We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but over priced for tree top room”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #91 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but over priced for tree top room”
Reviewed August 15, 2006

I definitely agree with the other reviews that this is a very pleasant, nice hotel with a beautiful garden and good location. Also Cheri and Tony were very nice and we especially appreciated Cheri's tips for things to do and places to eat. Unfortunately, we do have one complaint which is the price of our room. We stayed in the "tree top terrace" room with a private terrace which was $80 per night. The room is very basic, clean with air conditioning but nothing else. Once we got there, it seemed like our room really wasn't any different than the other cheaper rooms and we wished we were only paying $55 rather than $80 as we didn't really see what we were getting for $25 more a night. As I said, overall it was a great experience but I recommend the "standard" room as you really would be getting a great value for the price.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and very clean rooms
  • Disliked — Value (price of room too high for what we received)
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to La Quinta Passion, the Mexican restaurant right next door!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Chile_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

After reading fantastic reviews for Luna Blue on this site and a well-known Playa forum, we decided to book it for our August 10-15 visit to PdC. We are very happy that we made that decision!

This was our 9th trip to Playa, and we were looking for a clean hotel that provided wireless internet access and friendly customer service. That is exactly what we received at Luna Blue! Tony, Cheri, and the rest of their staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are knowledgeable about Playa and Riviera Maya as a whole, and gave us some great recommendations on places that we hadn't yet visited in the area.

Our room was always very clean. No problems with water pressure or temp. The bed was comfortable, which is not very common in Mexico. The kitchenette room that we stayed in worked out nicely for having breakfast in the room, and drinks / snacks for later in the day. The location was great - just a few minutes walk from the big beach clubs and nightlife, but still quiet enough to sleep when we wanted. Overall, we consider the hotel to be a great value.

Will we return to Luna Blue? We don't usually return to hotels that we've vacationed at, but we definitely wouldn't rule it out for this one. Thanks for the great stay, Toni and Cheri!

  • Liked — Great value, superb customer service.
  • Disliked — No television, but we knew that when we reserved.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JessicaInOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

Luna Blue was the perfect retreat in a tourist heavy town. Set a little farther away from the town center, it was very quiet and mellow, and its unique charm could not be found in some of the larger resort style hotels in the center of the tourist area.

Here are some of the great benefits of the hotel we loved:
A refrigerator, 5-gallon jub of purified water in the room, the balcony and outdoor seating areas for all rooms, a roof top deck, and best of all, complimentary passes for chairs and umbrella on the beach! Most importantly, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only thing that bothered us was the hum of the A/C's, which tended to shatter the serenity of the hotel's garden setting. But all in all HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, and a GREAT VALUE for any traveler with a modest budget ($70 a night)! - New York City, New York

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank urbanwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We stayed in the treetop terrace for two nights. The terrace comes with its own private covered patio with tables and chairs. The room is large with a double-sized bed. The air conditioning and ceiling fan are more than adequate to cool the space. There is also a small fridge and an (uncooled) purified water dispenser. The bathroom included a shower with modest water pressure, which was a trend in Mexico. There were plenty of outlets available.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful. Most of the staff speaks mostly Spanish, but communication is possible if each know a little of the other's language. Beach towels are offered with a deposit of US$10. The lock and key for the safe was free with an US$80 deposit. Also free were vouchers for beach chairs and umbrellas courtesy of Mamita's Beach club, only a couple of blocks away. The beach was very close and not too crowded.

The hotel is located on Calle 26 with no private parking, but spots were available on the street. Most of the time, we were able to park directly in front of the hotel. Security was very good, as police circled the area frequently. The hotel was locked after 10:30 p.m., but guests were given a key to a gate. There were numerous restaurants right next to the hotel. All of the establishments seemed to be directed toward tourists, but the food still tasted authentic.

On the whole, the room was very comfortable and romantic. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Private patio for treetop terrace
  • Disliked — water pressure
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SagarMung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

Let me just say, as a picky Manhattanite, that, unless you plan on frolicking in your hotel room with fluffy towels, downing bottles of scotch from a mini-bar during your vacation, you owe it to yourself to stay at the adorable Luna Blue Hotel & Garden in Playa del Carmen!

The owners, Tony & Cheri Head, and their awesome staff (Hi Carlos & Gennaro!), could not have been more warm and welcoming, and were always on the mark when it came to their recommendations on everything! Go to La Quinta Pasion for a quick (or not so quick) lunch or dinner - Babe's Noodle Bar is fantastic for dinner and for blueberry margaritas, and Cafe Corazon for breakfast (and they even have iced coffee, which is rare there) - And, on the suggestion of and assistance from the Luna Blue Crew, my friend and I rented a car and took a day trip to Tulum, which had a spectacular beach (more secluded than Mamitas, which can be a scene) and was just sooooooo relaxing!

Playa is so cute, with everything in walking distance (like a mini-mexican-manhattan) - Luna provides free beach towels and passes to Mamitas Beach, which is a short walk from the hotel - After a sweaty day at the beach (I know, it's August, what do I expect!), the cranking air-conditioning in the room was exactly what I needed! Plus, I got about 9-10 hours of sleep per night, because the room was like a cool cocoon!

I loved Luna so much, I think I'll be bringing a pack of my friends back there for my 29th, er 40th b-day extravaganza in December!

Thanks again Luna Blue for a truly wonderful stay!

Gillian & Lori

Helpful?
13 Thank PuffHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We stayed 5 nights and were pleased in every way by Luna Blue. The owners answered every question we had about where to eat, what to do, and what not to do. They helped set up excursions and auto rentals for us and were always available. The rooms were updated, clean, and relaxing. A/C was super cold - a necessity in Playa in July. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Playa near 5th Ave. HOWEVER - we really did not enjoy Playa all that much as a city. If we could do it again we would probably stay somewhere outside of the city on a much quieter beach, but that is just our personal preference.

  • Liked — Value and service
  • Disliked — The city
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank garrettww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Luna Blue was amazing! It was quiet,clean, and beautiful. Cherrie and Tony were awesome like everyone said in all the reviews. I couldn't even wait to chat with Cherrie and feel like i made a friend. We really did feel like we were just staying in their home! It is important to stay somewhere that has english speaking owners and staff! They had so many great suggestions on where to go to eat and even a a secluded amazing beach in tulum called playa paraiso. OMG it was the best beach I have ever been to! The sand was like powdered sugar. The restaraunt next door, La quinta passion, was amazing. We ate breaksfast there every morning. It was a small but fresh buffett,, which includes eggs anyway you want them and juice and coffee for 6 dollars! There shrimp cocktail was really yummy too! Cherrie and Tony are really good people, and you know they really love what there doing. They spent time talking with every guest and would have done anything we wanted. They treat there staff great and it shows! The small staff was honest and friendly. We left things out cameras, i pod, and never any doubt that it would be unsafe. The lavanderia across the street was cheap and your close are done in about 2 hours. For a tip they even bring it to the hotel and lunas staff put it in your room. I recommend having them wash your clothes before you go home. There folded and sealed in a plastic bag making it easy to pack and no work when u get home. Plus the clothes smell amazing! I can not wait to go back to Luna and even though they are open to children , I loved the lack of children there at the time we were there! Our last night there a family arrived and it changes the atmosphere. This is an amazing,romantic and quiet ,almost bed a breakfast type hotel! I don't think I would bring my kids there, not because they wouldn't love it, but I wouldn't want the noise of kids crying and screaming in this lovely garden hotel. I almost wish they would make it adults only! I think the lack of a pool, would be a bad choice anyhow at least for my kids , they would be bored out of their minds.
I would be more than happy to talk to anyone who had questions about Luna Blue! Thanks Everyone at Luna Blue! Jodi And PACO pacopacool@yahoo.com



P.S. For a great shop And really good deals go to Curiosidades Maya It is on 6 nte, between 5th and 10th avenue. Willing to bargain and really sweet owner. Margarita was her name!

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Disliked — Would like a pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Get the rooftop rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank jodiSuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#88 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#67 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#55 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#66 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing