We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean (no bugs) hotel on 5th ave”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pension San Juan
Ranked #133 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Basic, clean (no bugs) hotel on 5th ave”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel was nice, basic and clean. If you are looking for a fancy place, this isn't it. It's not bad, it's just a place to lay your head and if you choose to save more money make your own meal up on the rooftop terrace that over looks 5th ave. The room we stayed in was small, but then again the price could not be beat. My only complaint is that the shower did not have much water pressure and there was no shower curtain, but with low water pressure that was a good thing. LOL. My biggest fear when staying at new places is wondering if there is bugs, this place you have no worries, it's well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank DLaw247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is my 3rd time staying at San Juan Pension.
I found it be accident after staying in a horrible hotel in Playa.
It is right on 5th but rooms in back are perfectly quiet.
Air condition is Cold & rooms are spotless.
As a woman traveling alone in Mexico I feel very safe staying here.

Front desk reception is nice but English is so-so.
So not helpful if you need information about Playa.

Room Tip: If you want quiet room request 1 at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A wonderful little hotel on 5th avenue! The rooms are clean, nothing fancy, pillows may not be up to par, and they only give you 2 towels but live with it, walk over to Walmart and buy extra towels if you want! I loved the fridges in every room and the kitchen terrace on the 3rd floor was nice for making morning toast and coffee before hitting the streets/playa! Other people cooked full meals which is great! So much better than the hotel we stayed at for the 2 previous times! Next time we are in Playa del Carmen we will for sure stay here again as the value for money was very good!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book the Superior rooms with the king size beds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jetta1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a great option as long as you now what you are looking for. The location can't be beat. you are on the main street (5th ave) going through downtown Playa and walking distance to everything downtown play has to offer. A block to the beach. Great common area with balcony overlooking 5th Ave. where you can make coffee or toast, etc. Rooms were clean and basic. Nothing fancy here, but if you are just looking for clean bed to crash in at the end of the day then you would be happy here. Pillows were TERRIBLE- like 20 years old and bumpy- felt like it was filled with hard cotton balls. If you looked under the pillowcase they were all yellowed and nasty looking. Again, if you don't care about that stuff or have your own pillow then you will be fine. They also won't give you an extra towel unless you give them your old one. But most women need one towel for the body and one for their wet hair. No, Hotel San Juan, I do not want to steal your towels! Just remember that because the hotel is located on the mains street, noise can be loud at night. People are partying, drunk, and the restaurants have live music/entertainment nightly. Staff was friendly and helpful. This is a great option at a great price for the right person. Just make sure you have the right expectations!

Room Tip: No elevators and stairs only for all 3 floors. Not good for people that will have any trouble carryi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravel7998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great place if you're traveling on a bit of a budget but would like to avoid bed bugs, water leakage, and uncleanliness often found in hostels around these parts. My friend and I were pleased with the cleanliness and chillaxed atmosphere of the San Juan Pension and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the future. I met a few other tenants who keep coming back year after year. I appreciated the access to clean water and hot water for coffee at the upstairs patio and the prompt cleaning staff who grew to know what time we stepped out and what time we'd like to return to a clean room. It's a family run business and the madre who runs the shop a lot of the time has a bit of a grouchy demeanor, but speaking a little bit of Spanish gets you a little bit of respect. The place fills up quickly during July, so book your rooms in advance or you'll get bumped like we did. Thanks for a great stay San Juan!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrailblazerFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have stayed here now for 4 plus years... we will not book anywhere else and recommend to any friend or family coming to stay. The hotel is clean, friendly , inexpensive and we are well taken care of.
It is family owned and the same staff are here year after year. They always remember us and welcome us back. We never worry about leaving our personal things in our room - it is perfectly safe and we trust all the staff without question. We LOVE this hotel!

Every year its like coming home.

Chris Lunder
Calgary - Alberta

Room Tip: We always stay on the main floor - the rooms are a good size for 2 people - no staris to climb and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My Mom! Aunt and I stayed at Pension San Juan for six nights in January 2012. The location can't be beat! Located on fifth avenue between 6th and 8th, with the beach just around the corner. Lovely little hotel and my second time staying at PSJ. Our room was king room that sleeps 3 and had a cute private courtyard. The communal patio/kitchen on third floor overlooks fifth avenue and is great for people watching, relaxing and having a bite to eat. If you want to purchase some food at a local grocery and make breakfast or lunch or have a cup of coffee, then this is a great option. The staff were all very friendly and professional and did an excellent job keeping everything very clean. Beds and pillows were good and our room was fairly large and quiet. Bathroom was clean, functional with a large walkin shower. We also had an outdoor shower in the courtyard/patio that was handy to rinse off after visiting the beach! Would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Third floor king room, just at the top of the stairs! Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetheyucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#177 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#88 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#120 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#83 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#125 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#74 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension San Juan

Property: Hotel Pension San Juan
Address: Ave num 165 entre 6y8 calle /st 5ta | Andador turistico/tourist pedestrian walkway, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hotel San Juan
Hotel Pension San Juan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing