We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice in Playa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrio Latino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barrio Latino Hotel
Ranked #66 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best choice in Playa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Despite being in a central position (5a Avenida is just around the corner) the hotel is silent and there is a warm relaxed atmosphere. We have been here twice and rooms are nice and very clean. Staff is welcoming and always available if you need help. The only thing can could improve is the quality of breakfast. The price is very cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_ortica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrio-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Grazie Amico!
We are happy you enjoied the Barrio & the Area, as I can understand by your reviews.
Our Hotel - style makes sense only when seen as a peculiar part of our neighborhood, which is the oldest in Playa.
If you want to leave like a Playense ( a Playa del Carmen citizen) , then you are in the right place.
Arrivederci a presto!
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    238
    56
    17
    17
See reviews for
41
373
78
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a great hotel for someone who wants something cheap and close to the beach. As others are saying, it's a good value. Very clean and comfortable if you are expecting a 3 star hotel experience.

The beach is only 2 blocks away and a block and a half from public tranportation to Tulum and Cenotes. Also it's a block and a half from la Quinta. My friend and I are party girls so we loved that we could bar hop and then walk back to the hotel.

The staff was helpful. Gave great restaurant recommendations and were very accomodating. My friend and I got in way before check in and they let us change into our bathing suits and watched our things so we could enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyG126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrio-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks Molly!
Clean sharp review of a positive experience, come anytime!
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February' 12. This is a no-frills place. no TV, no AC, and the ventilation is basically, open your windows and you have to deposit your key in the front-desk whenever you leave. The water pressure is low, so you will have to flush a couple of times and a typical shower takes a while. That said, the wifi worked great and they arranged for a cheap but ok visit to Chichen itza, and it's within walking distance to the bus station while being relatively quiet. If this was within USA, I probably would have rated this as a 3 star, but it's competitive in the area

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vamsi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrio-Management, Public Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks you for writing mr Vamsi,
I am sorry but I have to underline a wrong information in your nice review.
In fact, all our rooms come with a mini split air conditioning unit , with remote control.
It is important to make it clear. On the other side, if you meant that you booked a room choosing a cheaper rate (usually offered to the green - oriented clients), the Budget rate, you booked a room where the air conditioning system is set, but you decided to avoid the use : again, all the clients can pay a decent extra and have it on, anytime.
This option is not very usual in the business, but it is modern and well accepted among the European travelers who dislike sleep in the cold.
It is unusual : but it is clearly described in our web page booking engine and also in all our partners' booking engines.
I hope this information will be helpful to other clients, so i wish to add that when you book a Budget room rate, then a King, Queen or Double bed won't be available , just a Two Twin beds set.
Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not sure where other reviewers felt the WOW about this. This hotel is definitely okay for a one night stay - clean and basic, really. Let the water run for a bit to get hot. Bedding average for Mexico. No TV (not a high thing on our list, but news and weather is good). Breakfast is not much more than rolls, juice and coffee. Stayed at another budget hotel in Playa last year, less expensive, and facilities were far nicer and better breakfast. The location is great if you want to catch an early ferry. Probably would explore other places before returning to this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobcatNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrio-Management, Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello mr Bobcat,
thanks for sharing your opinion!
As you did with us, I took my time to know you better via your public Tripadvisor reviews.
It was interesting, since I could compare the prices of the Hotels in your Town and our prices, and also about your visits in the area, in Cozumel and the newest, northern area of Playa del Carmen.
All together, it was to understand why you were somehow disappointed, since you came with higher expectations based on several other client's reviews.
I respect your point of view. Prices, compared to your town, are really really low.
Our long lasting , small Hotel, has a target. We open to independent, young minded travelers who could stay in a more expensive Hotel, but choose the Barrio Latino because of ambiance, location, and services : they don't mind the mid - low rates, also , a good price is always a winner.
If you look for that, we are a great option in town.
On the other side, while we have no fight against the new areas of Playa del Carmen, clients have to choose between a local touch, which we have in the area, and a modern touch, like the new blocks where modern buildings have kept growing.
The Hotel in itself can't be the only one to push you to ´that´wow feeling : if you walk our block you could have a good coffee at Alessandro from Italy, a great smile with your beer at Manne's from the german owner, or a fresh fish fillet at Las Brisas from the local guys of first Playa (they manage the 2nd oldest restaurant in town). I could mention several more examples, but this area is not for chains.
My point is that to offer ´that´WOW we had to work together, year after year, and we are keeping our low key ambiance because you have to find something different when you travel, so you could name it ´special´.
I hope you can visit again and spend a while in the block, you will be very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Staff were friendly and happy to go out of their way for us. Stayed here for 8 nights and never had a problem. Centrally located and quietly situated just a stones throw from 5th Avenue. In my opinion this location is better- restaurants are cheaper and it's less hectic. Rooms were clean and tidy and had all the bare necessities one would want on holiday. Will definitely be back :)

A big shout out to Israel who went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCF1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrio-Management, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Happy to get your review!
While Israel thanks also, I have to underline I agree with your opinion about the area, which I keep enjoying a lot.
There's something special in Calle 4, day and night.
Several small Hotels, all very nice, and a crowd of residents mixing with tourists between diving, tours, food drinks and good coffee.
It is still the Playa del Carmen we fall in love with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved the personal service so friendly and very clean. Excellent value great location so close to nightlife but really quiet. Well worth a stay here would high recommend. We stayed in the Caribbean room with papaya roof and hammock outside so cool!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was one of my favourite places that we stayed at during our 2.5 week trip around Mexico.
The hotel is well maintained and looks like a lot of care has gone into it. The establishment had a cosy feel and it was one of the few places that I liked returning to at the end of the day. It is a block away from the main avenue and a short walk from the bus station (even with a heavy backpack!).

Each room has it's own hammock. It was a great hammock and not one of the really deep and uncomfortable ones. We saw plenty of people chilling inside or outside their room each night we came home - just goes to show how nice the place is. Wifi is complimentary and we had a strong signal in our room. Lighting was nice and bright so reading in bed was easy if you wanted to. The room and ensuite were clean, just a shame the shower was pretty weak though. Fridge also available in the room. Continental breakfast was available but we did not take it.

The gate is locked each night and I think there is someone on night duty at reception. Great Italian restaurant across the road called Romeo but be prepared for a long wait for a table and VERY SLOW service. Food was excellent though.

My only complaint (and this is not really a complaint but something I like to have), is that there was no tv. That would have made this place perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bundleorbindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#60 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#86 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#35 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#87 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#89 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrio Latino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Latino Hotel

Property: Barrio Latino Hotel
Address: Calle 4, 153 | Between Av 15 & Av 10, Colonia Centro Beach Area, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Latino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the perfect spot for independent travelers looking for location and services, together with great rates. Green Leaders Platinum, Certificate of Excellence 2015, Among Best Prices in Playa del Carmen, is also offering a light breakfast ( including coffee, cereals, fresh green juice, bakery bread, yoghurt, marmelade etc) . Wifi updated this year with new antenas and providers is fast and free, and a limited parking area is available to our clientes. Best rates and owner contact available via the official web page. The management is Italian and this great property is open since 1997. The area of the Hotel, known as Casco Viejo, is perfect to get to everywhere in a short walking distance, and go back and relax using your own hammock, while fridge in room safe and air conditioning will help to pumper you and spend as smart as possible your holiday budget . Restaurants of the area are local, and international, serving fresh food. You will also provide quality life to a web of local producers and workers, when staying at this small but unique official Hotel,and please follow our tips to lower the impact of tourism : no need to look for a vacation rental apartment at these unbeatable rates and with all this history running in Playa del Carmen, just try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Barrio Latino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrio Latino Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing