We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roberto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #35 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Roberto”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The entire experience was very good, especially the food. In the resort you can really have a nice vacation and relax. Maybe the hotel can improve some details like the pool and the capacity of some of the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juan Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,924
    2,109
    645
    248
    148
See reviews for
580
6,191
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had an amazing time here! Things were pretty smooth from airport to resort. I don't recommend going for the breakfast at the sister resort but I do recommend their room service. Waking up late every morning and calling down to room service and hearing the excitement in their voice as you place your order is pretty cool. We also had a VERY special treatment by spending $30/bottle of wine for 4 of our 7 nights there. Though the all-inclusive part is fun too, by buying these bottles we were able to have 2 exclusive dinners (one being right next to the pool for the aqua show) and 2 completely private dinners. These were probably the highlight of our trip. After our aqua show dinner, the following night we had a private dinner in the wine cellar at Portofino's. Make sure you ask for Antonio, he will give you the hook up. We also met Ivan who is the restaurant manager for the resort, he set us up with our following exclusive dinner at Oceana, only 10 couples were part of this 12 course meal in which you meet and watch the chef cook your meals. At that dinner we met a waiter named May, who is very enthusiastic about Mexican wine and will give you a historical background of it. He invited us for a completely private dinner on the deck looking over the beach (for free). The chef prepared a special meal for us that was some of the best Grouper we have ever had!
Basically we would recommend this to ANYONE! Enjoy the service and the kind atmosphere. I love that they all recognized us and knew us by name at the end of the trip.

Room Tip: Pool or ocean suite is by far worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you are looking for a place to go where you can leave all your responsibilities and worries behind, this is the place to go! My husband and I were fortunate enough to leave the kids with grandparents and fully take advantage of the pure relaxation and serenity Secrets Capri has to offer. We were catered to and taken care of by the superb staff and we took full advantage of the spa's massage treatments and very interesting hydrotherapy circuit.
I can not remember having a vacation that was more relaxing...this was simply one of the best escapes we have taken and even after two weeks from returning home, I am still partially in Mexico...it's very difficult to just let go and return to reality! Amazing place!

Room Tip: Would definitely choose an ocean view room as opposed to a garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lbierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California sur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Excellent people
Excellent services
Excellent location and excellent entertainment with Alex Juarez and the best manager Christopher Payne ever.
Olso I want to mention Jose Luis ,hector human resources and everyone ther who made my vacation the best with my girlfriend .....thanks all of you guys and see you soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pentago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at secrets capri from aug 10-14. We travel often however This was our first time to Mexico and our first stay at a secrets resorts. The ride to and from the airport was not bad. Manipulating through the airport wasn't either (even though we heard a few people were stopped and offered services). We went right outside and found the Olympus rep who took us to their van area. I enjoyed the transfer as there vans only held about 10 ppl which was nice. Once we arrived to the resort we were welcomed with a cool towel, glass of champagne and a bottle of water. We checked in and when I asked if our tropical view room had a king bed I was disappointed to hear no (especially since our travel agent requested it when we booked months ago). We went with tropical view bc the ocean view was a lot more expensive during booking. They told us they may be able to switch us to a room with a king bed the next day but that wasn't something we wanted to do. We asked what the cost would be to upgrade to a room with a king bed. We were told that was an ocean view and would be $50 (us) a night, which ended up being cheaper than what the rates were when we booked. So we asked where the ocean view room would be as I've read their can be pretty bad view. The room she showed on the map was right in the middle of the resort so we agreed knowing the view would be great and it was. I've read ppl complaining about being in a room atop the red roof but that wasn't a problem for us especially since you could lay in the amazingly comfortable bed and see the ocean!!! After checkin we met with the person to tell us about the resort, which as we expected turned into them trying to get us to go their sister property for a timeshare talk. We said no thank you and weren't bothered about that again. We were taking up to our room then to settle in and begin vacation! Our room had a nice bathroom (very little privacy so be prepared for that...there are shaded doors for the shower an toilet but a wooden curtain to the bedroom so you can hear and see almost everything done in the bathroom), small sitting area, balcony with sitting area, comfy king bed and entrainment stand (most tv stations are in Spanish...mini fridge had an assortment of drinks both alcoholic and non alcoholic but no snacks-however there is 24 hr room service).
The only restaurant requiring reservations was habachi which was so delicious and as expected from previous reviews unbelievable hot (kudos to those working there bc it was hot!!) however we were given cool towels to help keep us cool while eating! That turned into one of our best evenings there as we had two great couples we set with and some interesting convos to help :-)
The other outstanding meal we had (which we paid extra for) was the private dinner on the beach. The staff are so attentive and the food was amazing. One of the waiters, Hugo (who was absolutely beyond amazing...can't say enough great things about him) actually delivered our room service that morning and still remembered our names and that we were there for 4 yr anniversary. (They must work long hrs as room service was at 6:30am and our dinner started at 7:30pm). For the romantic dinner they take lots of photos for you which is a nice memory. We had salad, soup, fillet and lobster and desert as well as a bottle of champagne. I declined the clam soup but was given multiple options which was very nice as it wasn't part of the menu. It was the night of the aquatic show so we got to enjoy the saxophone player while we ate (extra romantic and a nice unplanned touch).
We had room service three times...once as our anniversary champagne breakfast, the second before we left early for an excursion and lastly as a late night snack...all were extremely delicious.
We at eat the restaurant by the ocean a few times and loved the nachos and pork toquitas...they also will deliver your good to ur beach/pool lounger if you request. We also tried the seaside grill for lunch one day but weren't too impressed. We ate dinner at the buffet one night and that was ok...typical buffet-not too large but enough food. We also ate at portofino...my husband had duck which was amazing and I had beef tenderloin which was ok. Breakfast buffet was very yummy with lots of options!
Drinks were delicious and always available. I recommend the choco mint if you like "girly" drinks and frozen Irish cream coffee from the coffee shop.
The shows we saw were good...the entertainment staff work all day and night with the same amount of energy from dawn to the wee hours of the morning. The illusionist was fun, rock show was engaging and tons of fun and from what we could see at the beach the aquatic show was good as well (heads up there is an outdoor dinner buffet for that show and to get a front row table you need to buy a bottle of wine from my understanding).
We did one excursion tulum/turtles,which I'll review under Mayan discoveries, that was awesome!!!!
The beach was small and seaweed was an issue but staff work all day to clear it but it's hard to stay in front of. Water isn't very clear which I personally don't like bc I wanna see what I'm swimming with (morning is better than afternoon for water clarity in my opinion). Pool was great and we never had problems finding loungers on the beach or near the pool.
Overall, it was a great vacation!!! Friendly staff, great food (most of the time), yummy drinks. I would recommend this resort as it's small and you feel that the staff goes above and beyond to ensure you have an awesome time!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinak1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Just to ensure readers here are
places we have stayed in the past 4 years:
Moon palace
El dorado
Leblanc

I want to try and cover everything so viewers can have a full understanding of the resort. Let's start with the GOOD.
Good: The menu has food allergies and calories listed for each meal. Drinks are good BUT they only use top shelf liquor when requested. The entertainment staff was pretty good, during the day and night. For example: different themes each day, movies outside every night. I like that every menu had a variety of options, they had vegetarian options as well. Good spa experience, but try and bargain for a deal. We were offered a Swedish massage for $199 per person and mid week we caught a deal for less than that for two people. The resort is very small, easy to remember how to get around. The cafe, was a diamond in the rough! Great coffee and sandwiches and small treats through out the day.
Check in was ok, Had an issue with our first room, they gave us a room with double beds ( Full size) I thought this was pretty strange for a COUPLES resort, anyway the beds were too small and we requested another room with a king size bed, they changed the rooms with no issues.

Bad: The entire week it appeared the resort was short staffed, waiting for a restaurant at dinner was a mess. We were told 45-50 minutes at times. Which is weird because they do not require reservations except for the Japanese hibachi. When you finally get inside the restaurant EVERYTHING takes awhile, 20 minute wait before your order is taken or bread placed on the table. One night it took 2 1/2 hours to complete our meal, we spent so much time waiting! Everyone seemed rushed. Again compared to other resorts, service was mediocre. Nothing special. There is no mini bar in the rooms, their version of a mini bar is a small fridge with sprite, cokes and corona beers. In my opinion if there is no alcohol it shouldn't be listed as a mini bar.

Ugly: They had roaches on the property and in our room. THIS was a huge problem for us, again we busted Mexico previously and never had an issue with bugs. The AC or (lack of AC) system needs to be fixed ASAP. It was hot EVERYWHERE. At night I woke up sweating, the restaurants have little to no air circulation. It was bad. This is Mexico, on any given day it can feel like 100 degrees easily. So to have no AC with that heat is brutal! This really ruined the trip for me, I was ready to leave on day 4 of a seven day vacation. And PLEASE keep this in mind for the hibachi, we were sweating the entire time! There is also an issue with Mosquitos, we were bitten very badly and at night we had to use the sheets for help, so with limited AC circulation it was a recipe for a heat stroke. Waiting at the restaurants became a quick plot to sell their wines for quick seating, not only was there a 45-50 wait at restaurants, BUT, if you bought a bottle of wine off their wine list, you were seated immediately! Oh and it gets better you have to purchase a minimum of $40! Lastly, the decor of the whole facility including spa needs an upgrade. Tiles missing, dirty pool sidings, spa had bugs in hydrotherapy pool, the list goes on.

Cool tips, feeding turtles in the am was a great feature.
Entertainment at night is pretty good, def make time to check it out

All in all, I would not return to THIS resort, but I would consider a secrets with higher ratings. In my opinion there are other resorts with better service, food, no Mosquitos , no extra charge for wine , no wait times, just better all around period. Very confused on how this resort received 2014 award if excellence

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank bionca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Secrets Capri for our wedding! We had an amazing experience while we were there. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect week and wedding day! I was really nervous about having 30 people fly down to a resort that I had never been too, but it was amazing!! I had no complaints from any of the guests and there was always something going on during the day and night! The beach and ocean are really nice and you can walk right into the ocean without stepping on something.
The one thing that I wish we could have gotten was an ocean front room. Since it was our wedding week and we were supposed to get an upgrade with the wedding package we chose, but I guess there was not a room available. That would really be my only "complaint" for my stay!
I would defiantly recommend this resort if you are planning a wedding or having a group of people going on vacation!

Room Tip: I would defiantly try to get an ocean view room because the other rooms you look out at trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,830 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,882 reviews
18.4 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jetsetter, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing