We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home in Playa”
Review of The Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #6 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Alhambra for 7 fantastic days. The hotel is spotless, light and calm. When we arrived Fernando had already corrected my online booking and our stay was even cheaper. We were on the 3rd floor in a standard/balcony with a view of the quiet street, palm trees and ocean. There is a small pool in the courtyard which was relaxing and peaceful. The breakfast included was delicious, actually the food in general was amazing (Ceviche!!) and was only made better by the kindness of Jose, Ricardo and Edgar! Seeing and chatting with them every day (oh and Miguel too) made us feel very welcome and at home. The location and price cannot be better and if you need it, WiFi even at your beach lounger! Best place to stay in Playa and can't wait to go back...7 days was not long enough!

Room Tip: You can here music from the bars at times into the night but that is unavoidable if you stay right i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoriP27813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 499 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

After nine trips to Mexico and staying at resorts, we decided to try something different. This small hotel located on the beach, in town, and at a great price was something we could not pass up. It exceeded our expectations and made our tenth trip to Mexico, our best trip. However, if you are looking for fancy accommodations, this is not for you. It was simple, clean, and quiet. Perfect for us and the other couple we traveled with. The food was fantastic, the service was personal, and the beach was beautiful. So thanks to Cesar, Alejandra, Raul, and Ricardo for making us feel like family. This is why we keep coming back to Mexico and this is why we will return to Hotel Alhambra again for our next vacation!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HoustonTexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about Hotel Alhambra! My husband and I stayed here for six nights with another couple, and had an amazing experience! Firstly, the location could not be better! Quiet street that leads right to the beach and close to everything, including favorite restaurants and shops. Our room was a standard balcony that had a great view of the beach. It was clean (thanks to Rita), had a great a/c, and a large shower. Had to wait a bit for the hot water, but it was worth the wait after a relaxing day lounging on the beach chairs. The staff!! Raul, Ricardo, and Alejandra are the best! We could have gone to other places during the day, but because of them (and the wonderful food and drinks), we chose to stay at our home away from home, as my husband now refers to Hotel Alhambra. We were entertained daily with singing by Oscar (Sweet Home Houston, Texas!), and really just enjoyed hanging out with people we look forward to seeing next year! We truly had an amazing experience here at Hotel Alhambra and cannot wait to come again! Thank you for making our trip the better than I could have ever hoped for!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We've never stayed at the Alhambra Hotel, but it is our favourite place to eat and drink in Playa Del Carmen.

It's right on the beach and the food and drink is always fantastic, reasonably priced and plentiful. The corona for instance was half the price as other restaurants.

We always pay for a sun lounger with brolly for the day, then we can walk along the beautiful white Caribbean sand, take a dip in the turquoise ocean or just sit with a beer in the blazing sunshine and people watch.

The staff are really helpful and friendly. All in all a great place to chill out.

Room Tip: "Fantastic place to eat drink and chill!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked via their online reservation the 'Ocean Front Room' advertised as a room for a large family or two couples. We arrive late in the evening, two tired children in tow only to be told that the Ocean Front room does not accommodate a family as it only has one bed. They tried to insist that we take the Ocean front apartment and pay the higher price. When I quizzed him about the ocean front room and that it said on the website it accommodated a family or two couples he then proceeded to say it wasn't available anyway.
I was not prepared to pay the apartment asking price and asked what other option there was. He reluctantly then said we could take one of the standard balcony room as they have two double beds, which we ended up doing.
The room was fine and I probably would have booked this option in the beginning but the online res. system said this room type only had one king bed, so wasn't an option for a family.
So if they could fix up their online res system to portray what is actually available they could reduce the confusion and annoyance at check-in.
Other than that for our short two night stay it was adequate and most would have to be happy about the location for Playa del Carmen.
Personally we preferred Tulum where we stayed for 8 nights and only stayed here to be in closer proximity to Cancun airport to fly out.
Breakfast was adequate and quite large in sizing. Bathroom was on the small size and overall the room was nothing special, but it was clean and there was a water cooler on each floor to fill water bottles.

The surrounding noise from other bars and hotels really wasn't that noticeable especially once the aircon was on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2adl2chd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were celebrating my sister's wedding at this hotel. The rooftop is amazing and makes awesome pictures ! Very nice location, quiet , beach front, close to bars and the fifth avenue, everything was close ! We really like small hotels like this, he price was cheap and we always go away for lunch and dinner anyway. The service was good by Mario, the manager and the Owner, Phillip, was very cool and helpful.
The room is pretty small, but functional and the a/c was running great. There is no t.v so we enjoy some real vacations !!!
The breakfast was awesome and again, super service by the staff. If you don't like big resorts in all inclusive formula, I strongly reccomend this hotel as a prefect little gateway for couples and friends. For the price you pay, you can't be disapointed.

Room Tip: Take the beach front room. View is amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The room was clean, shower decent. But not an ideal place if you are hoping to get any relaxation. No blackout curtains in the windows so you are up with the sun every single day. Constant techno music from bars and hotels next door and on the beach all day and all night non-stop is supremely annoying. The beach in front of the hotel is almost non-existent (maybe 3-4 yards of sand, at best). Not their fault, obviously, but be prepared to walk a good distance to find a nice patch of sand to lay on. Also the pool is very, VERY tiny and on the interior of the hotel, no beach view - not a concern for me because I like the beach, but if that's your thing you'll definitely want to stay elsewhere. The hotel staff goes home around 10 pm so if you have any problems after that hour you are out of luck. For example we came back to our room around midnight one evening to find our air conditioning not working & we had to wait until the next morning to have it fixed. It's a decent hotel for the money as daily breakfast was included and they provide unlimited complimentary bottled water. Too bad sleeping was such a challenge. I wouldn't go back. However, that being said I'd imagine you'd have a hard time finding any hotel that was truly quiet in Playa del Carmen as it has really changed and become just as noisy and full of partyers as parts of Cancun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,635 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa del Carmen
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa ...
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
588 reviews
4.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,177 reviews
3.8 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#9 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carmen Hotel

Address: 8 Calle Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Alhambra)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $185 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel, an adults only Boutique Hotel located on the Beach in the center of Playa del Carmen, steps away for the World Famous 5th Avenue. The Carmen features Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5, a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 stories above the beach offering the best views on all of Playa del Carmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
The Carmen Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing