We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very fun and affordable all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #39 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicagoland area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very fun and affordable all inclusive”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was my wife and I's first visit to a Secrets resort. Previously we had stayed at 4 different Sandals about 15-18 years ago. This is a small resort- about 275-300 rooms. The room was good size and it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The food was very good- better than what I remember Sandals' food being. The staff was excellent- everyone was very polite and friendly. They help make it such a nice trip. The only draw back was that it was raining heavily most days- tropical storm type of rain. With that some of the public areas leaked water. When the carpets got wet it smelled musty in a few of the public areas. Otherwise it was a very good value. It is not the Ritz or the Four Seasons but it is clean, well appointed with an excellent staff. I will go back.

Room Tip: For a more quiet room ask for a room away from the main section. One of the wings will quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad-on-Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,058
    2,155
    664
    258
    156
See reviews for
599
6,357
128
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,363)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just back last night from Secrets and it was absolutely amazing!! Everything from the food, drinks, to the night time entertainment. The staff catered to all your needs. They were there before you even knew you needed anything! The entertainment staff was wonderful as well. Staphanie, Denisse, Jonathon, Alejandro, Victor and others were so fun to be around and kept the day filled with fun and laughter. I will defiantly recommend Secrets Capri to others!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clmadden86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.

What a pleasure to read you had a great time, we appreciate your feedback. Your comments are very well appreciated and truly important for many readers out there.

We hope you can soon return to our resort in the near future and please remember to share your excellent experience with friends and family back home.

In the pursuit of your total satisfaction we thank you again.

Best regards.

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights and despite the rain, we had a great time! We met some new friends and had a blast! We have been to Secrets Saint James in Montego Bay and were surprised that Capri was so much smaller, but that turned out to be so much fun! You couldn't miss all the activities going on around you!

The entertainment staff was a hoot - high energy and fun - especially Stephanie Vega, George, Victor and Jonathan. There was a young man from Japan and another from Hawaii and a young woman that were awesome as well, but, sadly, I can't think of their names at the moment. We played Texas Hold 'em twice - once with Victor and once with Stephanie. Took Spanish lessons with Stephanie and dance lessons with George. There was pool and beach volleyball, crazy games in the pool, bingo at the swim-up bar (where we sent a lot of time, rain or shine)! Pool aerobics was fun to watch. We laughed so hard at the comedy show and the Rock Show was fabulous, live music on the beach a couple nights, and a bonfire.

The resort was definitely not overcrowded and we never had to wait for breakfast, lunch or dinner, although all restaurants were not open every night, which is understandable. Room service was delivered quickly. The food was great and so was the service from everyone. We especially enjoyed Benito at the breakfast buffet! And Laura, who makes spectacular Irish coffee, is a must see! Juan the bartender at the swim-up bar is very entertaining - watch him remove the top from a beer can with his teeth! Pool and beach food and drink servers were very attentive. There is a barbecue poolside every day, in addition to the restaurants.

You can feed the turtles in the downstairs lobby and feed the fish at the beach. We enjoyed the iguanas and coati that roam the grounds and the monkeys they bring poolside for pics!

Every staff member, from bellmen to concierge to wait staff and maintenance, could not have been more pleasant, whether mentioned here by name or not. Thank you all for a wonderful experience! We can't wait to come back!

Thanks also to Celene! Looking forward to visiting Puerto Morelos!

Room Tip: We had Junior Suite Tropical View, first floor. Very quiet, yet easy access to beach and pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the valuable time you took to share your recent visit to our resort. It is a very unique way of letting us know you had an amazing fun time.

Our staff is one of a kind and like you mentioned, despite rain you had one great experience. I am sure that many will benefit from your lines and pick the right hotel for their next vacations.

It is simply an honor to be part of such great team, be sure that your comments are shared with all the staff and their appreciation triggers more positive service towards our guest.

Thank you again for choosing Secrets Capri.

Regards.

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortand, ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from Secrets Capri and can not wait to go back. It was fabulous!! We had been to a Secrets previously and as returning customers. they had champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and a gift (keychain) for us waiting in our room. We had booked a tropical view but we were automatically upgraded to a pool/oceanview room. The room had a canopy king size bed with robes and slippers and the bathroom was large with double sinks, shower, separate bathtub and all marble. The balcony overlooked the beautiful pool. We were in room 263, perfect location and close to our concierge. The food and service was top notch and the drinks were premium. Crown, grey goose, Bacardi, etc. Theresa, the concierge, went out of her way for my husbands birthday, with balloons in the room, gifts (bracelets,well this part was for me) a banner on the door and a special table at the Italian rest. with a cake..again fabulous. Hats off to Carlos, who was our waiter several times and went overboard to make our stay special. The entertainment team is very high energy and make everything fun. We played water blackjack and bingo in the pool. Loved the Italian rest. the steak (New York Strip), the seafood (Lunch and dinner great). We have been to at least 15 all inclusives between here and Punta cana and my favorites have been this resort and Secrets Royal Beach...be sure to try the Chocolate Martinins in the lobby bar and the tequila slammers if you want to try some shots.We will return!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the pool with oceanview perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank napes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Greetings Ohio!

Thank you for your recent feedback, we are glad the trip was of your satisfaction and that we met your expectations as a returning customer to a Secrets Brand Hotel.

I have to agree with you, our Italian restaurant is just perfect and the options there are great. When you visit us don't miss on our CoCo Cafe, it is a must for great coffee and pastries.

We hope that you continue to visit our resorts and are most welcome to return to Capri anytime. Share with family and friends, they would love to be part of the great service and quality we have to offer.

If you need any information, don't hesitate to contact us.

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Overall, we had an amazing stay at Secrets Capri from August 18th-25th.

The entertainment staff was phenomenal - they really took time to get to know you and encouraged you to particpate in all activities! Specifically, Alberto, Jonathan, Victor, Jorge, Denise, Khana and Stepahnie - ALL were top notch!! Our favorite entertainment show was the Rock Band concert - they really outdid themselves with that! Shows usually start at 9:30pm which is great because you can do a later dinner and still have time to grab a drink at the lobby bar with Daniel (who provided great service) and then go into the grand ballroom.

As for the pool - the rafts were great, except they take them in around 6pm which is a little bit early because you want to float around until the pool closes. Otherwise, the pool bar where you swam up was great, and always provided great service. Our pool server Orlando was top of the line. You were constantly asked if you needed anything and he remembered what you wanted to order. For lunch you have the options to go into a restaurant or buffett or simply have some hamburgers and hotdogs by the pool at the BBQ.

Morning was great - breakfast bufett had a crepe station, omelette station, cold and hot cereals and American and Mexican style hot breakfast. Eddie was a great server at the breakfast buffett always supplying us with enough coffee and OJ!

There is also a relaxing coffee shop in the lobby where you can grab treats or coffee until 10pm. This is a great option for a late night snack or a cup of coffee before the shows start. Moises was very attentive here and made you feel like you were at home!

The only negatives were the lighting in the room was very dim - not sure why! Our TV didn't work for the first few days, after a reminder to the front desk it was fixed. The beds were VERY comfortable and they provided bath robes and slippers for your stay!

Overall a GREAT trip and we would FOR SURE come back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 10 day honeymoon, place is brilliant. Very relaxed and chilled atmosphere. Excellent Service from reception, concierge, waiters to bar staff, all going beyond our needs. Recommend booking a beachfront suite as balcony are large with sun loungers and table and chairs -i.e breaky outdoors and soothing sea noises added to quality sleeps :-)
Pros: Everything incl. the spa & great room - really comfy bed,complementary minibar and snack food in room, bathroom style and design, great service. Friendly and warm staff. Resort facilities (ESP. Asian restaurant, teppanyaki and sushi bar)
Major pro: Hugo from room service, Teresa the concierge
Cons: a couple of leaky roofs in areas (mainly common areas) but the rain showers were major rain showers


We will stay there again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank murtdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greetings Ireland!

It is a true pleasure to come to TA and see we have exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking your time to post your recent experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback.

We do our best to maintain our hotel as clean and dry possible, these weather conditions just don't help much. Thank you for acknowledging the effort we do.

In the near future we hope that you can return and have another wonderful trip in this your home Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.

Should you need assistance please don`t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards.

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

First lets get the negatives out of the way. The property needs a new roof. When it rained there was leaking throughout the resort, had to lay towels on the ground, the ceiling drywall is patched up all around the resort. The beach is nice but for some reason the water is not turquise and is almost murky appearing at times.. big disappointment for counting on the carribean splendor we are used to in the Riviera Maya. The buildings are not immaculately maintained like you would think... some musty smells were notable. Despite all this, the staff, the food, the service,the rooms, the shows, the attitudes of all employees were outstanding. We have been to Cancun and Riviera Maya numerous times. We still had an excellent time. The Spa is wonderful, the resturants are wonderful, the room service was available 24/7 and the food was probably the best of any 4 and 5 star resorts we have stayed at. Even the shows were outstanding, especially the Rock nite. Had a great band that performed 80s-2000s music, even did some of Pink Floyds the Wall .. and built a Wall across the stage.. i was impressed... The place is kept very clean in the public areas. Free internet and free international calling from your room.. a big plus. They really make up for any short comings. I still would recommend this property, especially if you want a smaller place that is not crowded and gives Grade A service. It is all adult, no wrist bands, no reservations needed for resturants, always plenty of food and drink available, overall give it an A- If you can afford it upgrade to at least Deluxe Ocean view or Ocean Front. If the leaks and the beach scare you away the try the Maroma property .. I hear it is worth it... that will be our next trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but upgrade if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgmd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,051 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,556 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing