We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great last-minute trip to Luna Blue”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #88 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another great last-minute trip to Luna Blue”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Booked a last-minute trip to Playa and had another great stay at Luna Blue. From check-in with Alex to check-out at 4:30 in the morning the day of my departure, everything was very relaxing. The staff is so very friendly and accommodating. The man (not Mario, but forgot his name) on night duty the day of my very, very early morning departure made sure I was up and ready to go for my ride to the airport by 4:00 a.m.

Spent a full day reading by their gorgeous and relaxing pool area. So peaceful. I really could have sat down there by the pool every day of my stay because it is just such a relaxing and beautiful environment that Tony and Cheri have created there.

And, of course, can't forget hanging with Jorge, the bartender, in the evenings. Such a genuinely great person!

Thanks, Luna Blue, for another wonderful trip to Playadise! We will see you soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliebenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in Sept prior to our son's wedding. Alex at the desk couldn't have been more helpful. Jorge, the fabulous bartender, gave us a great tip on a restaurant that we all loved...La Pesca near Mega. Lovely atmosphere, reasonable prices and great good. Luna Blue feels like you are in the middle of the jungle...lovely trees and birds chirping. The pool was so refreshing with the 100% humidity. We had a room with a kitchenette and lots of space for 3 people. It is very simple but nice and quiet and steps from crazy 5th Ave yet we didn't hear any noise from that. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank svh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great ambiance. Very central location, just off the main pedestrian zone. Loved the sweet breads in the morning, the margaritas and the pool. The bar and music at night on some evenings might be an issue if you're planning to get to sleep early the next day. We will definately come back to Luna Blue when we come back to playa.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good, Tree house rooms in the back have a great view and are more shielded from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachcomber311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Luna Blue hotel was a great hotel to stay in for my trip to Mexico! My room had everything you could possibly need, big comfy beds, a small kitchen a clean cozy bathroom and a cute little porch. The pool was beautiful and aqua and surrounded by beautiful plant life and comfy chairs... and the bar was right next to it! Every day that I arrived back in my room it was freshly cleaned and my towels were replaced and creatively shaped into flowers or seals or whatever inspired the maid and placed on the bed. Absolutely adorable! Very fun to see what the towels were going to be every day! They had plenty of brochures for attractions down at the desk as well and paper slips to rent free beach chairs when you made the 5 minute walk to the beach. Overall my stay at this hotel was uncomparably amazing and definitely will not be my last!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blownupdollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Well-located property just off the main pedestrian-only street 5th Ave., this well-miantianed hotel has large rooms and comfortable beds in air-conditioned kitchenettes. The walk to the beach is short and the hotel has arrangements with the various beach establishments - free beach chair and umbrellas, a must have in the blazing sun. The bar and small, deep blue pool are refreshing. The breakfast is simple; if you want more, just walk around the corner onto 5th Ave which abounds with restaurant options. Alex and the rest of the staff are super helpful and provide practical advice and guidance to the local eateries and activities. The only downside is that nighttime music can be heard from the lounge/bar and the local pubs. All in all, excellent value and I would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: Very nice rooms and comfortable beds, all well-located and equipped with excellent air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sierra009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Luna Blue is a great, economical boutique hotel in the north end of 5th avenue. This property is NOT a luxury hotel nor does it claim to be. The rooms are rustic and will have some wear and tear around the edges. During our stay everything worked and we were very comfortable for seven days.

Our room had an AC unit and a fridge that worked very well for us. We had a semi private balcony that was nice and was decorated to remind you of where you are. The bathroom was clean but our shower head had buildup (this is common as Playa has VERY hard water). We had fun treating it like a puzzle to get the water to come out right. The beds are very firm so be aware of that. Ours was a decent mattress on a wooden frame sans boxspring.

The staff are all great and will go out of their way to help with any issues or questions you have. One of the benefits of the Luna Blue is the small hotel bar that brings in local expats every Tuesday and Thursday for the Mike Grabow show. Mike is a great singer/musician who has accompaning guitarists Eric on Thursdays and Victor on Thursdays. Another bonus is teh new swimming pool that stays warm and inviting all day/night and has plenty of shade throughout the day. Very relaxing spot to wind down the day or wash the heat off.

As others have mentioned, the Luna Blue is in a fantastic spot that allows yout to walk to hundreeds of great bars, resturants and beach clubs within 10 minutes. Keep in mind you also get free access to five beach clubs for free which is a great added value.

I would highley recommend this hotel to anyone that is not expecting a luxury resort. For the price I think it is one of the best in Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shivors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked here based on location and the reviews of tripadvisor.
Location was fantastic because it is right off 5th ave and close to the best beach ever, Mamitas!
The staff is what makes this experience wonderful!
Jorges and Alex were super, made it all worth while !!
The hotel itself is lovely. Lots of tropical greens around.
It isn't modern. Very typical Mexican feel to it.
I would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone who doesn't want a resort and who doesn't need a tv !!!

Room Tip: Tip the maids every day, they are amazing. And you can trust that your belongings will never go miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SerenityPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#89 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing