We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Escape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Escape Hotel
Ranked #194 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Clean room, clean bed.....that about raps it up!! Nothing fancy about this place (paid $60/night Mar-2013). My wife and I left our resort for 1 night to party in Playa. As other reviews mention, a "stone's throw" from the best night club's in Playa, 50 steps from 5th Ave, 1 block from CocoBongo's. Don't plan on any relaxing evenings here, but fantastic location if you are looking for some fun! The staff were kind and helpful. On the actual "star system", this place would rate a 1/2 star.....for someone looking for a cheap place for a weekend: 4 star.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kukes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    8
    7
    11
See reviews for
12
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location is great, 2 minutes walk from the beach and from the main street of Playa Del Carmen, but it too close to the party area, during the night we heard the music from 5 diffrent clubs at the same time! of course that if you going to party till 5 in the morning you won't have a problem with that, but in case you love to sleep a few hours a night it will be almost impossible. besideד all this its a really nice place, free wifi, the staff is nice and again- the location is amazing! i would have rate it excellent if the nights were quiet.

Room Tip: not the rooms on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vered R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire, so we weren't sure which hotel it was going to be until we paid. Although this hotel surprisingly has misleading higher ratings than I expected, I would say it doesn’t even deserve 1 star. Filter the comments to read the lowest ratings and you'll see why. We booked the hotel the night before through Hotwire. We arrived there early (at 12pm) just to see if there were any rooms available to check in yet. The lady at the front said, check in is at 3. Ok that's understandable, we're early anyway. So we'll just walk around, wait around til 3 (with our suitcases, mind you). So at 3 we come back. The lady at the front was so rude, "No, No, not ready, shaking her head." and she pulls out the sheet of paper that is not us. "That's not us" and then I told her our name. And shes already saying "No, no no you can't check in" as she's pulling up our names. I'm getting frustrated with her, because all she was saying was no no no, shaking her head at us rudely, and not explaing what she means. "So when can we check in?" I ask. "Not yet, maybe 4" Ok, so any respectful hotel, would give you a time, i'm not going to waste a whole vacation day not knowing what time i can check in..... i don't appreciate that they changed the time on me, I could've made a trip with the rental car in that time that I waited, and on top of that I don't know when I'll be able to check in... That was already off to a bad start. There were other people there in the same situation, in the waiting area. Once we got to our room, there were no towels. Barely any toilet paper (we had to ask for more everyday). The water pressure of the shower was so weak (trickling shower), that went from hot to cold back and forth. It was so cold at night, and they didn't have anything but a sheet on the bed!!! That’s probably ok for summer, but I went in January!! I asked for a blanket, and they said they don't have any!!! I could feel the springs of the bed jabbing into my back. The windows in the bedroom and bathroom did NOT close.. which brings me to my most important point. THE NOISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FROM 10PM TO 5AM NONSTOP POUNDING NOISE!!!!!!!! Its coming from a club/bar called Mandala on the same block. To make things worse, its an intersection of places that try to compete with how loud their music can be to drown out the loudest (Mandala). The owner of the hotel likes to respond to people's low reviews and say its not the hotels fault that its noisy, and they say they're working on getting the city to regulate that place. But people, read the dates, even in 2009 comments say it’s the loudest place. So DON’T STAY HERE, YOU WON’T SLEEP!!!!!!! This is my TRIP ADVISOR REVIEW to OTHER PEOPLE, not to the hotel, I don’t need your response. Fix your staff, get some blankets, and fix your windows/water pressure (I was in room 11). I am in my twenties, I like to go out too, but sleeping there was hell.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went to Playa Del Carmen with a group to attend a friends wedding. Our party was bigger than expected so we had to get an additional room once we arrived. The hotel we were staying at did not have any other rooms, so they suggested this one. The rooms were clean, close to the beach, but noisy at night. There are several clubs and bars adjacent to the hotel that operate until almost sunrise. Also, they had us sign that we received a remote for the TV upon check in. The remote did not work, so we returned it to the cleaning lady, whom we assumed worked for the hotel. When we tried checking out, they said the cleaning personnel did not work for the hotel and they had not received the remote back. After 40 minutes and help from some locals to translate, we were finally able to leave and not pay $50 for the remote. The area was awesome. The food was great in the local restaurants. Would probably think twice about staying at this particular hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MntneerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

No frills. Nothin' fancy. My friend and I needed a simple, clean room for a good price-- and it's exactly what we got.

There are three things that I would like to mention:
1. There is not a visible sign in front of the hotel. We walked right past it.
2. The towels are stained and full of holes.
3. The location is wonderful for people that go out and stay out late, as it is very close to all the clubs and bars on 12th street. If you are looking for a tranquil room, this is NOT for you!

Room Tip: Room 15 was nice. It had a balcony overlooking 1st street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Convenient to beach, great staff, clean room! But the music from surrounding bars really put a damper on things. The thumping of the bass in music they played was quite disconcerting, earplugs were of no use. I had read previous reviews so I was somewhat prepared but it just proved to be too much. I left after my reservation and found lodging elsewhere. Maybe OKAY for a 1-2 night stay or drink till you pass-out every night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcstlmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is cheap and is very close to the beach. It is reasonably clean and has a pool. This does not make up for the fact that it is impossible to sleep due to the fact that at least 3 different clubs play very loud music until 5 am. The first night we I could sing a long in the songs (if I would have been in a better mood). The next night we were moved ta another room in the back. It was better but I could stiller hear the base drums all night. If you plan on clubbing until 5 am this is a good choise, otherwise avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: If you stay here make sure you get rooms in the back (on the left side if facing the hotel). We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#147 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#184 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#116 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#125 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#64 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#115 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Escape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Escape Hotel

Property: Tropical Escape Hotel
Address: Avenida Primera Entre Calle 10 Y 12 | 1st Avenue between 10th and 12th street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Tropical Casablanca)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Escape Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the unique geography and culture of the Mexican Caribbean, Hotel Tropical CasaBlanca embraces the simplicity of the beach life and shares this lifestyle with each of its guests. The architectural design, proximity to the beach, vast array of guest services and comforts, work together to sustain a forgotten entity; simple vacations, comforts and lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tropical Escape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Casablanca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tropical Casablanca Playa Del Carmen
Tropical Escape Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing