We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, simple, clean and affordable with a friendly english-speaking staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Ranked #107 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient, simple, clean and affordable with a friendly english-speaking staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I've stayed at Hotel Coco Rio the last two times I've been to Playa Del Carmen. It's conveniently located just off of 5th Ave. and further north than the busier and noisier part of 5th ave. It is also a short walk to Mamita's beach club which is a great place to hang out on the beach. It's also closer to a lot of the restaurants that I prefer. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and speak English very well. They responded back to my emails quickly and were very helpful. If you want to book a room with them, email them directly to their email address and you may be able to save some money rather than booking it online.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    111
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
142
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

I booked 2 nights at the Coco Rio based on reviews here but I will never stay there again.

The good...
The layout of the hotel is quite nice. Lots of trees, nice little courtyard, hammock outside my room.
The room is very clean and the bed is comfy.
Good location at the end of 5th ave.

The BAD...

I asked for a late checkout of 8pm in my booking note and again when I arrived. Despite that, on my last day, I was told that my request had disappeared. Coincidentally, they needed my room for another guest who decided to stay longer. So they booted me very quickly to make more off someone else and I had to go pay a full night at a hotel across the street.

I asked them to arrange an airport shuttle (which their info says they do) and all of a sudden their english got worse. There is no way you work in playa and don't know the words Airport Shuttle. Terrible service.

The room had NO HOT WATER. They told me to let it run for 10 minutes. After 20 minutes it was barely tepid with no pressure. The key for my door only worked when it wanted to, often leaving me fiddling for 5+ minutes. The tv remote didn't work either.

For $100 us per night, this place is a total rip-off. I went across the street and got a better room with better service for $65us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaySchwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Coco Rio Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank’s to Trip Advisor that allow us to replay.
The gentleman spend 2 nights at our hotel; he is complying about a late check out of 8.00 pm. We do not promise if we can not do it, beside that his booking note did not say anything about request of late check out as you can see here attached.
Our web page and hotels.com explain the exactly check in (15:00 hrs) and check out time (12:00 hrs); we try to do our best to please our guest when is possible of course, even if we have a private bathroom with shower and a room where to store luggages and private belongings only available for guest that have a late flight to go home ..
It is convenient for us to sell airport shuttle and tours when guest ask for it , but the gentlemen never ask about this service.
We had problems before with hot water pressure but we solved it already months ago with a new circulating hot water system that works very well… It seems that the gentlemen was very upset, because he could not get the room free until 8.00 pm and he had to pay another hotel , but we really apologias for this..in height season as we are now with full occupancy, it is really impossible to do it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I was visiting for 10 days for the BPM music festival and I was always happy to come home to my junior suite. It really felt like coming home. Perfect location! Everything is so so close, you are right at the corner of the 5th street which is THE street of shope, restau, bar, massage ($30/h) and 5 minute to the beautiful sea and one of the coolest spot on the beach "Kool Beach Club/Restau

The service was excellent and always with a smile. The room (very good square ft.) was very clean, lots of light. I felt in love. . . with Blanca, the hotel cat who graced me her presence everyday.

Next door you have a fabulous Italian patisserie. The only thing I would be aware as a traveler for this hotel and location is that you will have music and noise until late at night. But hey, you are on vacation and you can sleep when you return home :)
Joke aside, if you are a light sleeper, than this area (along and near the 5th) will not be for a good location for you.

Coco Rio is now my official home away from home. I am there in spirit already!
A very happy customer and friend.
N

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineLove40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

This little hotel was a pleasant surprise. I would say it is the cleanest hotel I have stayed in. Nice large room with balcony. Beautiful courtyard and nice private sunning deck. Nice location close to the beach and on a side street so it is not directly on 5th Ave. There is music next door on Wed and Fri but it is over by 11PM .Plenty of places to eat close by. Best internet connection is outside but plenty of outside tables and seating.
We stayed a week and would stay again next time we are in Mexico. Very nice friendly cat named Blanca . We got quite attached to her!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speonk NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed for 7 nights and loved this hotel. Near Mamitas Beach and away for the noise. Would differently stay there again. Price was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artful99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW US
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Coco Rio for 2 nights. We've traveled to this area for the last eight years and thought the location was great being on the quiet end of town. The hotel is just off 5th street for easy access to restaurants and the beach. I don't remember the name of the restaurant on the corner but they had very good food and is very close to Coco Rio. The staff at this small, pleasant hotel were very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend the Coco RIo for short stays in Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWUSBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at the Coco Rio for $80 american a night all taxes included. The room was spacious with large doors that opened up to a small balconey with chairs on it overlooking the streeet. Room was a executive with 2 double beds, Kitchenette and really cool bathroom. This hotel also has a hammock and sitting room in every level of rooms that look out onto the inner courtyard. A small hotel of not more than 30 rooms that are set really neat around the courtyard. The rooms are very clean and spacious, front desk spoke fluent English. It is situated on the North end of 5th street on Playa Del Carma and quiet. Beside it is the Luna Hotel which is rated around the top 10 places to stay in Playa but twice as expensive and I believe no better. Only complaint was water pressure for showers but on second day it improved for whatever reason. I would stay there again. The Luna Hotel beside has a lounge and live music which plays until around 11 pm. If you are going to bed earlier ask for room away from the lounge which butts up against one side of the Coco Rio Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldevost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#116 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#120 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unic Design Hotel
Unic Design Hotel
#129 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#87 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#152 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Rio Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Rio Playa del Carmen

Property: Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Address: Calle 26 no 125 | Entre 5ta y 10a Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Rio Playa del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coco Rio Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Coco Rio
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing