We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was so impredded I keep going back!”
Review of Hotel Eclipse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Eclipse
Ranked #149 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was so impredded I keep going back!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you are looking to experience the nightlife of Playa del Carmen, look no further. Hotel Eclipse is where you want to be! Right smack dab in the center of the city, you have a little of everything at this wonderful hotel. I love the open air/jungle feel of the courtyard. I felt at home the first moment I stepped foot into the front office. I have been back since a handful of times and each time is better and better. Forget the fancy all inclusives....you need to experience a Hotel Eclipse vacation!
-Rabble!

Room Tip: ALL OF THEM. The Robinson Carusoe rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    15
    14
    11
See reviews for
13
55
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adrogue, Argentina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

It's a nice, small hotel, located in downtown Playa, one block away from 3-4 nightclubs. Needless to say, music is very loud at night (you can ask for earbuds). This is quite opposite to what happens during the day: it is very calm. Rooms are ok. Not luxurious. Comfy and clean. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is served outdoors (nice touch). No meals served within the hotel, but don't worry: there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Beach is 200m away.
Bottom line: nice place for youngsters seeking for fun. Not so good for those who want peace and quiet.

Room Tip: The intermediate rooms are good if you're on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Spend a week there in Nov 2012, bar underneath hotel open 24 hours, just around corner from 4 nite clubs trying to outdo each other whit djs pushing some heavy metal music.
Earplugs a necessity. staff was ok though and helpfull. Internac machines on the street now charge exorbinant fees.r

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falconfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Peter runs a great hotel!

His years as a food and beverage manager have honed his customer service skills. After 2-decades of living and working around Playa, nobody knows Playa better or has a more reliable customer base.

His German-ness provides an eye for detail and customer comfort at a very economical rate.

Located a half block from the beach, the Blue Parrot and 5th Avenue - park your car and walk for the rest of your stay in Playa.

We've been staying here since 2007 and have, at one time or another, been in most of the rooms. I like all of them. Peter is constantly remodeling, updating and adding new rooms.

My favorite room is the loft suite. There is a kitchen sitting area downstairs and a bedroom with a king size bed, desk and flat screen up. A tightly woven thatched roof gives it a tropical feel and the A/C makes for cool sleeping. The hum of the A/C and ceiling fan also mutes the music and beat that thrums from the Blue Parrot.

During this stay, Peter upgraded me to the front suite on the 3rd floor. This spacious suite comes equipped with a king size bed, a full kitchen, glass dining room table, a single bed, a couch that also turns into a bed, large flat screen TV and a great balcony that over looks the street activity. There is also a round table and chairs on the balcony. A large, clean bathroom with good water pressure - hot & cold.

4 or more people could comfortable share this room.

A breakfast of coffee, fresh fruits, juices, cereal, granola and breads is included and served on the 2nd floor veranda.

The staff is first rate, the rooms are super clean, the beds are comfortable, the food is good and the coffee is hot and ready - early in the morning!

The place was full of Israeli kids, back packing through Mexico and several of Peter's continually returning friends and clients whom stop in on their journeys to beach homes in Costa Maya or other corners of the Caribe.

The place just feels like home. Thanks to Peter and his excellent staff, it will always be our home in Playa.

Room Tip: Room towards the back are quieter if your an early to bed type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miguelsmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

A small Word to thank all the team of the hotel. We loved the Eclipse. The cleanliness of the site is remarkable. Crusoe rooms are simply perfect. Beware, if you want to sleep, is perhaps not the ideal room type. We enjoyed access to the Playa Mamitas Beach Club. It was a memorable week with a service peers.
Thanks to Riccio, Vivianne, Peter and all the extra friendly staff. Thanks especially to Alex for his customer service custom and which allowed us to discover Playa del Carmen and its surroundings in a different way.

An experience that will happen again. Paradise exists and is located on first avenue.

Thank you for everything!

2 ** Gurls ** from Quebec and Montreal

Room Tip: the Crusoe rooms are cute with their two stages but if you have light sleep choose another type of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronique_Bouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zacatecas, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

The owner is a very nice German guy who lives in Mexico. Er spricht gut Spanisch auch. El hotel es agradable, muy limpio y tiene todas las comodidades básicas.

Room Tip: Suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samyeguiluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I'm sure this used to be a nice little place. Very quaint, nothing fancy and a good location....before the clubs moved in. There are literally six open air bar/clubs beginning two doors down. They blast the music so loud, each trying to outdo the other, the windows in our room vibrated. My mistake, as I didn't check tripadvisor before securing a room here. We left after only two nights. Just couldn't take it and will never return. Don't be fooled into thinking the rooms off the road are more quiet. The music seems to echo and travel around the courtyard of this place. It's ruined this place, unless you like staying up until 5:30am, which is when the music and noise stopped.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.9 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
630 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#147 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
95 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#112 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
243 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#126 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#177 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eclipse

Property: Hotel Eclipse
Address: 1a. Av. Norte. Entre 12 y 14., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eclipse Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen, 35 miles south of Cancun, Mexico.Set amid imposing royal palms, coconut trees and lush gardens, the Eclipse Hotel is a very beautiful and comfortable 19 room hotel.The Eclipse Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's most privileged location, in the very heart of town, on First Avenue, between the beach and Fifth Avenue (close to the action, so young people looking for night life will find it the best option). The beach loungers, hammocks and umbrellas on the white sand beach and Fifth Avenue Pedestrian Walkway are just 30 yards away, just around the corner.All our units have air conditioning, ceiling fan, wireless internet, private bathrooms with hot and cold water. Most rooms have kitchenettes, hammocks, refrigerators, cable TV (+50 channels), balconies or private terraces. All our guests get free use of beach club facilities (lounge chairs, umbrellas, showers and restrooms). A large bottle of purified water (20lts.), is replenished on a "as needed" basis in our reception so you can refill your empty bottles of water anytime for free. Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. We provide our guests with fresh towels and clean sheets daily.More than just accomodations.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eclipse Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Eclipse Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing