We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Paradise”
Review of The Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Paradise”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is our second time at the Hotel Alhambra. My wife and I escaped the stormy winter in Boston for a week in the sun and we immediately thought of the Hotel Alhambra. If you are looking for an oceanfront hotel, look no further. The staff is always warm and friendly and always greet you with a smile. You cannot beat the price of the room, the price includes a full breakfast (Mexican or healthy style) both were fantastic. The rooms are spacious and clean, open your windows and let the the sounds of the ocean put you to sleep. You are steps from the famous 5th avenue, remember to always negotiate price with vendors. You can save some money by taking the bus from the airport to Playa del Carmen bus station and its only a few minutes walk to Hotel Alhambra. I am already looking forward to out next trip there. " Save Travels"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyEsposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delapaz44, Director General at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel and we are very satisfied with the fact that you had a good time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    74
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
42
165
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Myself and my mum stayed at this hotel in January and I can honestly say it was an extremly pleasant experiance. You are so close to all the action of Playa but without the noise (and we were in Playa whilst BPM music festival was going on) I am a very light sleeper and can usually hear a pin drop but every night I had a very restful sleep, we were however in the back of the hotel so the front may have been a little noiser. The rooms were clean and comfortable and although there wasn't a TV I didn't actually miss it as there are so many things to do nearby. The bus station is within a 10 minute walk with a fantastic bus service to various places plus there are loads of shops and restuarants. The breakfasts are very tasty and the staff can't do enough for you. A few mornings we were going on trips which meant that we would miss the 7:30am start however they made us a picnic instead. The owner and staff were so friendly and professional and most have been working there for a long time. I unfortunately was ill whilst I was there and a doctor had to be called but again the manager couldn't do enough for me and I even got breakfast in bed. I would 100% come back here again it was a great price/directly on the beach and in a perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilylois77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delapaz44, Gerente at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for those kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just back from first time stay at Alhambra Hotel. Enjoyed the location, direct oceanfront, clean rooms, fun accessible walking location, breakfast included till 11:30 am.... Get up take a run in Playacar, jump in ocean, run up to breakfast, walk on the beach, siesta in the sun, walk to dinner, walk and check out the street scene on 5th ave. Take a 9am yoga class in hotel overlooking ocean, enjoying ocean breezes through sun salutations !! , great yoga instructor Peter from New York.
Great service, met owners, Fernando and Alisha on desk, clean & spacious rooms. We preferred this hotel over high end all inclusive. We liked easy access to room from beach, shower, bath,and walking distance to all. Less formal, more casual attire.
Thanks to all for a great stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the balcony room overlooking street with a side view of ocean- great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyJack4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delapaz44, Gerente at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our third stay at Hotel Alhambra. The staff is professional and friendly and most of them have been working at the hotel for years. The rooms are quiet, clean and cool. Great location- one block off of 5th Avenue and directly on the beach. Full hot breakfast is included with room. What can be better than gazing at The Caribbean while sipping your morning cappuccino? Oh, and lastly, Mario, the manager, is very helpful and congenial. Love, love Hotel Alhambra!

Room Tip: Ask for the oceanfront suite on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msfoodie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delapaz44, Gerente at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice hotel with no frills, ideal to be used as a base for your stay. Excellent location, from there you can easily be on the beach, have a good meal, explore Playa del Carmen, or take a day trip. The staff is friendly and helpful whenever you ask for help or advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enriquito_Pena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delapaz44, Gerente at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Tulum. Never been to Playa del Carmen before, so had no idea what the deal was. The hotel is very nice, clean, 3 story, with the third level being a great roof top deck/balcony. The rooms are simple and clean, and the room we stayed in had a nice size balcony with a partial ocean view. The hotel is in a nice location, on the beach, and in walking distance to shops, restaurants, and of course great music and night life on the beach. The breakfast included was fantastic, and right on the beach.
The one down side is if you are driving you will have a REALLY tough time getting to the hotel. If you know this in advance you'll be fine. We could not figure out how to get to the hotel by car, and for good reason. The hotel is basically surrounded by 'walking only streets'. My wife and daughter eventually had go in by foot while I stayed with the car. The manager (such a nice person) walked back with them to me and basically escorted us (and the car) to the hotel. He then helped me to the overnight parking(cost us $12)
I would recommend this hotel, restaurant, and staff. Overall very nice and would return.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delapaz44, Gerente at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enderby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I came back to the Alhambra this year because of the great location, wonderful staff, and excellent workmanship on the hotel. We appreciate its simplicity and quietness. Definitely not for the party crowd.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Earl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delapaz44, Gerente at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It was a pleasure serving you again, hopefully not the last, Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,892 reviews
3.8 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#7 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carmen Hotel

Property: The Carmen Hotel
Address: 8 Calle Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Alhambra)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel, an adults only Boutique Hotel located on the Beach in the center of Playa del Carmen, steps away for the World Famous 5th Avenue. The Carmen features Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5, a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 stories above the beach offering the best views on all of Playa del Carmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
The Carmen Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing