We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Atmosphere in the City”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #95 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Atmosphere in the City”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Smaller hotel that exceeds in customer service. Fantastic pool area. Best bar in town . A location that can't be beat at the north end of Playa del Carmen just off of 5th Ave. The perfect place to stay in Playa del Carmen. The big guy tried to put these guys under there thumb, but they wouldn't stand for it. Kudos to them for taking u p the task. Some of the best margaritas in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sask_Bluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I’m planning a return trip to Playa del Carmen & I just realized that I need to give Luna blue a review that’s LONG overdue! My boyfriend & I traveled to Playa Del Carmen last May and we spent the first part of the trip at the lovely Luna blue. This is a charming boutique hotel that’s located in the heart of Playa, half a block from 5th avenue and 3 or 4 blocks from the beach. The minute you enter the property you feel like you’re transported to a jungle paradise. There are lush gardens & palapas and the best bar ever with swings instead of barstools!! The pool is refreshing and a great place to relax just steps from your room. The room itself was perfect! It was huge with a kitchen and two beds. We cooked breakfast in the kitchen almost every day, which saved us quite a bit of money!
Now of course a review of the Luna Blue would not be complete without mentioning the SPECTACULAR SERVICE!! I started communicating with the owners, Tony & Cheri, via TripAdvisor before we even booked. We started communicating in the forum and they were very helpful in answering any question I had about the hotel and PDC. It was great to finally meet them as they introduced us to their lovely hotel! We really felt at home. The entire staff was super helpful from housecleaning to the front desk and of course Jorge @ the bar who makes amazing margaritas with a big smile! We really did have the best time here and I can’t recommend it enough!!!
On a side note I have to mention that we spent the second half of our trip at an all-inclusive about 40 minutes outside of Playa. It was a beautiful resort with many pools and restaurants & gardens etc, but we missed The Luna Blue and Playa Del Carmen almost immediately! Big commercial resorts just don’t compare with the coziness & wonderful personal service we received at this hotel!
Thanks again Toni & Cheri! We'll be staying with you again soon ☺

Room Tip: We loved our suite with a kitchen!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roxstar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed as a couple for one night only (sadly), and have only good things to say. It certainly lives up to all the positive and helpful info provided on website and on booking. Great place, great surroundings, great location, great service (thanks to Alex especially). Delicious breakfast cake too!

Just a note for those considering it, we made the trip north to the Grand Coral Beach club (one of the free beach club arrangements the Luna Blue has) and loved it. We tried Mamita's first which was great too but because it was the afternoon already we got beds but no umbrellas available- was too hot for us, and very busy in general (although some prefer that, I know- each to their own!). The Grand Coral was a completely different experience- Caribbean paradise, pretty secluded beach with small pools too plus great food/bar service at hand (slightly pricey but still only standard London prices). The taxi cost us 100 MXN there (but he wasn't sure where it was when he agreed to it!), but 140 back as this is apparently the set price for a call-out back from here. You might be able to haggle this in advance if you speak Spanish (we don't). Either way was still worth it for us.

Hope this helps someone. Back to Luna Blue- stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beck0york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Exceeded my expectations. I;m one of those travelers that doesn't particularly like staying in resorts, or international "branded" hotels; I like smaller hotels like Luna Blue.
On the night I arrived, almost three hours late, I was greeted by Alex as I walked in the door. I gave him my name and he immediately pulled out the paperwork which was all completed with the exception of my home contact information. He briefly explained the hotels facilities, the surrounding area, and activities that he, or any member of the staff would help arrange. When we were finished at the desk he took me to my room and gave me the normal room tour and again welcomed me.
One of the first things I noticed every morning was the sound of birds singing outside my window. The open garden is home for many birds that like to sing every morning as well as shade protecting a lot of the pool from the afternoon sun.
How did Luna Blue exceed my expectations, their facilities were always clean and tidy. The staff was professional, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about things to do locally as well as excursions. The owners, Tony and Cheri take a personal interest in their staff and quests alike. The cost is lower than the larger hotels and resorts. And the location is ideal, for those that want to be involved in the action on Calle 5 (the main tourist strip) yet far enough for those that want to relax without having a lot of noise
Would I return to or recommend Luna Blue, short answer to both is yes.

Mike
Travel Thru My Eyes, Let's GO!!!
Have fun, travel safe

Room Tip: Visit their website directly for reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike-TTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a cute little bed and breakfast type hotel with a great location with American owners. Funny how these web sites search engines do NOT pull it up as available, but they will show dozens of other suggested hotels (all higher priced.) Recommend contacting the hotel directly.

Room Tip: Contact your travel agent or hotel direct to find available rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank IslandgirlKS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somonauk, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This review is a little over due as we stayed at the Luna Blue over the Christmas holidays (Dec 24-28). We have always stayed at all-inclusives when visiting the PDC/Riviera Maya area and decided that we wanted the "in town" experience this visit. We are happy that we decided to do that...there are too many beach clubs, bars and restaurants in town to explore and the LB is the perfect place to have as your "home base"!
We LOVED the quaintness of the LB...small and "no frills", but offers everything you need just steps away from the action of 5th Ave! The staff truly make this hotel...everyone is very friendly and helpful and we appreciate their efforts.
Would we return? You bet! Hopefully sooner versus later! A big thank you to all who made our visit enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mswild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We enjoyed the Luna Blue again in January, and previously last March of 2012. The Luna Blue continues to set the standard for Boutique Hotels in the area for customer service, price, and overall quality of our stay. We enjoyed a new room, #21, which is a kitchenette room on the ground floor level and we enjoyed it thoroughly! I think we've had the opportunity to stay in 12 different rooms and we would stay in any of them again!
Perfect location in the growing north end of Playa for quick walks to the beach (5 minutes from lounge chair to the lobby), restaurants and Mega and Walmart for groceries, etc.Perfect!
On our first Sunday there was a gathering of the local music talent for a special Playa All-stars pool party. Lovely setting by the pool and in the courtyard for an acoustic, laid back afternoon!

We cannot say enough good things about each and every stay here, and cannot wait until we reach the Luna Blue again. There's just a quality of enjoyment that is hard to state in words when we walk into the courtyard and the ambiance of this hotel begins to envelope us, and quickly get us into a relaxed state of familiarity, like going home to see family you haven't seen in a while.
The best thing you can do for an excellent Riviera Maya experience, is book this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#88 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#75 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
838 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#69 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
667 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing