#150 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#177 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#125 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#118 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#66 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#91 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Escape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Escape Hotel

Property: Tropical Escape Hotel
Address: Avenida Primera Entre Calle 10 Y 12 | 1st Avenue between 10th and 12th street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Tropical Casablanca)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Escape Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the unique geography and culture of the Mexican Caribbean, Hotel Tropical CasaBlanca embraces the simplicity of the beach life and shares this lifestyle with each of its guests. The architectural design, proximity to the beach, vast array of guest services and comforts, work together to sustain a forgotten entity; simple vacations, comforts and lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropical Escape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Casablanca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tropical Casablanca Playa Del Carmen
Tropical Escape Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing