We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Hotel Labnah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Labnah
Ranked #24 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
International Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just completed our third stay at Hotel Labnah and find it to be an excellent value. Here's what we love about the place:

1. Excellent location - just 1/2 block to the beach and many rooms with ocean views
2. Attentive staff (Carlos is extremely helpful with anything you need)
3. Very clean
4. Excellent value
5. Quiet and peaceful with beautiful vegetation throughout the property
6. Small and intimate setting

The breakfasts that are included are just "so-so", but with that said, I highly recommend this quiet little hotel, especially for those on a budget. It's hard to beat LabNah for overall value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LakeDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    122
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
143
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

In the last 5 years, we've stayed at Labnah at least 4 times. The location is amazing (between the beach and the 5th), the rooms are decent size and are always very clean, the hotel itself is very cozy and charming (if during your travels you usually stay at B&Bs, this one is a must!)
We would definitely recommend the rooms with the balcony facing the inside of the hotel (the ones facing the 5th with the Queen size bed and no balcony tend to be a bit small and noisy).
Some rooms include a fridge (I believe those rooms cost a bit more - ask in advance if it's smth you need). The beds are also a bit hard (but in all our travels through Mexico, we haven't found one that was comfortable).
I would give this hotel 5 stars, if it had a fridge in all the rooms and a TV - the 5th has become loud and noisy, and sometimes, it is just nice to escape to your hotel and watch some TV! Especially when the prices at Labnah have increased quite a bit in the last 5 years!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony, 2nd floor and higher, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller201101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We found this hotel at the last minute for our last night of backpacking in mexico. $85 for a nice, clean room with AC, a mini fridge and a balcony. This hotel is very quiet and located between the beach and 5th avenue. A continental breakfast is included and the staff is very friendly. Although these were the most expensive accommodations we stayed at during our budget trip, it was totally worth it & we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Loved it! Afraid to share this rare-find gem. Great for travelers and explorers, not recommended for business or resort folks. Phenomenal value and location. Very clean. A pleasantly diverse mix of international patrons. Had to come back with my daughter, wife and mother for 9-days to celebrate New Year's. Loved the hotel staff (especially Carlos). We loved the daily towel sculptures. Excellent location to beach, activities, ferries to Cozumel, ADO bus terminal (we used frequently), taxis, restaurants, snorkeling, SCUBA diving, shopping (all sorts), entertainment, adventure parks. No television or phones. Wi-Fi limited to dining/common area (excellent if you have T-Mobile Wi-Fi Calling to make free unlimited calls to and from USA (ensure data roaming is Off)). Free public computer available (no printers). Nice small breakfast (but not as hearty as last year). North streets (calle) are even numbered. LabNah is on Calle 6 which is more than far enough away from Calle 12 which can be extremely loud all night long. Our friends were very thankful we recommended this place.
Once, ran out of replacement complementary beach towels and instead were provided bath towels which was fine for us.
Rooms are very good-size by European standards, maybe a little tight by US standards.
Explorers: If you venture just south past the ferry docks there are several small Mayan ruins (public parks and others hidden) along and just off the beach. These were used by Mayan pilgrims before venturing east to Cozumel Island. Also fun to walk the beach northwards at sun rise towards Calle 12 to see all the surviving partiers. May see many small cenotes (cavernous sink holes) if you keep aware.
Shoppers: Heaven. Everywhere along Av 5. Even nearby supermarkets at Mega (Av 30 and Calle 14 Norte) and Walmart (Av 30 and Calle 10 Norte), and malls (such as southern end of Av 5, just past ferry docks).

Room Tip: Rooms along Avenue 5 tends are noisiest, small and least expensive, but tolerable for us, we slept w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidAged_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The rooms are nice and clean. The bath is great. The rooms with the balcony are awesome and recommended. The guys at the reception will always help you to get where you need and recommend on interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice hotel,great location, great staff.
Located on the 5th avenue, shopping, food and bars all around, but it still very quiet inside and comfortable and afordable...just enjoy

The breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thalia91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We just returned from Playa. Spent 6 nights at Labhah. Originally booked the palapa suite but it had no air. My Frommer's guide said air for Labnah. However, our reservation did not say air but did not say no air so cannot really fault them so we moved to room 10. We did look at the palapa suite and it is pretty small. Room 10 was really small but their was a partial ocean view. We could hear Fusion the club next door quite well. The breakfast was dry toast for most days or cereal. They did have coffee and yogurt. Location is good. Close to ADO bus the strip, a mini-mart and ferry to Cozumel. They charged me 15.00 for some clothes dye that got on the sheet which I felt they could have bleached or just ate it as we were there a week and it was pretty slow. No ICE or freezer.

Room Tip: Room 10. Every where is noisy.The Palapa when it is cooler out. Do not drink too much if you stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#102 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#89 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#131 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#69 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#125 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#130 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Labnah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Labnah

Property: Hotel Labnah
Address: Calle 6 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Labnah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, betwen the popular 5th avenue and the Caribbean sea, it is decorated with elements typical of the region and with a replica of the "Arch of Lab-Na", archaeological site of Yucatan from wich take its name, that, in Mayan language means "Old House". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Labnah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Labnah Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing