We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"OK, BUT WILL NOT GO BACK TO THIS PLACE"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #38 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"OK, BUT WILL NOT GO BACK TO THIS PLACE"”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were recently at Secret Capri, Riviera Cancun. The inside of the Resort was beautiful! The bed was very comfortable and the room was very cleaned. The staffs were friendly. The food was good. The beach was just okay. We have seen better beach than that. THEY NEED TO UPDATE THE PICTURES! LOOK NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES. Somewhat a little disappointed! We were looking to relax by the beach or take a long walk, but the beach was Very small. But, if you are in the age group of......20-40 like to drink and hang out by the pool and get drunk, EAT LIKE A PIG, all day, than it IS your place to go. We hung out at the pool one afternoon, I took notice some people never get out or go to use the bathroom all day. Hmm....I wondered where did all those alcohol go? The pool water looks dirty to me! (I never got in) If you do go, get up early and go pick a spot and put your towels on the chairs because people are so rude! They would reserve more chairs than what they need. And, get a room away from the right wing looking out the pool area, way too loud at night with the music from the nightly entertainments. And, the bar-nightclub sting!!! This place must have been rated by drunks! 3 STARS MAYBE, BUT NOT 5!

Room Tip: away from the right wing when looking out the pool. Too loud from the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,980
    2,131
    656
    257
    154
See reviews for
592
6,269
127
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,338)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WEST VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This resort has so much going for it.....
We stayed in a Tropical View room and we were very pleased with the cleaniness and overall appearance of room. Champagne and fruit were a pleasant greeting gift. The staff at this resort cannot be beat.....super friendly and always willing to go the extra step to ensure you are enjoying your stay. When they say "It is my pleasure" it's believable and not just said to appease you.
We enjoyed the "Imagine" spa pkg .....a great almost 4 hr. pampering. Also enjoyed the romantic beach dinner....surf and turf (excellently cooked) ...with a wonderful waitstaff who doubled as a great photographer to capture the special moment with our camera.
We ate at Portofino, Himitsu and Oceana and thought all offered above average food. The lobby was a great place to hang out before and after dinner. My hubbie loved the barrista who would customize your coffee choice for night....He loved the rum and Kahlua....
With this being said, one of my disappointments was the beach....or should I say lack of a decent beach. In places, there is less than a foot of beach front. The shore line is messy and stubs of trees and stones dot the sand. The swimming area is muddy and the surf was rough during our trip ...On the plus side the beach does have enough chairs...however no pads on the chairs....and lots of beach beds are available. The drink service on the beach was beyond great....you never had to wait. Vendors were never aggresive on the beach.
The only other downfall for us was the lack of an dedicated entertainment area.....We saw the Cirque show and sat on sad, old rusted chairs placed in rows in what was called the ballroom. The show was delightful, but the area was not suited for stage shows. We prefer a theather style area where you can see over the head of people in front of you.
Overall....would I go back? .....Possibly...but we've been to Secrets Maroma and preferred that beach over this one.........but, the STAFF made this resort totally enjoyable regardless of the beach!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KARROTSOUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I (early 30s) visited this resort as part of a one week Air Canada Vacations package. We booked early and got a decent deal for the level of resort (about $1560 from Vancouver, taxes included). We chose this resort based on price and the reviews here on Tripadvisor. We were looking for a resort that offered extras like room service and one that was known for good food since that is important to us.

I will go over the good and bad points, and overall we were not disappointed with this resort. For some background you can view my other reviews, but both my husband are frequent travellers (for pleasure), and I am basing my review based on my previous experiences and expectations. This was our first time actually staying on the Mayan side (although we have been on several cruises that have come here), and our past all inclusive experiences were in the 4 1/2 star range in Puerto Vallarta, and the Dominican Republic. We decided to splurge this time and try a higher end hotel.

THE CHECKIN:
We loved staying where we were. We were away from the party atmosphere of Cancun, and we were only 35 minutes from the Cancun airport! Our package included transfers, which were smooth. We arrived after a long flight (with a connection in Toronto Pearson, which was slightly stressful considering that Pearson is huge, and in total we spent over 8 hours in the air to get here). We arrived around 1pm at the resort, and were greeted with towels/sparkling wine. We arrived in a fairly large group (about 10-15 couples) and there was quite a hustle/bustle checking in. It was a bit frantic I have to admit. We checked in, and were told to come back at 3 as our rooms were not yet available. We wandered to the Cactus Club for lunch, which was great. Fish tacos (must have), and a thin crust pepperoni pizza. We didn't feel the warm welcome, though, that others were glowing about here on Tripadvisor, and I have to say the rest of our stay was really nice, but didn't go further than that.

THE ROOM:
We were in a top floor, tropical view room (room 506), and this was one of the best parts of our stay. It was very clean, modern (not dated IMO as others have noted), and large enough for both of us. The bathroom was marble, and had a small soaker tub (did not use), a nice shower, a bathroom in its own room with frosted glass doors, a double sink, and of course opened up into the bedroom (with shutters). It was really roomy in there! The bed was comfortable with nice sheets/pillows, and we loved our balcony that opened up into the tropical side for plenty of privacy. There is a flat screen tv, dvd player, and mini fridge filled with 4 Coronas, Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, Fanta, and a couple of juices. I did ask for Corona lite, but do note that it only comes in cans unlike the regular Corona. I did also not that most of the channels were in Mexican ones, but the shows were mostly North American so you can still watch it. There was also Playboy for those that are squeemish about porn (you don't have to watch it if you don't want to, but it is there FYI). Our room safe was not working when we got there, but it eventually got fixed.

THE FOOD:
We were really impressed with the food. The presentation at every restaurant was just gorgeous, and looks like the stuff you get in a high end restaurant. We did not care for the breakfast buffet, nor the lunch hour bbq at the pool. Our favourites were the Cactus Club beach restaurant and Himitsu (went there 3 time for dinner, once for the hibachi). We did try Portofino (not bad), and Oceana (horrible). Oceana was the only truly disappointing restaurant as it was ONE time I did not feel well during our entire trip after eating (really greasy seafood), and the service was horrendous (slow, and they got my drink wrong). We did not try Riviera. We also had room service a few times, and it was really good.

THE DRINKS:
My husband and I are not big drinkers, but I enjoy the occasional cocktail or beer. The cocktails really varied in quality despite the fact I mainly ordered the same thing. My favourites were the Mango Tango and Caparainha. For the latter I did request Grey Goose instead of rum, and I did get that except for one time when they ran out. The Mango Tango was good on most days, except for a few when it tasted like pure rubbing alcohol. Gross. I must also note that even when the drinks were strong you never felt much of he alcohol, so perhaps the taste was simulated in the mixers. There was drink service everywhere (lobby, pool), but I noticed that I was mostly ignored at the pool even though I was tipping regularly. It was very noticeable that some people were getting A+ service, when I had to try in vain to make eye contact and flag someone down. Eventually I gave up and just walked to the pool bar. Much easier, and the service was good there.

TIPPING:
I believe in tipping and I made sure I got plenty of USD bills to tip with. I did notice the service was always the same regardless, and those that worked hard always did, and those that ignored me always did. Did not change a thing, but I still think tipping $2-5 each time is fair. I did give a lot more at the Hitmitsu since they even started to remember our names.

THE BEACH:
Not the fault of the resort, but it was almost non existent and washed away by the previous storms. It was also very windy and we decided to stay by the pool for that reason.

THE POOL:
The pool was decently sized, but we did notice the towel game. By 9am daily it was a struggle finding a chair!!! You notice that people will put their towels down (still rolled up even) and not come back for hours. I did notice one day they even ran out of clean towels, and they were starting to fetch the towels from chairs. I believe the resort seemed at pretty high capacity as service did start to wane by the end of our stay. We had to wait over an hour at the Cactus club on our last day for our meal to arrive, and then they got our order wrong.

THE DEMOGRAPHIC:
Mostly people from the US/Europe in their 50s. There were a handful of honeymooners, and that's it. A few Canadians. Most people were not too social, and I even encountered a few rude people, but it is the kind of resort that you can keep to yourselves at. We did meet a few nice couples from Michigan (met at our reservation for the Japanese restaurant).

We did do two excursions (Chitchen Itza and Xplor) which we highly recommend--you get a deal if you book 2 or more, and it was $220 for both. We highly recommend Xplor, but I will do a separate review for that. We did not take part in any, nor were we pushed to do any timeshare presentations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Having read a number of good reviews about Secrets Capri we decided we would go there for a relaxing holiday.
The hotel is very nice extremely clean and all the employees are warm and attentive. We had a junior suite with a tropical view on the south west side of the hotel. I'm glad we had this side as the other looks out over the resort next door. The room was very comfortable with a nice fourposter bed, TV, mini fridge and a very nice bathroom.
The food here was in my opinion mediocre at best,the Italian restaurant was the best out of all the restaurants. We have been to several 5 star resort in the Mayan and this is the first one that charged extra for a bottle of wine with dinner.
I was really disappointed with the selection of Tequila here.No Don Julio, no Patron or Tres Generations. The pool area is small and crowded most of the day. We saw people using the floating beds as tables while standing in the pool eating. The color of the water in the hot looked green and murky.
The beach area has been eroded and is also becoming crowded. Getting into the sea is tricky as there are rocks and pot holes that have to be navigated to get to the sandy bottom.
The hotel do a good job providing night time entertainment with various types of acts.
Not somewhere I will go back to.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southwest side look out over trees with a little bit of ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GuelphDonJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Well we just got back was there for 12 days and it felt like 2 days the time went to fast. This is our second time here and it will not be our last. I can't say enough about this place top top notch. The staff are the best,they never stop trying to please you.They are always smiling and want to assist you in any way. Neo from the pool serving drinks hes the best always making sure your ok and his manners are the best.He's so caring that we are having fun and enjoying ourself he's unbelievable my hat goes off to him. The entertainment people they are the best,Mariana,Sophie,Enberto.and papa.I tell you ive traveled a lot and iv'e never seen people like them so spunky and a live. They are always getting people up and going on the games and events,and there always smiling and want to help in any way. There wasn't a day they didn't make us laugh,thank you ladies and gents for all the fun games and events.This resort is so clean we have not got one single complaint the only one is we had to leave.The food WELL all i can say is the best in every meal.Steakhouse,Italian our favourite,even beakfast we could'nt believe and lunches my god Fantasic. If someone complains about this beautiful resort and there FANTASIC STAFF then there just one of those people that just have to complain never satisfied. Mr Paine you should be very proud of your staff and your resort.We will be back every year. Thank you to all staff and Mariana,Sophie,Enberto,and Papa thank you for all you didnt making our stay Fantasic. Neo thank you for everything you did for us your the best.

Room Tip: Room 120 last unit at the end right on the ocean very very nice and romantic.Quite and beautiful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford herts uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at this resort. From the minute we arrived to when we left we felt totally pampered. The staff were all amazing and nothing was too much trouble for them. Lots of little extra touches made a big difference. The gazebos around the pool were free for anyone to use (something which other hotels we have been to charge a lot for!)and a lovely gent brought around fruit kebabs and ice cream to your sunbed!!
we thought the food was brill and never queued once.The maid kept our lovely room clean and tidy and turn down at night was good too.Barmen around the pool were very attentive and kept us hydrated!! Entertainment was good and the guys and girls worked very hard to keep everyone happy.Overall one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Room Tip: We had room 314 and never heard any noise. Looked out onto mangroves and we were able to watch the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boxchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The resort is very nice, not 5 star, but you get what you pay for. If you want quiet don't go here, it seems to be a party place, especially at the pool bar. Food and drinks are fair, service is good. I like the Hacienda feel to the resort. Room was nice, but we were upgraded, not sure what the average rooms are like. Overall I'd say it was a good experience, but I would probably try another resort next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soosyrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,044 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#49 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,971 reviews
18.4 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing