We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #85 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a six night stay at the Luna Blue Hotel and Garden.
Toni and Cheri make you feel totally welcome. Luna Blue is not a five star hotel, so if you're looking for a soft bed, fluffy towels and room service, please look elsewhere.
What you will find is a unique, boutique hotel that is perfect for folks who want to experience more of the local flavor and feel. We loved the rooftop lounging area. The room was quietly away from a lot of traffic but close enough to everything else. We had trails of small black ants in the bathroom, but nothing drastic. Everyone at Luna Blue were friendly and accomodating. They arranged transportation for us from/to the Cancun airport through a private company. I would recommend the Luna Blue for a unique
vacation experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    243
    40
    23
    11
See reviews for
78
537
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Sunshine State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

We just returned from an eight-day, seven-night stay at by far the BEST hotel we have stayed at in Mexico. We have travelled to several areas in the Yucatan Peninsula (Isla Mujeres, Majahual, Tulum, Cancun) and found Luna Blue to be both an incredible oasis and an excellent value! As mentioned, what makes this hotel so wonderful are owners, Tony and Cheri. Within minutes you feel like you've known these two great people your entire life and are drawn in by their great stories, helpful tips, and caring nature. They (and their staff) are truly interested in making sure you have everything you need to make your time at their hotel special.

We reserved a Superior Bedroom during low season ($55/night). The room was on the third floor (with a balcony) and had a Queen bed, AC and fan, small fridge, 5 liter water cooler, and in-room safe. Free passes to Mamitas Beach Club and fresh towels were provided any time we wanted. By booking through a popular Playa message board website, we also received a PDC card which provided substantial discounts to several area bars, restaurants, shops, and sporting activities.

The gardens are peaceful and beautiful. We did notice some bugs while we spent time on our relaxing terrace. As we realize from living in Florida, the bugs you CAN see are just part of the problem (they don't call 'em "no-see-ums" for nothing), so definitely bring bug spray. This is also true if you venture to the ruins, the cenotes, or even out for the evening in town. Stepping outside the gates, you'll find several great restaurants, shops, and conveniences (laundry, food stores, etc.). The area is VERY safe and the hotel is locked up tight each night to provide guests with an additional feeling of security. Don't worry if you're staying out late...you'll receive a key for all-hour access! On-street parking can usually be found within a few yards of the entrance and cabs can be hailed around the corner (though walking down 5th Avenue and the local neighborhoods is a wonderful experience).

We HIGHLY recommend Luna Blue to anyone who's considering staying at a boutique hotel and is looking for safe, friendly, clean accomodations (and at a GREAT value). Plans are in place for a small bar and the jacuzzi should be ready in the next couple of months. Though hard to believe, enhancements continue to make the place better and better.

Thanks Tony and Cheri (plus staff) for such a wonderful time!

Lee (AdGuy) & Jennifer
Jacksonville, Florida

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank FloridaAdGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2006

Luna Blue is perfect for first timers in Playa del Carmen.

The heart and soul of this hotel is truly Toni and Cheri. They have wonderful advice for first timers. The others at the frontdesk were also helpful but Toni and Cheri know Americans best. From affordable gourmet, tasty drinks, cheapo transpo, lagoons, ruins, etc etc

We had to take a later flight and frontdesk Genaro promptly got us shuttle service to Luna Blue. Avoid the airport booths (timeshare sales).

We stayed in a standard room. The paint was fresh. Tiles look recently remodeled. Bed was firm. Great value. Not having a TV was a plus. Water pressure acceptable. Clean. Our door was a sliding door. It was strange having to use keys on both sides of the lock. I would prefer to use keys on the outside and a lever on the inside.

Luna is located midblock so sound is filtered by other buildings.The standard had a door connecting to another standard room that needs more sound insulation unless you are with the people next door. We thought about moving up to get a better view but the hotel was full at the time.

The rooftop terrace had nice views of the town and an awesome hammock for napping. Landscaping was jungle style. Lots of trees and birds singing.

Full Service Laundry across from Luna cost about $4 for a load perfectly folded and bagged. Convenience store was also across from Luna..

Overall, great value. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jercha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Luna Blue, and we had a really great vacation. This hotel has so many things going for it. It is at the quieter end of the Quinta Avenida strip, which we appreciated every time we ambled closer to the action towards town. Too many people, too noisy, a completely different feel to the shops and restaurants. At the northern end, the shops, restaurants, the merchants, the locals, are all so much more relaxed. We enjoyed being so close to dining and shopping. The hotel is 1/2 a block from Quinta Avenida.

We had a room with a kitchenette, which worked our nicely. Our two teenagers, my wife and I all had comfortable beds, too (One queen, one single, one roll-out trundle bed). The room was impeccably clean, with fine tile floors. A spacious fridge, well stocked kitchen, and small stove was all we needed. The bathroom was comfortable, clean, and had a spacious etagere for storage. We enjoyed our own personal patio, and only saw 2 mosquitos in all the time we were there.

The staff was very responsive, very helpful, and honestly, they are all high-quality people. The owners were everything we were led to believe, having read these reviews before we booked. Tony and Cheri were like our personal tour guides, as well as friends. We eliminated lots of trial and error with the renting of a car, with restaurant choices, with choices for recreation. Our gracious hosts helped us every step of the way.

We don't really care for the All-Inclusives, as our experience has been that the food is usually mediocre at best, and choosing restaurants to try helps us feel more acclimated and adventurous. With Mamita's Beach so close, we feel we had the very best of everything. We will definitely return to Playa and to the Luna Blue

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2006

Tony and Sherri and the LB Hotel Team rock! Our stay at the Luna Blue was wonderful. Close to Mamitas Beach Club and all key attractions, yet, off the main drag so that you can get a good night's rest. The rooms were very comfortable, safe and clean. Toni and Sherri made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The property is very quaint and has a very nice feel to it. I will be back as soon as I have the opprotunity. I have traveled extensively over the last 30 years and can say that this hidden find is so worth it's value.
- Mark

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2006

We stayed at the Luna Blue in June of '06, after having some booking difficulties with a larger hotel on the beach (long story)
The Luna Blue was a whole different experience; the owners, Tony and Cheri were extremely personable, and got back to me within a couple of hours throughout the whole booking process.
The hotel itself is very nice, clean and spacious (we stayed in one of the kitchenette rooms). I hear that there are plans to add in a jacuzzi and bar as well! So, it should get even better in the months to come.
It's true that the hotel is a couple blocks from the beach, but I'd even recommend staying here over a place on the beach, as you get free passes to a very nice beach club (in my opinion, better than having to pay a lot of money and search around for chairs)
One of the greatest advantages to this place is Tony and Cheri themselves. They were an invaluable source of info about local restaurants, activities, etc. They are friendly and enthusiastic about giving advice to travelers...don't miss the butcher shop steak restaurant!

All in all, this hotel is a fantastic find, and made our stay in PDC a much more enjoyable experience. It really shows that Tony and Cheri are the owners of this place, as they personally care very much about the well-being of their guests.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

Luna Blue is a lush little oasis of a hotel in the heart of beautiful Playa Del Carmen. Tony and Cheri are wonderful people who welcome you like old friends. Their staff is attentive and kind. My fiancé, my friend, and myself were given excellent advice upon arrival for places to eat and have fun. Luna Blue, although not right on the beach, has an affiliation with a beach resort down the block, which makes it easy to get a good lounge on the beach. That is just one example of a great host. They really want you to enjoy their town as they do.

I stayed in one of the smaller rooms, which was simple yet cozy. The hotel is quiet and clean and so close to the fun of Playa del Carmen you'll be amazed how peaceful it is.

I would love to try the Tree Top rooms because I hear they're great. Next time I'm there I will reserve Luna Blue in advance. It's worth it.

Thanks again Tony & Cheri for a wonderful time.

-Chris P

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#60 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#86 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#66 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#57 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing