We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing hotel in great location”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #91 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel in great location”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great place to stay in Playa, more relaxed and only a few blocks from the beach. Lots of nice seating area in front of our room as well as at the pool and in the common area. Didn't expect Playa to be as expensive as it was, but seems to be the trend in more touristy areas. 1 thing to note, the bar at the hotel has live music 2 nights a week which was good and brings in a mostly older gringo crowd. The other nights a loop of Jimmy Buffett satellite radio is playing. In both instances, the music stops at 11 or so.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LM_PO_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We felt like we found an oasis. Beautiful garden setting, clean rooms, efficient and helpful staff, and walking distance to beaches and restaurants of every kind. There is an outdoor bar with live entertainment and a neighborhood feel. Best of all, Tony and Sherri went above and beyond to help us avoid flying home into a snow storm. We will be back next winter. Thank you Tony and Sherri.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank healthyhearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent eight days in mid-February staying in room 7 at the Luna Blue Hotel and had a great time! The location was terrific as we could walk a half -block to 5th Avenue and enjoy the shops, bars and restaurants that are the heart of Playa del Carmen. Glad we did not choose an all-inclusive resort as we would have missed out on the best of the downtown. The hotel seemed like a bargain. The room was not fancy, but spacious. It included a kitchenette, twin bed and a trundle bed. The hotel raps around a small pool, grove of trees and plants and an outside bar. It is landscaped nicely in local stone. The folks coming to the small bar each night were an interesting mix of young and old northerners escaping the cold and looking to have a good time. Most people we talked to that were staying at the hotel had been back multiple times. By the time we left we understood why as we felt very much at home with the staff and surroundings. The clincher for was the great live music at the hotel bar on Tuesday and Thursday nights. The hotel was a four block walk from the Kool Beach Club but this was not a problem. This KBC has some of the best beach and recreational services in town, and a good lunch menu! We used there services to para-sail and take a catamaran ride out to snorkel on a reef. The hotel helped us arrange an enjoyable day trip to the Tulum and Coba ruins.

In summary, my wife and I, and our two travel companions, all had a great time. We found the hotel cozy, intimate and in a great location. Left our stay wishing we had booked two full weeks. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchenette are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrhmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just got back from our stay at Luna Blue Hotel. It was exactly what it says it is, a tropical garden in paradise! We were right in the middle of any direction you want to walk for food, shopping. Beach was a 5 min. walk(not bad at all). We would come back in a heartbeat. The live music every Tuesday and Thursday night is awesome! Bar is great, bartenders make really good drinks. The coffee and sweet breads in the morning are fantastic. Thanks for the fun time!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

been there 2 nights during January 2014 service was poor, location is bed (not in the centre )in total this hotel is over charged! bar is nice, and also the housekeeping lady. definitely not a bargain!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank didi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaBlue, Owner at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We are of course very concerned that this reviewer was so unhappy. No hotel likes to receive this negative of a review, particular when it is the reviewer’s first and only posting on TripAdvisor. No guest during this time had expressed such dissatisfaction with their stay, so based on the information in this review, we investigated to see who it might have been. After going through all of our reservations, we have been unable to find a guest who matches the description of this reviewer. In the month of January, we had not a single guest from Spain, where this reviewer says he/she resides. The reviewer also states that he or she stayed with us for two nights. Our minimum stay is 3 nights, however we will on occasion make exceptions. In January of 2014, we made two such exceptions allowing shorter stays, but neither of them was for anyone from Spain.

And the one specific that was offered by this review, that we are not centrally located, is simply untrue. Our hotel has the convenience of being at almost the exact center of the resort/hotel zone in Playa del Carmen. Even if someone were writing a review and had not actually stayed at our hotel, they could have ascertained our location by looking at a map.

In short, we don’t know which hotel this person may have been reviewing, but we don’t believe it’s the Luna Blue, as we have no evidence they stayed with us.

Tony & Cheri
Luna Blue Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed in room 32 at Luna Blue from January 31, 2014 to February 9, 2014. This was our 7th vacation to Playa, and absolutely love every moment we are there.
I don't have one negative thing to say about Luna Blue. Tony and Cheri were amazing; and you could tell the relationship between all the staff members was something special. Rubio, Jorge, Carlos, Juan, Gloria and the girls - gracias por todo!!
When you walk through the front gates at Luna Blue, it's like walking into a jungle oasis. The temperature was always cooler inside the gates, the birds were singing, the waterfall was flowing, the tropical gardens were sparkling under the filtered sun, music was playing softly from the tropical swing bar, and Frankie (the cat) was lounging about. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Lovely amenities were restocked daily along with daily towel art displays. The beds were comfortable. Fresh coffee, tea, and freshly baked sweet breads were supplied each morning. Really, what else could you ask for.
For us, this place is magic.
Mi casa es su casa :)

Room Tip: We never had an issue with noise in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purpleorchidCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Have watched TA reviews for over a year before booking and staying at Luna Blue. I am now posting from Luna Blue outside Room 21 while listening to the live Tuesday Night music. Have GREATLY enjoyed our three days so far and look forward to our next five! What a charming oasis just off the hustle and bustle of 5th in downtown Playa!
Our experience has been exactly what we expected, and everyone from the day staff, to Rubio and Jorge at the bar, to Tony the owner have been FABULOUS hosts! You may have seen negative posts recently as did I, but none reflected our experience here and just like with any website you must read reviews with an open mind.
We're happy that we decided to go with the vast majority of reviewers and book at Luna Blue! If you want a great relaxing holiday away from the all-inclusive madness then this is your answer!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank golfngamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#88 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#67 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#55 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#66 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing