We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok for a few nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Ranked #99 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Swansea, Wales.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Just ok for a few nights”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Stayed here for the first 5 nights of our holiday, booked on the internet and it was ok for the price. Initially we were quite happy, the hotel is basic but very clean, rooms are dark and no one uses the pool as it is in the middle of the hotel. Can be very noisy at night as some guests sit around the pool and chat noisily, this echoes around the rooms. The “beach club” is just a few chairs under an umbrella. Much cheaper and nicer to go to one of the lovely beach bars where you can use the facilities with no charge only the price of a drink.

On returning to the hotel for 1 night after doing some travelling they would not give us the room rate advertised outside but agreed to charge us the same rate as we originally paid. On returning home it appears they have charged us nearly twice as much as agreed. When paying either book on the internet or pay in cash.

This hotel is just ok if you are passing through.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OspreySwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    204
    55
    20
    15
See reviews for
109
207
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My partner and I stayed here from Dec 19th - January 4th for the holidays. We didn't know what to expect as neither of us had ever stayed here.

We arrived really late, as our flight in Cancun didn't land until midnight. There was someone waiting for us at the front desk who helped us with our immense amounts of luggage (scuba gear). There's no elevators, so if you are of limited mobility, I would recommend requesting a room on the first floor.

We wanted to upgrade to a suite while we were there, so we'd have a kitchenette available to us, but the front desk staff said they couldn't accommodate us with one for the entire duration (we'd have to move to a suite for a few days, then back to a regular room, then back to a suite). So we decided to just go with a regular room and we'd buy a styrofoam cooler for the beer! On our first morning out, we returned to find they had found us a mini-fridge to be used while we were there for no extra charge! How nice!

The staff made some of the cutest and most inventive towel art I've ever seen. They do a great job at keeping the place spotless. Book with them for the taxi ride to and from the airport, though. If you do the private car, you'll save almost $80 usd over the service from the airport.

They have free wifi available and a small computer area in the lounge. The wifi is really good, it just resets itself every 20 minutes or so, so don't plan on streaming any video while you're there. ;)

There's two pools available. While I was studying in the lounge area beside the main pool, I noticed lots of little lizards and geckos in the foliage. They're so cute! You need to keep your eyes peeled for them. The pools are hardly ever used though, since the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the beach! Not only that, but of course it's only 5 minutes to the famed 5th ave shopping district. What a vibrant little area.

It's also just a block away from the Mega Pelican, if you need to shop for sunscreen or snack foods or beverages. It's a very convenient location.

I only ate at the restaurant once, but wasn't a huge fan. I would take that with a grain of salt, considering I'm a really picky eater.

Oh, and if you scuba dive, check out the phantom divers dive shop, I did my open water cert with them and they are wonderful! They do on-request centoes, shark and night diving.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApatheticAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel was immaulate,and was gorgous. The lobby was like walking into a beatiful museum. the tile and decorations were perfect. the court yard was beautiful with natural flora and fauna, the different shaped pool with perfect blue tile was very appealing. The rooms were equipped with air conditioner and ceiling fans and the tile was like glass so clean and beautiful. Front desk staff very knowlegable of area and attractions and restaurant on site was delicious and also clean and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I book my reservation online for 4 adults and I got an standard room instead of the suite, this wasn't the worst part we got the std. room the air conditioner was broke, the specifications said 2 queen size beds, we only get one queen and one individual and we were 4 people . The host at the reception has to do everything he fix our air condioner, our bathroom, our door , the "submanager" Lic. candy or something waas soo busyy to solve our problems....Well not a good hotel at all

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Location:
For 11 nights I stayed at Las Golondrinas: the hotel is 5 min walk to the beach and 1 block from the main tourist street of 5 Ave. There are various restaurants where the locals eat scattered on the same road and around, there is a huge supermarket/mall called Mega 1 minute walk on the same road. Summary: ideally located away from the main noise of 5 Ave but central to everything you need.

Services:
As I needed to study Spanish, I asked for a quiet room and this was obliged. The linen is washed daily unless you place a sign for 'save water' on the bed. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned, and overlook the central courtyard/pool. TV, hairdryer and safety deposit box included. Internet is free at Reception. Improvements: lighting, I agree with earlier comments that the lighting in the rooms are quite poor. Also, the pool is in the central courtyard and does not receive much sunlight hence sunbathers best go to the beach.

Breakfast:
Served at the adjacent restaurant: apart from the fruit, there was a lack of healthier options: cakes, yoghurt for cereals such as cornflakes, cheerios and rice crispies, and small slices white bread. The coffee is very weak. However, they do offer lovely pancakes known as 'hotcakes' and for a tiny fee of 10 Mexican pesos you can order scrambled eggs - well worth it. Again the service was excellent.

Overall:
As a single female, I would definitely return and stay at Las Golondrinas. Candy and Lucrecia work in the mornings and are extremely helpful. Arturo does the evening shift and provided many tips for me. Thanks to all of them.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I really enjoyed myself at this hotel. The staff were awesome and friendly, the maid was thorough and adapted to our ocd needs very easily. The location was just a short walk to the main thoroughfare and the beach and was near the mega mart and some really nice local restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somethingflashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We had a good holiday at Las Golondrinas and would happily return .Staff very nice .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#108 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#82 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#90 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#93 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Golondrinas

Property: Hotel Las Golondrinas
Address: Avenida Constituyentes Entre Av 15 Y 20 | col centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#87 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Golondrinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Este hotel de 66 habitaciones ofrece mucho mas que comodidad. Es un excelente lugar para disfrutar de sus vacaciones o viaje de negocios. Con una decoracion moderna, conservando su arquitectura mexicana, un ambiente familiar y la hospitalidad de su personal haran de su estancia un recuerdo inolvidable. Todas las habitaciones se encuentran alrededor de alguna de las 2 piscinas y de su exuberante jardin tropical, decoradas con amenidades modernas sin perder su espiritu mexicano. Este encantador hotel tiene todo lo que usted necesita: amplias habitaciones, un hermoso jardin, una agradable y refrescante piscina al centro del hotel y otra mas pequena y privada con un asoleadero de madera ideal para recostarse en un camastro y disfrutar del sol rodeado de palmeras, cuenta con un elevador con vista panoramica hacia el jardin interior para acceder a sus 3 niveles, asi como un excelente servicio por parte de su personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Las Golondrinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel
Hotel Las Golondrinas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing