We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
72
105
62
29
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
105
62
29
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco bongowould definitely stay here againminute walk to the beachnice poolexcellent locationfifth avenueplug5taavenida
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 302 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2017

This place, despite the name, is not a hotel.
It's a Mexican bar with beds, and if you planned on having any sleep during your stay, don't go there.
"Hotel" has a bar on the ground flood, just on the other side of the pool. Due to the building geometry, any noise in the bar is propagated around the hotel and can be heard in all the rooms.
Bar starts working around 1AM and stops the loud Mexican music around 6AM. Bass shakes the whole building (mirror on our wall was rattling whole night) and hotel staff was just saying "5 more minutes! 5 more minutes!".
We ran away after second night - hotel staff told us noise was temporary (special, once a year party...) and will not repeat, but after second night, we had it enough. Needless to say we didn't get a refund and I'm still fighting with them.

Spare yourself a trouble, get a decent hotel so you can get some sleep when you are done partying on the beach. You will not get any rest in Maria Bonita.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Lazar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017

Great location downtown, but not a good place for sleep. We had only a door between us and the next room (not a wall), and we could hear a man snoring really loud, as loud as if he was in our room. From around midnight to 4:30am, the music from the discotheca next door was blaring so loud (basses mainly) that sleep was not an option at all. Not a place we recommend at all, unless you plan on being at the disco yourself until 4 or 5am.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights with friends in October. Excellent location - around the corner from Coco Bongo & a 2 minute walk to the main strip/5th Avenue.

Loved the fact that the hotel is 'authentically Mexican', lots of vivid colours, cool artwork dotted about the place, animal statues hidden around corners, It was a welcome change from the more 'westernised' places I had stayed in.

Rooms were very spacious and were cleaned daily. Cool pool area to relax at. Reasonably priced. Not for the light sleepers as the noise from the nearby clubs can be heard until the early hours.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiera-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Just a few steps to 5th Ave, close to restautants, places to shop and good nightlife, 12 street has a lot of interesting places like cocobongo. The music can be heard in the room, but no so loud that you won't sleep, at least not in my room. Great value for money. Small parking lot and no restaurant inside but plenty of options on the streets.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

I am just about to check out of this hotel. I rarely leave reviews, but I just had to for this gorgeous little gem. The rooms are rustic, a good size, homely and cleaned EVERY single day...even on a sunday. Fresh bottled water and fresh towels were left every day, and the staff are so friendly, chatty and helpful. They tried their best to converse with us in what little english they knew, and didn't even giggle at our disgraceful lack of spanish, comedic pronunciation and pitiful attempts to speak their language! :') The surrounding building is so pretty, and the pool area always clean and tidy. It has such a warm cosy feel to it but is spacious with a beautiful court-yarded swimming pool.
The location is AMAAZING! To your left a 2 minute walk to a long sandy gorgeous beach and more shops than ever to keep you busy. To your right, the famous coco bongo club 1 minute walk away, and 5th avenue just 2 minutes walk away. Straight ahead a 3 minute walk to the bus station to take you to the airport, xel ha, xcarat or tulum. Or a mere 4 minute walk to a huge Walmart to top up on essentials, snacks/drinks.
This place isn't high end with high end finishes, but you aren't being charged a high end price. This place is cheap as chips (as us brits like to say) and yet delivers MASSIVELY on charm, authenticity, friendly staff, cleanliness and location. There are literally hundreds of bars and restaurants on the doorstep.
The only thing I would say is that Coco bongo is next door, so if you are a light sleeper this place might not be for you. Though we were so pooped after a long day out exploring everywhere that we had no problems sleeping and were knocked out as soon as our heads hit the pillow!
Oh and the beds are huge, and super comfy, with patio doors, and a bug door to stop mozzies getting in, which leads to a small seated balcony overlooking the pool. Good strong aircon in the rooms as well as a ceiling fan should you not wish to freeze to death (under the aircon) in the night! Sky tv also made available in the room. We didn't have the breakfast, which is a paid extra, so can't comment on that.

I can't fault this place, honestly. We loved it and couldn't get over the value for money. The maria bonita is a real gem, and I can't wait to stay here again when next in playa!

Thank you so much for to the staff for helping us have a lovely holiday, and for being so welcoming and friendly!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vsimpson2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews