We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Secrets Capri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #40 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chula Vista, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love Secrets Capri”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my wife's and I first trip to an all inclusive resort. We have been on several cruises and loved them. Honestly, we were prepared to be disappointed after our great cruise experiences. However, it was just the opposite.

The overall resort was very nice. Clean lobby and welcoming front desk staff. They assigned us a concierage type employee and he gave us an overview of the hotel. The rooms were very nice and comfortable and the housekeeping staff was there to meet your every need.

We were there over New Years and the bash they threw was so much fun. It started with a quiet, piano/saxophone buffet dinner around the pool with several entertainment acts scattered throughout. The night ended with a party on the beach complete with fireworks.

The wait staff in the restaurants and bars is absolutely top notch. They are all so friendly and fun. Get to know and interact with them. It makes it so much more fun. One night we had dinner in the Himitsu Restaurant. For some reason they don't serve bread with their meals. When she asked for bread, the waiter went to another restaurant and got it. Thanks Pedro! In the Seaside Grill one night, she wanted Ranch dressing for her salad. They didn't have it but the waiter went to another restaurant to get it. Thanks Francisco --- who by the way is alot of fun! Other outstanding servers were Genaro in Portofino, Edgar in La Riveria and Oscar in Oceana. We ate in every restaurant and enjoyed them all. Top notch!

The pool area is spectacular with a swim up bar and servers to bring you food, drinks, dry towels, whatever you want. We were disappointed in the beach --- it is in bad shape and in our opinion, not usable except to sit on a chair in the sand. It was badly damaged due to several severe storms and you can see where trees were snapped off. Hopefully by the time we return, the beach will be restored to the beauty you see on the resorts website. It is actually sad in a way that such damage was done.

Entertainment staff ---- SUBURB!!! Our advice, get to know them and interact with them. They work so, so hard and they always have their energy level at "10." They want to have fun with the guests. We participated in many of the activities during the day. The nightly entertainment was of a high caliber. We went to the show each night -- some we liked better than others and some we would want to see again. Thanks to Jesus, Alberto, Humberto, Raul and Ricardo for a fun week. You guys rock!

Tipping-- although not required, we would encourage it. Not because you get better service -- we never tipped until the end of our meal. The waiter didn't know we were tippers and we still got great service. But, this staff works really, really hard and appreciate any show of gratitude to them.

Overall, we thoroughly loved our week at Secrets Capri. We are looking forward to our next visit --- we will return for sure.

Gracias Secrets Capri

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,193
    2,204
    679
    271
    160
See reviews for
626
6,512
139
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,401)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mankato
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed the Secrets Capri resort just shortly before Christmas as a week get away and LOVED our stay! We had done a lot of research prior to our trip and had found Secrets Capri to have positive remarks. This resort exceeded our expectations. Wonderful friendly staff and excellent food and service! Never seen a resort complex with employees so eager to help and always with a smile on their faces. They are not over-worked and valued; and it shows. Our room was very clean and was cleaned twice daily. We enjoyed the various restaurants most every night, enjoyed the pool and swim-up bar during the day (Juan is a great bar tender, BTW!!). The entertainment staff remember your name and unique characteristics about your stay. They go out of the way to make your stay important.

If you are looking for a resort that you do not have to wake up early to make dinner reservations or grab a lawn chair by the pool, this is it! The size of this hotel (nearly 290 rooms) makes for easy access to restaurants and pool chairs daily; no waits!

The ground floor rooms are bigger than the second and third floors, but not to discredit the second and third floor rooms. They are also very clean and spacious, just a little smaller. No complaints.

Clean. Friendly. Great Service. Excellent Food....down-right AWESOME. :)

Room Tip: First floor rooms are bigger than second and third floor rooms, but all rooms were very clean and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Four of us traveled to Secrets Capri over new years. The food was amazing, especially the Japanese and Italian restaurants for dinner.

Plus's:
- No reservations required for the good restaurants.. went every night and was great!
- Smaller resort right on the beach. Everything is very close, no long walks.
- Rooms are clean and well kept.
- Smaller crowds at events (good thing)
- Small, but clean and very accommodating beach for bumming and swimming.
- The water was clean and did not smell! This is a huge factor considering other places down south have stinky water.

Minus's:
- Gift shop is WAY overpriced to a point of being rediculous, although somewhat to be expected at a place like this. (Examples: $50 flip-flops, $10 playing cards).
- Mosquito's in room every night (probably due to close proximity to mangroves and cenote).. Did not have mosquito's in Playacar in August.
- About 1/4 of the staff did not seem as friendly as I would expect. I had a better staff experience at Riu Palace in Playacar.
- The shows aren't quite as elaborate as some of the larger all-inclusives. Still good and entertaining though.
- The "hot tub" isn't hot. It's barely warmer than the pool and definitely not a place to warm up.
- Drinks are made with below average liquor. Have to ask for better quality liquor for drinks (which they do happily at no cost).

My overall opinion is the food is 5 star quality, everything else is a solid 4 star.

Finally, not related to the motel but to the Airport Taxi problem. There's a serious issue with taxi's in this place. The price for taxi from the Airport to Playa was $120 USD in December (high season). It's $80 in low season. Both of which are far overpriced. Arranging your transportation through any of the transport companies in advance will save you a lot of hassle and money. I used Transportations Cancun (http://transportationscancun.com/) for our airport transfers as well as our day trip to Tulum and Coba. Saved us a bundle over taxi's and tour companies.

Room Tip: The bottom story pool-side rooms are very convenient as you can just walk out of the balcony to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, PA
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our third (and last) time at Secrets Capri. We will return to this beautiful part of the world; we'll just spend our money where we feel more appreciated.

We had not been back to this resort for three years, but decided to give it another try. It was soon after arriving that I remembered why we had not come back sooner. After the initial welcome, where everything seems wonderful, they put the screws to you.

We arranged through our travel agent for a high room with an ocean view. Instead they brought us (like the last time I remembered) to a bottom floor room with a view of the back of beach chairs! They must think that if you don't complain, they've filled these crappy rooms. So, once again, we had to complain to the front desk, and once again we were given all kinds of attitude to get our new room. NOT the way to start a relaxing vacation.

The pool is wonderful; the beach less so. The staff, for the most part, are very pleasant, and the direct servers are charming. One episode with a worker who thought he was oh-so-very important did mar our trip.

They have an outside restaurant near the beach, and it is VERY COMMON for people (and we observed even some of the waiters) to throw scraps to the birds (small black birds). While eating at this restaurant, one waiter took it upon himself to start SHOUTING at me for throwing some fries over the edge of the bushes to the birds. This was very uncomfortable to me, and I complained to the front desk (who did nothing).

I also happened to run into Walter (who is in charge of the spa packages), and expressed my discomfort at being spoken to this way. Walter talked with this waiter, and informed me later that it could have been handled much better (and that he was reprimanded). I suggested that they put up signs to not feed the birds if this is the policy. I have never seen anyone corrected about this before.

The food ranges from bland (the buffet) to quite good (the upper restaurant in the separate building near the beach). The drinks are free-flowing, so people can get rowdy in the pool area, but it seems always to be in a fun way. It is an adults-only resort.

So, in conclusion, I think that less and less customer service is noticeable at this resort, and we will spend our money at another resort next time. Walter, you are a good person, and thank you for standing up for me!

Room Tip: INSIST on a room change if you are unhappy with what they try to stick you with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mockx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

As the title says this was our first experience at an all inclusive. Secrets Capri met our expectations, if not exceeded them. Here's some of my thoughts:
Entertainment team: They work their butts off to make sure you have a good time. Basically, you can count on small activities throughout the day at the pool, beach or outside lounge areas. We participated in pool volleyball and sushi lessons which were fun. In the evening you can count on something to do before dinner and after dinner. Live music, magic shows, dancers, casino night are just a few examples. The 'nightclub' does die down really early which was a disappointment to us...this I feel is a result of the other guests at the resort not for lack of trying by the resort.
Food: We ate everywhere. The food is good everywhere. The food is excellent at the Japanese place, the barefoot grill, and the Cactus Club. Don't hesitate to ask for anything, they will make it happen with a smile. We ate at the Riviera one night for their surf and turf buffet. They had mini apple pies for dessert. The night before I'd had one at Portofino with ice cream that was absolutely yummy. There was no ice cream at the buffet. I jokingly asked our waiter if I'd missed it, he said "no, but I'll go get you some." He went downstairs to the other restaraunt and got me ice cream for my pie. Talk about service. In addition, everything is beautifully plated, everywhere. You really get the impression that the chefs are proud of their work and really want to show it off.
Drinks: Good. Better if you ask for a double. Awesome if you tell them it's your last drink before you fly out ;) We did notice a difference between bars/bartenders and the amount of liquor used.
Room: Clean, spacious. We were given a room with double beds the first night but moved to a room with a king the next morning with no problem. The bathroom does have little privacy which is weird. Not sure why they designed them like that but certainly did not ruin our vacation. Turn down service every night...did not think we really needed it but it is a nice touch. They give you a newsletter at night for the next day telling you what's going on, I appreciated that. Oh, we had a tropical view which also had beach view in it. I don't really care what view I have as you are in your room so little while on vacation.
Beach: It is small and eroded. There are roots, rocks and such around. I don't feel that the resort is at fault, you can tell the beach used to be big and nice. A guy does clean the sandy area daily and they do attempt to make it nicer. We prefer the pool to the beach so this did not really bother us.
Pool: Plenty of seats, though it was busy when we were there and 'prime' seats filled fast. People tended to reserve their seats with a book or some other item. One side does feel heated sometimes and the other side is rather cold. We stayed on the 'heated' side which has the bar.
Service/staff: Everybody is soooo pleasant and friendly. You go through a sort of culture shock when you return home because everyone seems so grumpy compared to the Secrets staff. They really do say "it's a pleasure" when they help you. I never once felt anyone was put out or unhappy with their job which was refreshing.

Room Tip: We were in 417 originally and 333 for the rest of our stay. Both were quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jak4022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Secrets Capri is a very nice resort to spend time over the holidays. The room was very comfortable and plenty of room. There is no bad view in the hotel. The restaurants were great, Portofino was out favorite. the entertainment team worked very hard to make sure everybody enjoyed their vacation.

The beach is a little narrow, but still very nice. The sports equipment could be a little better, the Hobie Cats were in good shape, the wind surfers were in rough shape and the kayaks were limited. Aquaworld operates the dive shop at the resort and they were great, they looked after us on our referral dives.

We enjoyed our time at this resort and would recommend it for adult couples.

Room Tip: All the rooms that face the pool have ocean view, the outside rooms face a less desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brucegsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We chose to spend out 20th year anniversary in Cancun this year. Secrets Capri went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was memorable. From the very welcoming check-in to the seamless check-out and everything in between, our stay exceeded our expectations. Making reservations was a breeze, the food in each restaurant was amazing. Our room service, pool bar service were speedy and friendly. The resort is clean and absolutely beautiful. Our room was beyond compare with a gorgeous view of the ocean. We particularly loved walking around and enjoying the various wildlife that make the resort their home. It's not very often in one's life that you get to spend time enjoying nature "up close and personal". We would definitely visit this resort again.

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms are gorgeous. We had an ocean view - if you've never had that, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cindy_roach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
2.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,532 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,421 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,653 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing