We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #67 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel was pretty good. It has a great location, between the beach and the 5th avenue, which is very nice to walk by. Their ambience and theme was a surprise to me and my family. They have free yoga classes, with an ocean view. It also has a solarium with a great view. They have a tiny pool, that's not even worth to try swim in it, but just to admire it or maybe to take a picture with the dolphin sculpture (it looks more like a fountain than a swimming pool).

Even though the food was nice, the breakfast buffet (included) was repetitive. Another dissapointment was not to have rooms over the ground floor, or even an elevator would have been sufficient for a 96-year-old lady. The last ugly surprise was that the hotel had no street access, this is inconvenient as there is no parking nearby.

At the beginning we didn't care for the owner's attitude as "my way, or the highway"... He was quite rude, and eventhough the problem was a miscommunication between the travel agency and the services provided there, he manifested to be more affraid of having a bad review rather than trying solving these issues. At that point we decided to have a great time despite this man, and so we did.

The rest of the employees were very warm and helpful, as all people in playa del Carmen we met on our vacation.

I recommend this hotel if it suits your conditions, and maybe if you're in a romantic mood or if you want to "connect" with the ocean.

I don't reccomend it to people in wheel chairs, or if you're planning on being noisy or party there, since they're very strict with the quietness.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms with balcony, they were ok. The view was of the front of the hotel, which is on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V3roniqu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We will consider your opinion. I see that this did not stop for you to have fun that's what matters. We hope to serve you in another time and you leave satisfied. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    72
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
123
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Point, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a very pleasant time at Alhambra. The decor was beautiful, and so was the view of the beach from our room. Mario was extremely helpful, always willing to answer questions even when he wasn't working. Esmeralda made sure the roomwas clean and she was very creative with the towels; it would bring smiles to our faces. The proximity to 5ta avenida and all the restaurants was a plus also. The convenience to be able to walk anywhere made the hotel a steal. The restaurant was pretty good too. The only negative was the water jug in the room, and the lack of an elevator. Getting upstairs after a long day could be disheartening, but a small price to pay for all we got out of Alhambra. We highly recommend Hotel Alhambra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thanks for your comments, we would love to have you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A really lovely hotel right on the beach. Interesting building style. Convenient location. Peaceful and beautiful room. The staff (Mario on reception and the waiters) were so hospitable, welcoming and helpful. I especially appreciated this because I was there by myself. They were so friendly that I went back there most days for lunch after I'd moved on to other accomodation, and the hospitality continued. (I'm choosing to ignore the waiter who shooed me away from his rows of completely empty sun loungers on the beach early on my last morning as I waited the 20 mins for my transport to the airport to arrive, since I was no longer a guest there...)
Delicious breakfasts! Thank you. I miss being there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrotterFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

It is difficult to isolate the single best part of my stay at La Alhambra. The staff is very professional and very friendly. Everything from the service, the rooms, and not to mention the food was remarkable. I suggest the chilaquiles for breakfast. You will not regret it. The view from our room was very scenic, however, the hotel has a solarium on the roof, which has a breathtaking view. The hotel is right on the beach so there's no journey to find a beach and there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. It is close enough to walk to 5th street (the night club area), but far enough so that you don't hear the noise. I have stayed here twice; once in august and once in march. I had an incredible experience both times and I definitely plan on going back to stay at Alhambra Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thanks for your comments. we would love to have you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed 3 in a room facing the street and it was great. Everything is very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food and beach service is great. The location is ideal being on the beach and in the middle of 5th ave only one short block away. Super Mario at the desk is amazing. He even phoned friends to help us move furniture. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The owners come on the weekend and are very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: We looked at the ocean front rooms and they looked great. We were happy with our second floor room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oilboyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hello

Thanks, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was great. Mario on the front desk was very helpful throughout our stay. He offered us a charger, rang places where we left items and was always kind. The rooms were clean and serviced everyday, great to also have breakfast included, which you eat near the beach. They are in a perfect location on the beach away from the loud night clubs. They also have sun lounges which are free to guests which otherwise cost you 150 pesos each. We'd stay there again. Thanks, Hugo & Annabel (Aus).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hugosampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thanks for your complements, it was a pleasure to assist and guide you,
live a happy life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at Alhambra. We stayed in the standard room which was incredible value for the great breakfast, wonderful beach spot, perfect room, and proximity to all the action.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollywoodwp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2017
The Alhambra Hotel is now The Carmen Hotel featuring Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 our Pool and Sky Bar 5 floors above the Beach! We are getting great reviews please visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#93 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#139 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#124 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#123 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#102 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carmen Hotel

Property: The Carmen Hotel
Address: 8 Calle Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Alhambra)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel, an adults only hotel located on the beach in the center of Playa del Carmen, featuring Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5, a pool and Sky Bar, 5 stories above the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
The Carmen Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing