We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Ranked #96 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Booked with an AAVacation. Wanted an expensive long weekend vacation and this was perfect. I do not like all exclusives when we are traveling, but for large groups they are fine. I like to eat at local restaurants. this was a 4 day, 1 couple trip. The hotel is about a 4 block walk to the beach, but and additional 3 or 3 blocks to get to an uncrowded area of the beach...walk down Constitution then turn LEFT!! The beach on the left is much better than to the right. Hotel was just what we wanted, a clean room, plenty of room, a great air conditioner, comfortable beds, and a refrigerator in the room. What isn't to love. We checked our sun shade and chairs on the plane and we took them to the beach everyday along with our cooler. The walk was perfect since we did a lot of sitting drinking beer on the beach!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KitAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    197
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
201
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is such a great hotel. Our room was quite spacious and had a couple of large beds. Refrigerator in room. WiFi was great, and we were on the top level in the corner. The pool is small, but it's great for cooling down. Right across from Mega for groceries as well as great street food carts. Close to restaurants as well, and a very short walk to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

One down side for room #301 at least is that there is a decorative window that faces bright street lights. There isn't a drape, shade, or curtain to close, and the room ends up being fairly bright at night which may make it difficult to fall asleep for some people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My best friend and I have been traveling every Mother's Day for the past 20 years. For more than half of these years we choose to go to Playa Del Carmen. This year we decided to mix it up a bit and try out a non-AI. Best decision ever! Now don't get me wrong, I love a great AI resort with all the amenities and conveniences they offer...but we were ready for a change. I was more apprehensive than my friend as I do all the travel planning.
Hotel:
We arrived at Hotel Las Golondrinas around 3pm on May 4th. Check in was a breeze. We had a room on the second floor. Room was smaller than we are used to but perfectly fine and more importantly...spotlessly clean. We had two double beds, a fridge, a good size closet with a safe. The bathroom was small but had all we needed for our 6 nights. We had a bit of difficulty with our room A/C as other guests have mentioned. On our way out for dinner we mentioned this at the desk and when we returned from dinner it was working perfectly. It was not a problem for the rest of the week. The hotel has two small pools. We did not spend much time here but it was nice to relax a bit after being at the beach for the day. My only suggestion for the interior pool would be that it needs to have a ladder or steps for exiting the pool. I suspect not everyone can get out at the shallow end without a bit of trouble and knee pain. The smaller pool to the side of hotel had stairs so I suggest using that one too. Speaking of the pool, it is a small oasis in the center of this property with beautiful landscaping & lighting. It is nice relaxing environment and quite a surprise when you leave the lobby and enter this area. There are pool towels at the desk for guest use at pool or at Beach Club (Mamitas Beach Club..I will discuss this too!) Also, there is a small ice chest in pool area that usually had a small bag of ice in it for guest use. There were a few days there was none...we just did without. We made our own cocktails since this property does not have a bar. We purchase a bottle of Cuban Rum at the airport when we landed as a treat that we cannot have in the USA. Highly recommend this!! There is a huge grocery store within a 5 minute slow walk to the left of the front door of hotel. Check it out for snacks or mixers for your cocktails...prices are super CHEAP! OK..so lastly I will address location of hotel. Because we have been traveling to PDC for years we feel very comfortable and do know our way around. Trust me when I say you will be walking ALOT! We did not mind this at all. Early morning walks or jogs on 5th avenue is a must. It's cool and empty as opposed to the evening. Just beautiful! The beach club that hotel has discount tickets for is Mamitas. This is about a 10 minute walk... not bad in the morning when it is cool but the "walk of shame" home after being covered in salt water, sand and sunscreen is HOT. We did learn alternate ways to get back to hotel that were less congested and provided more shade too.
BEACH CLUB:
Speaking of Mamitas...this beach club is just fine. I researched many beach club options and we just ended up going here every day. With ticket provided at front desk of hotel (don't forget to get this every morning you are going to beach!) for $5 U.S. dollars you got 2 beach chairs and a large umbrella. No early morning rush here at all..if you arrive around 10am you will have your choice of front row facing the ocean chairs. Keep in mind that people will set up camp in front of you between your chair and the water but this happens everywhere. If you arrive around noon, you may still get a chair in the middle or back of beach near the restaurant. There is a small pool area BUT it costs extra to use the pool area. You have to purchase $30 worth of food/drinks while there too. There are no purchase requirements in beach chairs but service was always available if you wanted something. You cannot bring in your own drinks or food legally......enough said :) We personally did not care for the food at this club. Right behind the club if you exit by the pool and walk through the beach club parking lot there is a fabulous outdoor sitting restaurant with fans blowing and water mist spraying. We had excellent tacos and pina coladas there. We just rinsed off in showers by the pool and threw on our coverups and walked over there at lunchtime. Much better food and we had no problem leaving behind our chairs and towels etc. The beach at this club is beautiful...no rocks, no seaweed, warm water..water sports choices. Great place to spend the day.
FOOD:
We did not choose to have the breakfast this hotel offered. We literally only paid $600 for six nights including airfare from Boston!! (Expedia) Like I said, being very comfortable with area we knew where to go to eat. We discovered a perfect breakfast spot to the left of the hotel..do not remember name but you cannot miss it on way to grocery store. They open at 7am and have the nicest staff and excellent food. Appears to be a place that locals go, not alot of English spoken here but we just point on menu (in English) and were able to communicate just fine. For dinners, we just headed out on to 5th Avenue. We actually went to Babes Noodles a few times, loved it! Also try Skinny Bikini Potato. We prefer casual inexpensive meals but every one was fresh and delicious.. we had no stomach issues at all...never have here! We did not miss the AI food choices AT ALL!! It's amazing what you settle for in these places.

Our trip was perfect this year. No regrets. Next year we will choose a non all inclusive again for sure. We may just try to locate a bit closer to the beach. Highly recommend trying it this way if you have ever considered this option. Shout out to Entertainment Plus (USA Transfers) for another flawless transportation service to and from Cancun airport. I would not consider using any other transportation company. I am happy to answer any questions...send me a message! Happy Travels!!

Room Tip: I prefer a room on floor 2 or 3 because of proximity to pool. There is an elevator if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Trigib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I were in playa del carmen for one week and the hotel was just perfect for us two young girls ;-) nice staff, beautiful place!! The rooms are very pretty. The hotel is really near to the sea, the "shoppingstreet" and the bars&clubs..

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank jasista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Its a good hotel in all ways. The main pro of this hotel is the location. It's just two blocks from the 5ta Avenida (Main ave). This is really a good advantage cause it's near the bar and disco area. The rooms are fully equiped (Incluiding frigobar for cold beers). The pool is really small though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Never having been to Mexico before and choosing to shun the typical 'all-inclusive' package, we really didn't know what to expect of Las Golondrinas. Being of the 'mature' category of travellers, my wife and I are quite picky where we stay!! In short, Las Golondrinos is a very nice hotel, super clean and with amazing staff who really cannot be any more helpful. The pool is situated in a courtyard in the centre of the hotel and surrounded by vegetation and decoration, it's even more beautiful when the lights are on at night. The rooms are big, with two double beds and there is free With-Fi in each room and an endless supply of cold and filtered water in the lobby.
Playas famous nightlife is a short walk away, but it is nice to enjoy the tranquility of the hotel. A couple of supermarkets (Mega, Wallmart) are only a few blocks away, but be warned, there is an amazing Taqueria called El Fogon opposite Mega (and several very nice Taco stalls)!! Las Golondrinas have beach club access to Mamitas Beach ( a 10 min walk away) with a discount for sun loungers and beach umbrellas - make use of it, Marmitas is the best by far! The walk takes you down Fifth Avenue and inevitably you will be accosted by shop keepers and waiters - enjoy it, it all adds to the fun of Playa!
We had a fantastic two weeks in Playa and it was made even more enjoyable because of the staff at Las Golondrinos - thank you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank dwparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night in Playa. After looking at several hotels we settled on Las Golondrinas for the price. Wow! What a find. The outside of the hotel doesn't look like much. In fact, if I had not looked it up on Google Maps I would not have known what to look for on the outside of the hotel. Once you are inside you will see that the hotel is well cared for. There is a gorgeous courtyard with a small but relaxing pool. The rooms were big enough for the two of us and our luggage. The location is very close to "downtown" Playa, but far enough away that you won't be bothered by the noise.

While we were there we met a nice couple who were staying at Hotel Las Golondrinas for a month. I can see why they would want to stay there that long. The price was right, the hotel was safe and beautiful, the staff was courteous. I had no complaints about the hotel at all. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HRRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#130 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Golondrinas

Property: Hotel Las Golondrinas
Address: Avenida Constituyentes Entre Av 15 Y 20 | col centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#88 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Golondrinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Este hotel de 66 habitaciones ofrece mucho mas que comodidad. Es un excelente lugar para disfrutar de sus vacaciones o viaje de negocios. Con una decoracion moderna, conservando su arquitectura mexicana, un ambiente familiar y la hospitalidad de su personal haran de su estancia un recuerdo inolvidable. Todas las habitaciones se encuentran alrededor de alguna de las 2 piscinas y de su exuberante jardin tropical, decoradas con amenidades modernas sin perder su espiritu mexicano. Este encantador hotel tiene todo lo que usted necesita: amplias habitaciones, un hermoso jardin, una agradable y refrescante piscina al centro del hotel y otra mas pequena y privada con un asoleadero de madera ideal para recostarse en un camastro y disfrutar del sol rodeado de palmeras, cuenta con un elevador con vista panoramica hacia el jardin interior para acceder a sus 3 niveles, asi como un excelente servicio por parte de su personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Golondrinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel
Hotel Las Golondrinas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing