We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect size resort with great service & entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #38 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Perfect size resort with great service & entertainment”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

As UVC members, we've had multiple experiences as Secrets resorts. Secrets Capri did not disappoint.

The Property: We read a number of reviews indicating that the property is in need of significant renovation. We did not find that to be the case, although if you made it your mission to find some areas that could use a bit of work you would likely be successful. While we were there we saw painters working on the outside of the Oceana building by the pool as well as remodeling of the restrooms. We were told by a front desk person that the resort was going to receive much more renovation over the next year. That said, we found the property to be in generally good shape.

The Pool & Beach: There is a beach area, but it is small due to erosion. They are working all up and down the beach (at every resort) to try to save and rebuild the beach. The pool area was great ... the pool is large enough, there are plenty of lounge chairs/cushions/towels, the food & drink service is very frequent and friendly. We had Orlando many days during our stay and he was attentive and enjoyable to talk to. We also enjoyed the music around the pool ... not too loud and mostly 70's-90's top-40/pop.

The Entertainment: There is entertainment available all day (and night) long. You are left a schedule each night in your room when they do your turndown service. There is no pressure to participate in the entertainment, but it is almost a certainty that you will find yourself doing some of the activities ... and it's fun. There is yoga, water aerobics, beach walks, bike rides, water bingo and blackjack, dart tournaments, and the list goes on. There are also activities around the pool such as Spanish lessons, sushi making, guacamole making, tequila tasting, and competitive poker ($20 entry fee, winner takes all). Victor and Jonathan were a blast, and Eric and BMW were also fun. The nighttime entertainment was pretty good overall ... the comedian was hilarious, the 70's rock night fun, the Perfect Couple game totally crazy. The fire show was OK. We missed the acrobatic show, but it looked like it would have been good (we thought it was at 9:30 like the previous few nights, but it was actually at 8:30 ... oops).

The Food & Drink: Some was very good, some was OK, and none was really bad. There was some inconsistency in the food. For example, one night we had dinner at Oceana and the salmon was excellent ... so much so that we went back about 3 nights later to have it again, but this time it was not very good (maybe a different chef that night?). The Barefoot Grill and Cactus Club (very casual, right next to the beach) were both quite good. The tenderloin taquitos are excellent as was the corn on the cob cooked on the charcoal grill. You will not go thirsty no matter what you want ... bottled water to premium drinks ... they have it all. There are daily drink specials (both alcoholic and virgin).

As others have mentioned, a few dollars tip here and there is appreciated but not overtly expected. We left housekeeping a tip each day and the room was well kept, with some special touches such as towel animals, extra towels and other toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shaving cream, a razor, toothpaste were all on the bathroom counter). We generally left $5 dollars at dinner and also $5 or so for service during the day around the pool. Not a lot of money to us, but it can add up for the locals and they work very hard ... rarely would 15 minutes pass without someone walking through our area looking to see if we needed anything ... they won't bother you if you still have a drink and don't stop them.

Miscellaneous: There is free wi-fi and calls to the U.S. which was very helpful ... both worked well. If you don't bring a laptop or iPad, you can use there computers in the business center to check email or whatever for free. There was a safe in the closet and we had no issues with anything missing. We had dinner on the beach our last night, and while a bit expensive, it was very well done and we enjoyed it very much (it was very windy, which we were told is always the case) ... the lobster was excellent. We did the dinner when they had Mexican night by the pool, which meant we got to have the live music in the background while we ate. The spa prices are very high so we passed on that this time, but we did hear positive comments from other guests about their spa experience.

In sum, Secrets Capri is what a vacation should be!!

Room Tip: We did have a room (536) on the 5th floor near the disco, which wasn't a big issue but I would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing us and for sharing such wonderful moments.

It definitely reads that you had much fun and you got the chance to spend a great time. We have to say we proudly have wonderful people working with us.

We will make sure we will share this with all our staff, this is what makes everyone at Capri continue doing a great job and exceed expectations. We hope the memories you created during vacation stay in your mind and hearts for many years to come!

Or until next trip!

Warm regards,

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-concierge
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,139
    2,175
    674
    267
    156
See reviews for
615
6,441
134
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,380)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I were at Secrets Capri Mar 15 -22. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary. We were upgraded to an partial ocean/pool room , which was a very nice touch. The food was awesome. Loved the beach and beach service. I did feel sick on our last day, not sure what it was from because my husband and I both eat and drank most of the same things and he wasn't sick. The entertainment was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Mariel at the lounge bar was awesome. All the staff at the resort are professionals. Thank you for a prefect vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for the great comments. We do our best to accommodate your needs and expectations.

All reviews are welcome; we respect and take into consideration all your comments. It is part of the process of improving and generating better ideas. We appreciate the time to stop by and leave your comments.

We hope you consider visiting us again in the near future.

Regards,

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Secrets Capri Riviera Maya is Top Notch in Everyway! The Staff is Superb! The Entertainment and Food&Beverage Staff is The Best!! Favorites Are: Alejandro:Head of Entertainment is Just The Best&OverAll Incredible, &, The Entertainment Staff Member Hosting Daily 3pm Pool Bar Bingo is Fantastic, & Orlando, Luis & Lucas went beyond Our Expectations at The Pool Bar!!! Restaurants Fabulous! The Hotel Rooms are Luxurious! Entertainment & Recreation Variety Provided was Spectacular! Beach is Beautiful! Easy Access to All! Can't Wait to Go Back!!! If I had to say any negative, I was bummed out that Our Maid Did Not Provide Us 'with A Towel Critter', not even once, &, I was looking forward to that so very much! &, our maid service forgot our Coffee packets everyday... &, The Beach could use more Umbrella Spots w/Lounger Seats, plenty of space for this great addition for patrons. Secrets Capri Riviera Maya, (Cancun) Mexico is A True Paradise!!! We Miss It Already & Look Forward to Staying there again, the sooner the better!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Firts of all thank you for taking the time to spread positive word of mouth about your recent stay. We truly appreciate it and wish to say we keep working to improve our services. Our staff is under constant motivation practices to insure them a great place to work.

We see you have enjoyed all the areas of our resort, we hope you continue to visit us.

Should you need future assistance please contact us.

Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We keep coming back. Food is good and the staff.is absolutely wonderful! We are afraid to try a different place because we like this so much! This is the fifth year in a row we have stayed here and will probably come back next year. We love it!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary5182014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear valued guest.

We are honored to have you for another trip this year and hopefully it won't be the last as you mention. Thank you for choosing us and for letting us be your home away from home in Mexico. Our staff will be more than glad to read your comments, it is a very special part of our job to know how good we are doing. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Best regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Highly recommended. The staff bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect. And they did. Everything was wonderful. The only complaint was everything outside shut down early. We would have enjoyed sitting around the outside bar at night

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annlokuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear valued guest.

Thank you for choosing Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun. We wish to thank you for leaving your review and for choosing us to be your host. We are a very proud team doing a great job to help make excellent experiences.

We hope that you return in the near future, it would be a pleasure to have you.

Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Fantastic 2 weeks at this charming, Colonial looking Hotel. Spotlessly clean. Beautiful spacious interiors with attention to detail Very attractive and well kept grounds. Stunning food + premium drinks. Fabulous, helpful + happy staff. Gorgeous, white, sandy beach again well kept.
Great selection of Restaurants but booking system requires to be improved. Too long a wait for a table. Too many times having to eat late between 9 + 10 pm.
Room choice not clear in brochure or online. We paid for an Oceanfront room + expected to therefore look over the ocean from our balcony. We were initially given a pool view room on the ground floor = mozzies + sometimes little lizards. Moved to our 'correct' room 5 days later. Great entertainment + variety of activities for those who want to participate.

Room Tip: Floor 4 or 5 in the central block looking out over pool and straight at the ocean. Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BillandTed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear valued guest.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent trip to the Riviera Maya, we are so happy to have been you host and most of all that you enjoyed your trip very much. We appreciate you took the time to review our resort and we hope that you consider to visit us again in the near future.

On behalf of everyone at Capri we sincerely thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was the best All Inclusive experience I've had. The hotel is beautiful and very easy to make your way around. My girlfriend Angie and I miss Secrets Capri very much and would like to say hi to Alex (Alejandro) , Luis and Orlando! Thank You and !Hasta Luego¡

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nateandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest.

We are very happy that you loved your stay, it is a real pleasure to learn you had a great time with us. Hope to have you back in the near future and we invite you to keep on sharing your recent experience.

Sunny regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
2.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,403 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,406 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,596 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing