We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with a great atmosphere!”
Review of Hostel Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Playa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hostel with a great atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend had stayed here a few years ago, hence why we stayed here together this time, and I wasn't disappointed. The hostel has so much character! It has a big common area with lots of tables, hammocks inside and out and even a big double bed to laze around in, and the whole place has a really laid back and friendly vibe. The dorm we stayed in was spacious and had full size lockers with padlocks provided and separate bathrooms for mujeres and hombres in the room.
The staff are really friendly and welcoming and the place is super clean - the staff even make your beds up every day. There is some noise at night though this doesn't come from within the hostel itself. We preferred the location, which is a couple of blocks off the noisy main strip, and only 10 mins walk from the bus station. Would definitely stay here again, I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    48
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
2
29
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place had a good vibe to it during the day but when I get a hostel it's more about having a place to drop my stuff and be able to come back to and sleep when I'm done playing. The staff was nice enough, not overly helpful or knowledgeable, but friendly. I chose it because it said it was away from the night life. It might be away from the night life but right as was ready for bed (I'm not a late night party-er) around 11pm they music would get turned up and change to awful, wall-thumping, bass only music. about every 30 minutes until about some time around 2am, it would get turned up even more. I was squirming in my bed with my head screaming from the thumping, awful music. Unless you are here as a group that intends to stay up until 2am with migraine inducing music, this is not the place for you.
The good: there was plenty of space for food. Two fridges, 3 camp stoves with 2 burners each. close to beach.
The ok: showers and bathrooms are okay.
The bad: the NOISE. breakfast is included, but it's really just bread slices with one bag of cereal for everyone to share. When it's gone, it's gone. the NOISE. the beds are pretty rough, with the pillows being worse, even by hostel standards. SOOOOO loud (only at night).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aietrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed there for a couple of nights and the service was great and the breakfast included fruit. But the sleep wasn't that good as there was curtains into the rooms and the music was a bit loud until it was turned off at around midnight.
But the people were friendly and a well equiped clean kitchen, close to the supermarket and at a low budget

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BABitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've been there in 2011 and I loved it. First of all this hostel is very cheap, above all if you compare it with the other accomodations of playa del carmen (and when I was there, there was also a special offer pay 3 nights and get the 4th one for free). You can choose between private rooms or shared dormitories (male/female). The bedrooms are simple but clean. The breakfast is included, there is water for free and the kitchen is very well equipped. Opposite the hostel you can find walmart, where you can buy everything you need! The staff is very friendly and helpful. At the reception you can ask also for tours and they can book them for you. The common area is huge and there you can find sofa, amacas and also a big size bed where you can listen to the music, read a book (there is a small library too), watch TV (you can rent a DVD at the reception) and use the free Wi-fi. The location is great, five minutes away from the beach and the 12th street where you can go out (you can find there most of the clubs of playa del carmen). The two bus station are very closed and also the minibus station, the local transportation. In the hostel I met a lot of nice people, it was very easy to make friendship with other travellers. Well, it's the perfect place for backpackers!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel six nights and it was great!
Met awesome people and the staff was incredibly nice!
The hostel is located right in front of the Walmart and 5 minutes walk from the beach!
great hostel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmaattaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Love this hostel. Staff were friendly, showers were really hot. Clean rooms, great sociable area but the party is stopped at 12ish 1am so people who want to sleep can. Near the beach. The owner is hilarious! met loads of cool people. Got free breakfast and it's opposite the big walmart so you can easily cook your own food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luwandersaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Excellent location five mins walk to the beach and wal-mart next door. 2mins walk to where all the bars are. Really loved the atomosphere, the common area is huge and the kitchen is equipped with everything you need. Also got a BBQ area outside. Found it really easy to meet other travellers. Everywhere is very clean, especially the bathrooms and dorms. You have large individual lockers in your room and the padlock is provided which was really useful. Reception were very useful, they recommended a dive shop and we were able to get a 10% discount there through the hostel. we ended up heading to Tulum and then returning to stay in Hostel playa for longer as we liked it so much.
One of the best hostels I stayed in in central america.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#74 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Playa

Property: Hostel Playa
Address: Avenida 25, Norte 8 | Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostel Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Playa, is a nice youth hostel in Playa del Carmen, near Cancun and Tulum. The best low budget accomodation in the Riviera Maya. Its located in the heart of Playa del Carmen near the beach and the stores of the 5th Avenue. Located just in front of the main plaza and close of everything (bus station, food market, etc). This gives the Best Value rooms with the best ambience because of the people from all over the world staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hostel Playa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing