We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave!”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #95 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a wonderful 5 days spent at the Luna Blue Hotel, a little tropical oasis off the hustle and bustle of 5th Avenue.

From the very moment we walked through the gate, I realized this would be the perfect place to spend our week in Playa. From cooling off in the refreshing pool listening to the sound of the waterfall, to swinging on the bar swings drinking ojo rojos from Ivan, to a visit from Frankie, the resident "gato" - everything about Luna Blue was what I want in a vacation... a charming place to get away from it all and just RELAX!

First of all -- each staff member we met went above and beyond to assist us during our stay. From suggestions for a rainy day excursion to the best tacos in Playa, I can't say enough about the staff here. Tony and Cheri were a delight to talk to -- and I especially love that they're such animal lovers, as evidenced by Frankie and Callie, the resident kitties. The rooms were kept immaculate every single day and we returned each afternoon to find a fun towel sculpture in our room. Ivan was the star of the show, as he mixed us fun cocktails and recommended tacos, in addition to basically just laughing with us the entire night while we enjoyed our cocktails. It made us feel right at home and it was a sad day when we had to say goodbye to our favorite bartender in Playa!

The crazy thing is that while visiting some friends at an all-inclusive during our stay, I was worried that I'd regret not staying where the group stayed... you know, missing out on amenities like a swim up bar, infinity pool, endless cocktails and tons of activities. I couldn't have been more wrong and I am so thankful I was able to experience Playa via the Luna Blue. It was quiet, relaxing and just steps away from the bustling 5th Avenue. It was exactly what I needed to get away and I am just so thankful to have had the opportunity to stay here. Low key, beautiful and couldn't have asked for a better stay! THANK YOU!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesaraelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
80
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel during out stay on the Yucatan. We were advised by others to avoid Cancun and to go for Playa del Carmen. This place is right off 5th Avenue. You can't go wrong. You couldn't ask for a more friendly and charming place and staff. Rooms were great. If you have a rental car, it's street parking only, but we didn't have a problem, even during Spring Break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wow! What a charming little hotel right by the great area of 5 th avenue shops and restaurants. The staff if very friendly. The hotel is quiet. I love the natural setting. The rooms are comfortable but no ocean views...in case your looking for it. Just go outside and walk a block and your there! I really like it here. No big crowds. I can have all the fun I want out on the beach or around town and then go to my charming little hotel and relax. You should try it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Luna Blue. Jaime, Jorge and Felipe were very nice and helped us find affordable local restaurants with good food. We love the swings at the bar and enjoyed the pool as well. The band that played Thursday was the best we heard while in PDC.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank myjudge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My friend and I booked a very last minute trip, and were so happy that we had found this charming hotel! The rooms were very clean, the pool was lovely and the small bar with swings was a great way to start our evening out every night! In the morning there was coffee and some very yummy fruit breads....I would absolutely stay here again!! Thank you Tony and Sheri!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor and felt very safe.( we were two women)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank violetjean5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were late arriving (after midnite) and they were available the whole time and even accomodated a small request since we were late. Even loaned us a knife to cut limes for beach beers. Very nice couple and even a visit from Frankie the resident cat made us feel at home. Keep up friendly feel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXGoose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Owners Tony and Sheri do an excellent job of making you welcome and cared for. The rooms were very clean. Jorge at the bar makes great margarita although he got my husband drunk on tequila a couple of times. would definitely go back. Also as a perk it is adult only The only bad thing is that over the two weeks we were there it rained all except 4 days so don't go in October

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#83 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#64 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#91 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing