We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Labnah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Labnah
Ranked #25 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful find...”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just returned from Playa del Carmen where we stayed for 9 days at Hotel Labnah in the Palapa Tulum Room. The cozi hotel was spotless, staff were wonderful and view from the room was fabulous. Steps away from the beach!

At first we were a bit concerned because there is no air conditioning in the palapa rooms but we really did not need it. The windows and the sliding glass door allowed for a great breeze and even the nights that it poured, we felt the large ceiling fan did the trick. The nights it poured water came into the room under the sliding glass doors which we used our towels plus more supplied by the staff. After talking with others in the next few days that stayed at different hotels, they experience the same thing.

Also, no one spoke of the kitchenette in the reviews, which we found perfect. Especially the morning that it was raining so hard that we could not leave the room. Ended up making the dinner we had planned for that evening for breakfast. Note: there are not a lot of pans but the staff is very accommodating and if the other room is not rented, they will borrow from there.

We will definitely stay again, this hotel is nothing fancy but perfect for those who spend their time on the beach and experiencing 5th Ave.

P.S. We felt the beds were very comfortable but our shower head can use a bit of work or replaced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelanywhere33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    121
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
142
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Providence, RI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My Wife and I stayed in the Palapa Uxumal Room in early May. The room was nice, only issue is 1 nite it was a bit too warm to sleep and there is no A/C in the Palapa Rooms. The same nite there was also an extremely loud band playing at Club Fusion 1/2 Block away. These were our only problems with this hotel. The beds were comfortable, the rooms while a bit outdated were clean and in good repair. The maid service was great as well as the front Desk. The location 1/2 block from 5TH Ave and The Beach was also a great feature. We had another couple with us who got a 3RD Floor Ocean View Room, that was just as clean and comfortable.
If you don't mind a slightly older hotel with great staff and you are on a budget this is the hotel for you. The price can not be beat.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Palapa rooms if it is hotter than usual in PDC. 3RD Partial ocean view rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPMechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved the hotel, me and my husband stayed there in April 2013 and honestly it was a perfect stay. if you can, take a room with an ocean view, it's awesome in the morning - Avenida Quinta is calm and you can hear the ocean.. The staff is really very friendly, the breakfast was poor but we didn't mind, it's not the most important thing for us. The location is just perfect, it's close to everything. Some people complain because they don't like the noise of Avenida Quinta, but we found it normal - I guess you can hear the noise in every hotel located on Avenida Quinta.
We certainly want to come back and would recommend Labnah to everyone going to Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: take a room with an ocean view or at least a partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emberiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Labnah hotel is very clean and simple. I was a bi surprised by the simplicity, but the partial ocean view made up for anything lacking. It may not be beach front property, but it takes about 2 minutes to walk to the beach. The continental breakfast was excellent and enough to fuel us for the first half of the day. I would not recommend staying in a room that faces 5th ave., but any of the partial views or the Uxmal are wonderful! There is one con: it is extremely noisy (from partyers across and down the street) from about 1:00am unil 4:00am. Bring ear plugs. Also, the pool is not great, so I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are traveling with kids, but with adults only, it was nearly perfect.

Room Tip: Choose partial ocean view! Stay away from no view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I spent 2 nights here. I stayed on the first floor with a room facing the pool. Room #3 actually. This is mexico and you get what you pay for. I do not expect a lot from a hotel except for a decent clean bed, quietness at night, and a feeling of safety. I spent $71 per night for 2 people. Our airconditioner was broken but they fixed it right away. The room had 2 decent beds but the springs seemed to be very worn out. The room had a decent safety box and a functioning ceiling fan. No television which is fine with me. Our balcony faced the pool. This is a very small hotel. Dont be surprised when you go out onto your patio and realize your neighbors are about 10 feet away. I like that. I understand others dont. As far as location its great. Centrally located between the beach and 5th Ave on Calle 6. Literally 30 seconds walking to the beach. The loudness of 5th avenue is barely heard at night. Sleeping for us was never an issue. Breakfast was nothing special but was included. It consisted one morning of juice, coffee and a sandwich and the next day was fruit and yogurt. Beach towels are offered for no charge. The hotel itself does not offer a lot to do, just the swimming pool which is small. Wifi is not in the rooms, it is located in the cafe which is on the 2nd floor. If you plan on spending the majority of your days on the beach and your evenings out walking around 5th avenue this is a good option for that price.

Room Tip: they have garden level rooms which are also the pool facing room. These are the more expensive rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gojrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

it was no surprise that the same customer service excellence resides here like their sister property sian kaan. Carlos and Francess are a pleasure to interact with and felt like i never left the sian kaan! i enjoyed the same convenience to the beach and 5th avenue. the rooms are older but clean, comfortable and secure. i found this property to be very charming and would definitely stay here again. thank you Carlos and Francess for a great first visit! you two are the reason why people keep coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serrano930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you are looking to be pampered and fussed over...maybe you should book a resort. This is a great spot for the more adventurous folks. It can be noisy from the bands playing at the nearby Fusion Club, but hell, you are 100 yards from a outrageously beautiful beach. There are two penthouses (palapas) that have kitchenettes/balconies and then a set of regular rooms. A boutique hotel, as advertised. Really nice desk people and very helpful if you are wanting to book any activities. They'll turn you on to how to save money either by booking it for you or telling you how to get there on your own. The ADO bus depot is 3 blocks away, so if you want to see some ruins..that's the way to go. 5th Ave is 1/4 block...oh yay....blocks and blocks of bars, food joints, hawkers and fools. You don't need to worry about your safety tho.

Room Tip: Book a palapa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#102 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#95 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#126 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#125 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#107 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Labnah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Labnah

Property: Hotel Labnah
Address: Calle 6 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Labnah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, betwen the popular 5th avenue and the Caribbean sea, it is decorated with elements typical of the region and with a replica of the "Arch of Lab-Na", archaeological site of Yucatan from wich take its name, that, in Mayan language means "Old House". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Labnah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Labnah Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing