We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #90 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2007

From Dec 1 to Dec 10 we enjoyed our stay at this wonderful hotel. After years of staying at large all inclusive hotels in this area, we felt it was time to branch out and try something different and more exciting. The Luna Blue proved to be the perfect place to make this change. The room wasn't fancy or deluxe but we immediatly felt right at home. Our room was on the ground floor tucked away in the corner of their large tropical garden. The room was spotless. No TV and we never missed it. We had a kitchenette which we used every day for breakfast and lunch. We'd go to Mamita's beach Club in the morning, it's about 3 blocks away, and return when we were hungry for lunch. Loved the croissants and the avacados that we bought locally. Mamita's was fun too and the best part is that the Luna Blue provides daily passes for the sun chairs and a palapa. In the evening we would walk down the street and have dinner at one of the many retaurants in the area. Our favorites, Babes Noodle House and El Baretto just steps away. Try the shrimp!!
Our room had 2 ceiling fans which seemed to do the job well. We seldom turned the air conditioning on. The room was cleaned daily and we never had a complaint.
We made a few trips to Tulum to visit the wonderful, less crowded beaches there. The drive was about an hour long but it's worth the trip. This hotel is a lot more reasonable than the hotels on the beach in Tulum.
The Luna Blue is owned by Tony and Cherie and they also make the experience enjoyable. Whenever we saw them they would stop and chat like we had been their best friends forever! This genuine, warm way of treating their customers was really appreciated and is also why we can hardly wait to go back next December.

  • Liked — Great value for the money
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ken1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Luna Blue. Tony was very helpful with suggestions for places to eat, get coffee, whatever. If you like steak, ask him about the butcher place where all the locals go. He mentioned this to us, but we had a couple of vegetarians in the group - blah, but it sounded great - a nice steak, baked potato, and either soda or beer for around $7. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were always clean and really enjoyed the towel art. I'd give it 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

We stayed here over new year and the hotel is great. The rooms are a good size with big balconies, and all the staff are really friendly. If I had to say something negative I would say that the water pressure is quite poor. However, it's still a great place to stay and the location is excellent, I would recommend people to go.

  • Liked — Great rooms with great location
  • Disliked — Water pressure
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask Tony for tips on where to eat.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

I have been to Playa del Carmen on three occasions, always staying at various places. I will now stay only at Luna Blue Hotel (in this price category), which serves not only as a place to rest your head, but a home away from home. The entire hotel is very clean, simple, organized and the staff is very helpful. The hotel is at close proximity to the beach, and we loved going to the Mamitas beach club every day. It is located in a very safe neighborhood, with wonderful shops and restaurants nearby. Mostly, I appreciated the friendly staff - the owners are WONDERFUL, Jaime, and even the housekeeping, they make you feel at home. The owners also have great suggestions of restaurants to try, and even helped us book a car. I will certainly return to this cozy, beautiful, lush hotel.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring bug spray and tons of sunscreen!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AmyWestHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Our family of 4 found Luna Blue and all of its staff to be terrific. It was homey, immaculately clean, very comfortable, convenient to shops, restaurants and the beach, and surprisingly quiet considering Playa del Carmen was busy the week before Christmas. The staff gives GREAT restaurant recommendations and assisted us in every possible way. One of our best memories of a fabulous week.

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — 3 blocks to beach
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask staff for restaurant recommendations
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelinfools4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

A FANTASTIC little gem in an amazing place.. although initially hesitant about a standard room in a hotel that seemed to be charging half the price of all others in Playa over the New Years period, we shouldn't have been concerned. When we first arrived and saw no TV there were raised eyebrows but to be honest you don't need it as there is just so much to do in Playa that by the time you get back to the room you just want to go to bed! The hotel is pretty much bare bones. Just 18 rooms, no bar (though one is coming in 2007 we were told), no restaurant (but plenty a few metres away!) but what makes it so wonderful is that it is small (it doesn't take 10 mins to walk from your room to the main lobby like in most resorts), Gennaro and Jimmy at the front desk are extremely helpful and the towel animals from the maids are WOW WOW WOW but the best part of the hotel are the owners Tony and Cherie. Staying at Luna Blue is like staying at their house. They create a laid back welcoming feeling as soon as you arrive, which lasts throughout your stay. They take the time to find out how your day was and are full bottle on all to do and see. Ask Tony to point out the best beach in the Caribbean (it is amazing)! Highly recommended!!

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — the basic room
  • Tips/Secrets — green chartreuse!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mand06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

We stayed at the Luna Blue for one week, 12-22 - 12/29, and we had a great time! The superior room was clean and cozy. The staff was friendly, the location was perfect (not too close to any loud nightclubs) but right off of 5th Ave. where there are many restaurants to choose from for breakfast , lunch, or dinner. The complimentary use of the Mamitas Beach Club was also nice, otherwise, the only way to get the use of an actual beach chair in Playa is by paying to use one at a beach club. Mamitas was only a 5 minute walk away. We will definately stay here again on any future trips to Playa!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank rebalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#69 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#76 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#107 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#118 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing