We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$529
$348
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$495
$365
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
$1,323
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$1,852
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$484
$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$899
$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$682
$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,000
$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$1,125
$806
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$453
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,507)
Filter reviews
10,507 results
Traveler rating
6,867
2,421
750
295
174
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,867
2,421
750
295
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscactus clubseaside grilldesires barentertainment stafffloor conciergetropical viewour honeymoonpool barhydrotherapy circuitcoco cafesmaller resortromantic dinner on the beachother resortsmy pleasureitalian restaurantall inclusive resortturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,766 - 6,771 of 10,507 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Why here?
Well I'm a bit late on writing this review but I remember it like yesterday. We left Edmonton Alberta on Aug 25,2012 for a 7 day vacation. We booked our package with Sunwing.
If you been to Mexico before than you know what to expect when your at the airport! but I'm gonna let the newbe's know a bit, So when you land, grab your bags, they will have dogs smelling you and doing their search (don't bring food) but once you leave the door's here's the thing to do, don't talk and just walk!! They are trying to get you to do time shares. Outside you will find your bus,mini van, car ect to bring you to your resort, on our hand it was a mini bus.

So it took about 45 min from the airport to the resort, due to dropping off other clients at different resorts.
But once you arrive, you have the bell boys opening your door and the other will have a wet cloth and a welcome drink for you. We were brought inside, a/c throughout the building, you will be seated for check in, they will ask you for a m/c visa ect (to keep something on file) and also a copy of your passports, (we were not to keen about that) we also didn't like how long it took to just check in.
One of the conciege grabs our suitcases and we went to the room, they do have an elevator (never used it) we were on the third floor pool view, honestly its parital ocean view as well which was great!

The Room: Once you walk in the room is cool and smelled great!! Fresh flowers, fruit and champange on the table, King sized bed, bathroom has him and her sinks, larger bath spa amenites, mini bar fully stocked

The Pool: There is only one large pool with a swim up bar, it's great never was over packed, Games often played!!

Drinks: This is were we were iffy about Mexico drinks as they are usually watered down, well NOT in this case lol drinks were really good, higher end bottles, Corona's, I think Bud also for beers.

Food: Overall was pretty awesome! We never had a problem everything tasted overall pretty good compared to some resorts we've been too.

Nightlife: night shows were good, but seemed to always end by 1ish (am)

Staff: What can I say, they were great! Always happy and welcoming and helpful!!

Overall: This is a small higher end resort, we noticed their was a lot of older couples and singles there, At the time we went there was only a few under 33 yrs of age but we could not care, we met very amazing people whome we still talk to from all over the world. We do plan to visit hopefully this year again if not a sister resort to them. It was a great romantic trip for us and we give it a 8.5 out of 10

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Christmas 2012 was a nightmare,,,, We have to bribed some waiter $100 to let us in for Christmas dinner ....no ceiling fans, a/c was broken, place clean,food : if you like sushi with garlic, everything overloaded with garlic salt, this is place for you. They served Christmas leftovers next day for breakfast and lunch including fish (no wonder a lot of people got sick) Food was disgusting ,gross.... After 4 month.... I am writing this review and can not get over it ...Gross place...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank emi777ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I just recently got back from our honeymoon. We stayed at the Secrets Capri resort from April 11th- 16th. It was an amazing time. The staff was so great and helpful. The room was comfortable and had a great view. We didn't spend a whole lot of time at the beach because of the wind, but we did spend our days at the pool. The service was excellent and we had a great time. It wasn't a huge partying crowd, which was great for us because all we wanted after the chaos of wedding planning was to relax by the pool and have a couple drinks. The drinks by the pool were great but not that strong, whereas the drinks from the bars inside were very strong. All the food was incredible, I would recommend eating at the buffet only for breakfast and the restaurants had great food. All in all, it was a great vacation and I loved it!

Room Tip: Top floor has amazing views!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Within the past 12 months, we have stayed here twice. The first time was in May for 4 nights and March for 7 nights. I absolutely love this hotel. The workers are so nice and their services are A+. The food is excellent. Love the Coffee bar, Rita's omelettes, room service, and beach. The only problem we found going in March is that it was more crowded compared to going in May. Had to get up early to save lounge chairs around the pool, which really wasn't a big issue. This time we used the Spa services. Definitely get a Swedish masssage!!!. The facial was just Ok and the hydrotherapy was relaxing. Also take a 20 min. walk north up the beach to a spectacular Lagoon. Plus you get to see other hotels along the way. The ELVIS Show was the Best. The performance was excellent and he was really funny..don't miss this one. Can't wait to go back again. We did pay for a room upgrade $200 for 7 nights when we arrived and it was worth every penny. We got a balcony that overlooked the pool and beach. Our friends paid the same (next door to us) but their room was a lot bigger. Still worth it. Definitely go to Playa del Carmen for shopping. Went to cozumel and found it to be very crowded because the cruise ships dock there. If you go to Cozumel I was told by other vacationers to rent a scooter and cruise the island especially the East side. They said the beaches and food is phenominal. We plan on doing that next time. Also in the lobby bar in the evening the entertainment was great and so are the chocolate martinis. Hersen was a great poolside server. He was always there to get us whatever we wanted. The Room turn down service in the evening and our room housekeeper was over the top. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely get a balcony facing the pool/beach.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank motherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from Secrets Capri last week and had an amazing time! We have previously been to Secrets Maroma which is touted as one of their premier properties so I was a little concerned that we wouldn't enjoy this as much but it was wonderful. We enjoyed that it was a smaller resort - you really felt like you developed a bond with fellow travelers because you saw people repeatedly. Service was fantastic -- Luis and Juan at the pool bar, Esileo and Oscar (poolside waiters), Pasquale in the sports bar and so many others. Stephanie and Vincent with the activities crew were a lot of fun! The Final Four was going on while we there and they actually showed the games WITH sound, even when it was supposed to be "disco" time which is a problem we've run into before in Mexico during March Madness. The food was great and there were always lots of options. We will definitely be back...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UNCchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews