We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Nearby Hotels
$267
$166
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$537
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$385
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$310
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$448
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$304
$229
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$344
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$15,600
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$697
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,643)
Filter reviews
10,643 results
Traveler rating
6,966
2,443
761
298
175
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,966
2,443
761
298
175
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscactus clubseaside grilldesires barentertainment stafffloor conciergetropical viewour honeymoonpool barhydrotherapy circuitcoco cafesmaller resortromantic dinner on the beachother resortsmy pleasureitalian restaurantall inclusive resortturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
6,831 - 6,836 of 10,643 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you stayed at another secrets preferred this is not like the others (I would not even call this preferred ) just returned from a week at Capri and was greatly disappointed from check-in to food.
First you do get the towel and champagne then at check in Ariel at front check in gave us our room no decsription of hotel, room or restaurants just here is your key and your room is down the corridor and you make a left to your room , The food at the restaurants was ok with the itialian Portifino being the best the outside buffets on theme night was terrible it was like eating dog food, my husband got sick the fourth night there and could not even make it to dinner the next night

We had to call housekeeping one day because when we returned to our room at 4:00 pm our bed was not made up and we needed towels the next day we called again for turned down service

On a positive note Orlando from pool service never had us wait for a drink or food by the pool if you want top shelf liquid you just have to ask for it and you will get it

When you arrive ask for the welcome package no big deal but its pringles, m&m and three small bottles of liquor we had to ask three times for this but the third time we received it

My husband and I travel twice a year and always stay at the Secrets Resort chain we like the idea of Capri being small but did like the food or some of the service

Room Tip: we stayed in room 271 quiet and convenient to pool and restaurants
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovelygetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Greetings from sunny Playa del Carmen.

Dear guest we thank you first of all for taking the time to express your experience. We will pay extra attention to the details that go by hand with the service we offer. Our purpose is to make your vacation a memorable one and I apologize on behalf of the all the staff.

We invite you to try again, give us an opportunity to revive the charm that Secrets Capri created in you in the beginning and let us make up for the inconveniences you experienced.

In the meantime thank you for your time. If I can be of any assistance please contact me.

Regards,

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beautiful Resort! Our stay was from May 4 - 10, 2013. The Entertainment staff was wonderful! Stephanie "Fany" went out of her way to make us feel welcome! She was such a joy!! Jonathan "Pit Bull" was so nice and so fun to get to know! All the staff was very friendly and made our stay very fun! We participated in the activities and had an awesome time! Our favorite waiter around the pool was Orlando. If our chairs were not in his section, we would change or at least visit his area and get a drink from him. Our only bad experience was the night we ate at the Oceana Restaurant. Our wait was an hour and the service was very slow and food not worth the wait. We didn't stay for dessert due to being late to the show. The shows were all wonderful. Don't miss those!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear valued Customer,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Capri, we appreciate your review. Thank you for taking the time to express the real thoughts from this recent experience. I am sure you will want to come back and make it even better next time.

Our resort is the perfect size for couples and small groups, whether to get away and relax or to have a fun and exciting vacation.

I am sure my colleagues will appreciate as much as I do your positive feedback, surely many others benefit from your review. Thank you again.

Best regards,

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-concierge
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Loved it!!
It's a beautiful resort, inside and out. The food at all the restaurants was amazing. We enjoyed the daily list of fun activities to do. The staff was amazing from the moment we entered the property. Everyone was so friendly. I don't know how the entertainment staff kept smiling, they work long hard hours!! There were a few that stood out and really went that extra mile and I wanted to say thank you !! Isay, Jesus, Jonathan and Victor and Andrea. They really made it a fun, enjoyable experience. Jesus and Isay were exceptionally nice to us for my sister's birthday celebration. Thank you!!! Kudos to Enrique our server during the Mexican Fiesta--thank you again !! and Sergio always on at the bar!
This is definitely a resort worth returning, we wished we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: We loved our room because it was steps away from the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear valued guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to spread positive word of mouth about your recent stay. We truly appreciate it and wish to say we keep working to improve our services. Our staff is under constant motivation practices to insure them a great place to work.

We see you have enjoyed all the areas of our resort, we hope you continue to visit us.

Should you need future assistance please contact us.

Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited May 2 - 9, 2013. Best week ever!

We booked through Apple for an early 15th Anniversary trip. We had to take a wedding invitation & prove our anniversary was within 3 mos of our visit. Our Apple rep, Julie, told us we will either have a King size bed or two twins that can be pushed together, but we cannot actually reserve either.

We were greeted at the front door with a warm "welcome" and a cool towel to refresh ourselves. We had to wait 5 or so minutes to check in (many couples were checking in at the same time) but went quickly as they're efficient. They will HOLD a credit card number on your room in the event you want something charged to your room (and if there are damages - just like the U.S.). The staff took our bags to our room for us.

Our door had a banner acknowledging our anniversary. The room was quiet and clean. In the closet is your safe - we used it: "better safe than sorry". We were concerned about the safety of being pool side, ground floor, but we had no issues.The patio door lock didn't work so we had to use the metal pin that fit in the hole to lock the door (after your room is cleaned each day, make sure that's locked as they maintain your patio as well). FYI: you don't really hear your neighbors, but you will hear them pull out/push in chairs as the floors are marble and the sound travels through the floor. If it's late and your neighbors are loud enough you hear them through the wall just pick up the phone and tell the person that answers, they'll address the situation within ten minutes. Keep the louvered window open when you're not in the room to keep the air flowing through the entire suite (to get your towels and bathing suits dry).

Meals:
-We visited LaRiviera for breakfast, lunch once and a few times for dinner. We also had breakfast and lunch a few times at the Cactus Club. They were all great.
-We ate at Portofino (Italian) restaurant once. We were given a buzzer to wait 20 minutes for a table...which we waited an hour for (ate dinner at 10:15pm); although, there were MANY open tables (forgot to page us?), and the food wasn't that great.
-We got reservations at the Himitsu hibatchi grill - that was really good too (steak & shrimp and steak & chicken combos were had). The bar staff was a bit slow at our table but still friendly.
-Seaside Grill was VERY good (lunch and dinner each one time). The crab appetizer is so good and the Shrimp Tempura was excellent. We went up for a steak dinner - yum!
-Getting a tasty snack at the coffee house was nice (COLD cheesecake) and convenient from the bar across the way...they had very good drinks and attentive staff which went aroud the entire lobby to take orders.

Entertainment:
-The "Elvis" show is a must! We were expecting a BAD Elvis impersinator. Reggie was very good and had some really great comedy in between. The outdoor movies were fun to do (as we aren't big bar people/partiers).
-Cinco de Mayo day long celebration was fun (partake when you want to) capped off at the end of the night with the Entertainment staff and singing/dance group having provided entertainment for us.
-Be sure to catch the Rock Show. 70-90's rock with live band/singers/dancers and make it visually interesting as well (very good). The Entertainment staff really gets the crowd involved.
-The Entertainment Staff is amazing. They work 18 hrs/day to make sure you have a good time and it shows. They take care of you in pool side bingo, International buffet/dinner nights, movie nights, the Elvis/rock shows, they shmooze with the clients before the shows, give Spanish lessons, kayaking, and the list goes on. Jonathan is a true asset to Capri (all of them are, but we only had interactions with Jonathan). He truly cares if you're having a good time and he has a super personality.

Shopping:
-The gift stores are pricey (you can find suveniers at the "convenience store" that are a few dollars cheaper than the suvenier store). Unfortunately, the biodegradeable sun screen is only available in Mexico and cost approximately $17 USD.

Photos:
-Take advantage (if doing the Anniversary package) of the photo shoot. It's a free 20 minute photo session which is part of your room package and get one free photo (they print it there - without the anniversary package you don't get a free one unless you use a coupon from the front desk).
-If you order photos, but not enough for the photo book they put them on a CD. We only wanted to spend $100 tops, but couldn't narrow down the number of photos we wanted. The woman gave us 11 pictures at $11 each.
-They were $15 each up to 20 pictures. When you want 20 pictures, they'll make it 30 photos for $299 includes those 30 pictures on a CD and photo book. They're good photos, the short guy (can't remember his name) said "was long day" at 2pm, so if you can get somene else maybe do that.

Excursions:
-We did the $86/person Mayan Adventure (snorkeling in a cenote, cave, lagoon) - NOT for beginners/weak swimmers (no matter what you're told). My husband snorkled and I just couldn't. Very yummy chicken lunch and the Pico is so good (you are offered pictures from the first stop and a few scenic shots - we didn't get them so I don't know the fee).
-If you're interested in the Mayan history do the Tulum/Coba tour and climb in Coba (SO cool). You're given about an hour of free time at Tulum which you can go to the beautiful beach and/or look through the ruins (we never got to the beach - SO worth it). Between Coba and Tulum there is another lunch provided at a local restaurant - very good.
-We did the submarine excusion on Cozumel. If you get motion sickness on boats, plan to nap as you take a boat across to the island. Then you take a smaller one to the submarine. The trip was nice - didn't get the best underwater pictures though. On the boat ride back to Cozumel you get a small orange juice with option to add vodka. Then you get about an hour free time on the island (even with haggling they still overcharge visitors) and another trip back.

Other:
-Make reservations for the Hibatchi as soon as you get there (the only restaurant that needs/takes reservations because everyone wants the hibatchi). You need to make an appointment for the photo shoots. Everything else is "first come first serve".

We will definately be going back to the Capri! Couldn't have asked for a better vacation. Thank you Secrets Capri food/wait/housekeeping staff for having taken care of us so well, treating us well, and for having made this an amazing trip! Mucho gracias, Capri!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear valued Guest.

Thank you very much for your comments.

It is always a pleasure to read comments like yours that make our job so wonderful!

I hope the memories that you created during your vacation will stay for a long time and we hope to have the opportunity to host you one more time soon!

Please if you need any assistance in the future do not hesitate to contact me!

Best Regards,

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We chose Riviera Maya as a honeymoon destination and our travel agent booked us at Secrets Capri. It was our first visit to the area as well as our first stay at a Secrets resort. Overall, our 7 day stay was quite good. My wife and I both know a decent amount of Spanish, which really helped develop friendliness among the staff. The entertainment staff (who go around, rounding people up to take part in scheduled activities) did a fantastic job, specifically Jonathan, Victor and Isay. These guys (and girls) work their butts off the make sure people enjoy themselves at the resort.

Our room was an ocean view, otherwise nothing spectacular. Room service was always delivered within 30 minutes. A bottle of champagne awaited us on our first night. The room was well cleaned and turned down each night. It briefly stormed once, causing the water pressure in our room to drop to zero. That was fixed once we arrived back to our room after dinner. I did notice that there were spots of water damage (ceiling damage) throughout the hotel after the brief but strong storm. Everything was patched up by the next day.

The food isn't anything spectacular. But, that said, we still greatly enjoyed every meal. Least favorite was the breakfast buffet. Most favorite was the sea-side breakfast/lunch spot and the Italian restaurant. This being Mexico, I did suffer from Montezuma's Revenge after the fourth day of our stay, however I can't blame that on the resort. It coincided with a trip out to Cobá where we ate a pre-prepared lunch. That food was great, but who knows. Point is I felt ill every morning until about noon, and then I felt fine.

One important note on the upstairs restaurant near the pool/beach: get a table indoors at dinner. At night the wind really picks up. It's hard to notice from the ground, but as soon as you go up a level there's nothing to block it. We were amused by it at first and that quickly wore off. It didn't ruin dinner, but was a definite distraction.

The pool was fun. Not much to say there. Bar service was great. Tasty drinks. Fun people. Tip the tenders for faster service. Drink service on the beach was spotty at times, but those guys are super busy. Spots for chairs at the pool and the beach were highly contested, so go out before breakfast and claim a spot. But honestly we were pretty annoyed at people who tossed a magazine on a chair, only to appear 4 hours later to sit down. My advice is blame the wind for sending a hat or a book flying off a chair.

Kayaks and catamarans are free to visitors all day on the beach. The guys running them and the wave runners are nice. They speak English. They'll take you out to sail if you're not comfortable doing it on your own.

By the time my wife and I left we we friendly with some of the staff. The phrase "it's a pleasure" was common during service.

Overall we had a very nice stay and would go back. We heard some terrible things from people staying at other resorts about bad service and uncleanliness. So we definitely felt like we made the right choice with Secrets.

Room Tip: We felt it was worth it to pay extra for an ocean view since it was our honeymoon. No regrets there. But considering how little you'll be in your room, it's probably not worth it. The birds will wake you every morning. They'll also try to steal your drink if you're not careful! Go out early to grab chairs at the pool or beach. According to our guide, the Mayan ruins at Cobá are the last you can climb in the area. But the government will CLOSE that perk next month (June). So if you want to climb ruins, choose Cobá (for now). Any of the ruin trips will eat up an entire day. Xcaret, one of the local "adventure" parks, is underwhelming. Spend a day at Xel-Há or Xplore instead. We never worried about our bags, phones or other belongings getting messed with on the beach or at the pool. No one ever touched them (staff or visitor). People complained about the Italian restaurant for vague reasons. We tried it and loved it. Make up your own mind. If you speak Spanish, use it. You'll get better service. We never waited on a thing (table, drink, etc) because we treated the staff like people instead of servants. Go see the Elvis impersonator and the sensual cirque show. Both very good. Turtles live in the indoor pond beneath the main stairs down to the pool. Try to spot them. The resort will give you towels for excursions, which is nice. Just be sure to bring them back! Hot water is not very hot (for showers, anyway).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dea valued guest.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the Tripadvisor community.
It reads you had a great time throughout the resort and we feel happy to know service and food were excellent.

I think the resort is a perfect romantic spot for honeymoon and anniversary couples.
Thank you again for visiting us and please return soon, it is a pleasure to assist you.

If you need further assistance please contact me directly.

Best Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-concierge
Info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews