We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$529
$348
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$495
$365
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
$1,323
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$1,852
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$509
$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$899
$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$682
$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,000
$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$1,125
$806
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$453
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,507)
Filter reviews
10,507 results
Traveler rating
6,867
2,421
750
295
174
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,867
2,421
750
295
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscactus clubseaside grilldesires barentertainment stafffloor conciergetropical viewour honeymoonpool barhydrotherapy circuitcoco cafesmaller resortromantic dinner on the beachother resortsmy pleasureitalian restaurantall inclusive resortturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,979 - 6,984 of 10,507 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great hotel. We travelled the first week of December 2012. I have been to the El Dorado series of hotels so I have very high standards for all inclusives.
-no wristbands
-almost entirely a-la-carte meals
-lots of restaurants with a variety of food
-great coffee bar with lattes and expresso on the go all day
-no reservations required for any restaurant ***loved this***
-room cleaned daily PLUS an additional turn down service (and also tidies the room)

A couple of negatives
-deplorable beach but the hotel cannot do anything about it. It was very difficult getting in and out of the water with rocks and big holes. I was always afraid of rolling my ankle. Once you got out a bit past waist level water - the ocean floor was much better. I would not come back just for this reason but it was a great hotel (they cannot touch the beach as it is federally regulated).
-A tiny bit small resort - we liked it quite and not a big bustling resort but only one pool. Very easy to walk the entire resort. Our personal preference would probably a medium sized resort like their sister resort Secrets Maroma which a fantastic beach and seemed larger.

We enjoyed our vacation immensely. Everyone was very nice, food was fantastic (Italian restaurant and the breakfast buffet were our favourites). The entertainment was so-so but not really our cup of tea anyway. They did have theme nights which were nice. I am a vegetarian and there were lots of options for me (more than I find at some restaurants at home).

We want to try other countries for our next trips but this was definitely a fantastic vacation! It was well worth $1300 I paid for flight and resort!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smiles_and_frowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I go to Mexico every year or so. It's close, easy to get to, a great value, safe if you're sensible, and has some extremely luxurious properties. For the last ten years or so all of my trips there had been to the "Mayan Riviera." Have stayed at the Ritz Carlton & Moon Palace in Cancun, Presidente Intercontinental in Cozumel, and now at Secrets Capri in Playa Del Carmen.

We wanted a week's getaway in February 2012, someplace warm, luxurious & quiet. Warmth & luxury in Mexico had never been a problem but quiet was proving elusive. Especially trying to time it to get there the last week before spring break madness happens.

Then we found this place.

Beautiful property, great room-service & restaurants for an all-inclusive, top shelf liquors at no extra charge, great beach and pool and the most wonderful thing of all, no one under 21 allowed in. It was bliss.

The one thing that was less than wonderful... I'd read about this in other reviews but didn't really get the concept. There is a window with only louvers, no glass, between the bathroom and guest room. Yes, you can close the shutters but there is nothing you can do about any sounds or anything else unpleasant that might be transmitted from one space to the other. What were they thinking? In all other respects, the bath is very luxurious with huge garden tub, separate glass shower and top notch spa products, but this was a serious issue. The way we resolved it was just to give the other person some alone time in the room to take care of business. Luckily, there was plenty to do on the property so you were never bored when out of the room.

Would definitely stay there again, though might try the other Secrets resort there, I think on Maroma Beach. It got great reviews and perhaps the bathrooms are a little more self-contained.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view/front room. We originally booked "garden" view which really meant swamp view. After being shown to the room, we were immediately back at check-in arranging to move to another room. there was a slight up charge but well worth it not to spend 8 night looking at a swamp.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

One thing after another keeps piling up with UVC. It goes from being told "untruths", to money hungry policies. (Beyond just good business, by my standards.)
For instance: We traveled in mid December. We were assured in mid June that the beach was completely restored. Just before the trip, and two weeks after returning we were told exactly the same thing. It's no better than it was just after the Category 2 hurricane that ruined it in 10/11. In reality it is a disaster, almost no beach, and covered with mangrove roots sticking out of the sand. Made walking in or near the water hazardous. In the shallows the bottem was squishy. All website pictures show a beautiful beach. The first 50 yards of water are brown, not the gorgeous aqua color that the Carribean is famous for .Not appealing in the least

For instance: Didn't remember that their phone lines were not open on Saturday, and called on a Saturday. Was put on hold, told I was the 3rd caller on hold. Ads played. then 3 times I was told I was the 2nd caller, and that a rep would be with me shortly. More ads. Then abruptly was told that they were not open on Saturday. Elapsed time, over 4 minutes. Not believing this, I called back and got the same handling. Not honest, or classy for that matter.

For instance: We found a lower price on the Web, and were due almost a $300 refund. They agreed, but.....Offered to put the credit on the end of the payment contract, over 2 years away, or they would credit my credit card now if I would pay 3 1/2 %. How badly did the corporation need this $10? Money hungry.

For instance: Let's say the price of a 1 hour massage is $139. With the UVC 25% discount the total becomes $104.25. But....there is often a discount rate of $99. If you take the cheaper rate you get NO discount. You are treated as any non member. Doesn't that make the member feel special!

For instance: Let's say you wish to purchase from the gift shop. No discount. You are treated as any non member.

For instance: There are 7 different levels of rooms at Secrets Capri. (11 choices if you consider 2 doubles or a king) Members get one free upgrade, IF AVAILABLE. Let's say that you really want level three. You book level two. They used to tell you how many upgrades to the desired level were available, but no more. You get there and find no upgrades are available to level three, so you are stuck level 2, which buy the way, has the same evergreen view as level one. You could have paid for only level one, and had the opportunity to be in a level to room for several hundred dollars less.

For instance: When in the Dominican Republic we decided that on Sunday we would like to go to the only Cathedral in the country in Higuey. We were referred by the UVC rep to Amstar, their transportation arm. We were quickly quoted $130 for round trip. After being treated for shock, we ended up walking out to the main road and catching a bus for about $7.50 round trip. That's just not right.

For instance: They used to have the prices for each resort on the internet, so one could quickly compare and select the best deal. No longer available. One must call them to get all prices. Quite tedious.

Now, about the resort...
Recently returned from a week at Secrets Capri. This was our second visit to this beautiful resort and we loved it again! From the moment you arrive you are enveloped in a warm "Mexican Hacienda" atmosphere. The building and rooms are beautiful. The staff here excel in helping to make your vacation experience flawless and completely relaxing; always smiling, very friendly and helpful and they make us feel as though they love their work. Kudos to the human resources staff.
Upon arrival, with the help of Jorge at the from desk and Oliver of Unlimited Vacation Club, we were given a beautiful room - right next door to the room we had last year. Overlooking the pool and seeing the Ocean beyond was really beautiful. The housekeeping staff kept our room spotless and the fridge was stocked daily with water and my request for diet coke. The turn-down service is a nice touch and the Champagne and pastries provided one night was quite nice and much appreciated. Thank you Mary and Monica. Laura at the Concierge desk near our room was very pleasant with a smile and greeting each day - always asking if we needed anything.
The all-inclusive dining was again excellent. Our favorites are The La Riviera Buffet for breakfast, the Barefoot Grill for lunch and Portofino for Dinner. Thank you, Rita for the great omelets you made us each morning and to the Chefs and staff who prepared the numerous "extra's" on the buffet. The fruit is beautiful and delicious and every kind imaginable was offered, as well as numerous breads and cereal. My wife says the "green drink" is awesome! Also, each day, the La Riviera Chef and his associate come out to the pool and beach area with a cart of fresh fruit "pops" prepared on a stick, easy to eat and so refreshing and good! They also bring out an ice cream cart in the afternoon. What a treat! Thanks to Laura for taking good care of us bringing water and drinks to the beach! The Barefoot Grill was excellent for lunch. The hamburgers are large, cooked to order and very good. Hot dogs and chicken very good as well. The side dishes are excellent and condiments and salads very fresh and tasty. Portofino Restaurant for dinner is our favorite for the food quality and for the attentive friendly staff. The bread and fresh Parmesan cheese plate for starters is so addicting. We enjoyed the spinach salad, the beef filet (prepared to order just perfectly), the Shrimp and Scallop on corn risotto, the Grouper and for dessert, the Flan is excellent. Thanks Jaime and Adrian for serving us and making our dining experience so enjoyable.
We also tried the Cactus Club and did not find the selections to our liking this year. The Oceana Restaurant serves an excellent Goat Cheese salad and the Crab cakes were good. Feliciana greets you with a fresh sweet smile and Oscar was very attentive to our table. The Seaside Grill has a baby Scallop appetizer that is very good and Fabian was a great server. The hostess staff at these restaurants could not be nicer and all of the serving staff from bringing water and wine to serving dinner are really excellent. We really appreciate how all of them added to our dining experience.
Also, both the Sauvignon Blanc and the Cabernet Sauvignon wines offered by the glass are very good. We did not have wine from the preferred list.

The new COCO Cafe' was a real pleasure. You can order a specialty coffee and get a sandwich or "sweet" anytime during the day. The staff are always smiling and willing to please. The free internet access and available computers inside the Cafe are also much appreciated.
The Spa, my one of my favorite aspects of the resort. I could have had a massage every day, however, settled for two - both with Griselda. She is phenomenal. Have to say one of the best masseuses I have ever had, both in the US and abroad.
The Entertainment Staff at the resort are very energetic and have something fun for you to do daily if you'd like. The provide exercise in the pool and even classes on dancing, Spanish lessons, making guacamole, towel art, etc. There were also some very colorful and entertaining shows during the week. The Mayan celebration was the best.
There are also daily trips to Playa del Carmen. Don't miss going to Playa - for shopping or just to enjoy the local culture. If you go on Sunday you will have to take a taxi at $20 each way. It is really worth it. The Catholic Church in town is beautiful and it was so great to have Mass available while we were vacationing.
Our main disappointment with the resort was the beach, which I covered in the beginning of the review
We recommend that you visit Secrets Capri if you don't care about a beaautiful beach. We would love to go back, but probably won't due to not knowing the truth about the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank mickywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

room was not ready when we arrived, passport was stolen by maid, and after much stress it was returned 2 days later, but it had been comprimised and i have to renew. room was very small and the food was not good. very few resturants and always one or two closed every day.
will never go back and would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: do not go there
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

First time at Secrets Capri and definitely won't be the last. Came here with my boyfriend to reconnect as we used to be together in New Zealand. Him and I had to go back to our home country (me in sunny Hawaii, him in foggy London). We did the long distance thing and coming to Secrets Capri made our 2 years of patience worth it. From the staff, to the service, the rooms, and to the food and beverage; all elements of this resort was to the tee.

Staff - We both want to express our sincere gratitude to the staff, especially the entertainment crew: Humberto Kung Fu Panda, Jesus Banana, Cha Cha Cha Charlie (Carlos), Mariana Mamacita, Sofi La Barbie, and Santiago Grandpapa! Had such a great time with each and everyone of these people. All are very fun and exciting. We did Coco Bongo with all of the staff one night and that was one of the highlights of our trip. Coco Bongo is a must-do if you're into having a great night out with friends. Humberto gets special mention on this because he deserves it. He is a very genuine person, willing to go out of his way to ensure your stay in Secrets Capri is special and comfortable. We really appreciated his commitment in organizing our first night out in Coco Bongo and as well as his duty at the resort. Humberto has a sincere commitment in providing outstanding service and care to the people that come and stay at this resort.

Service - Incredible! 10/10. Enough said.

Food - I'd say our favorite place to eat would be the Japanese restaurant. They had a young guy doing tricks and cooking the food infront of you. Great, tasty food. I enjoyed every bite and the show he put on. We also liked Portofino. Nice wine choices and aromatic pastas. The room service menu, too, is great for just the quick bite while getting ready to go. The barbecue they do every lunchtime is tasty; standard and very satisfying.

Room - We stayed in a junior suite that had a balcony right in front of the ocean. It felt surreal when I first walked in. Such an amazing room with an amazing view. Every detail of the room was impeccable. The room service was very thorough and clean. The marble floors and the Spanish accents made you feel like a high-roller. Great, comfy king-sized bed. Our bathroom was big and amazing, too. Bathtub was only fit for one though.. Other than that, the size of the room was perfect.

This was my first time experiencing an All-Inclusive resort. The price is definitely worth it. It's a great way to indulge and not have to worry about busting out your wallet at every meal, drink, etc. We made good friends during our stay. Every staff, from check-in to check-out, made you feel extra welcome. Had a great, unforgettable experience at Secrets Capri. I've recommended this resort to a few people so far. We hope to be back soon for another go at the Cadillac Margaritas, volleyball, fiesta nights, and cuban cigars!

Room Tip: Junior Suites with an ocean view on the far left wing of the resort! (left wing, facing the ocean)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colleentricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews